skip navigation
The Last Man on Earth

The Last Man on Earth(1964)

  • Saturday, October 25 @ 11:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Last Man on Earth A deadly virus turns most of... MORE > $14.95 Regularly $14.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ooooky Vince

    • el debbo
    • 6/12/14

    I don't need all the over-the-top effects thrown at me, like I saw in the previews for I am Legend. Forget it. THIS is the silent, subdued, black-and-white reality of the The Last Man on Earth. In the first 20 minutes I am reminded of what a great actor Vincent Price was. I thought back to Laura, and the diffident, foppish fiance he portrayed. Then this... methodically making spikes (why couldn't he recycle/reuse these?), and driving around a bleak empty city, picking up corpses and incinerating them so they don't come back to life. He is perfect as the weary survivor who hopes against hope that someone else will have lived through it all. Someone un-zombie, that is.

  • The Last Man On Earth

    • Bruce Reber
    • 9/24/13

    I have "The Last Man On Earth" (1964) on a 2-sided DVD with "Panic In Year Zero". TLMOE is based on Richard Matheson's story "I Am Legend", about the sole survivor of a global plague (well played by Vincent Price) fighting against the humans-turned-vampires out to kill him. It was remade in 1971 as "The Omega Man", with Charlton Heston in Price's role, hunting down vampires in plague decimated Los Angeles after a biowar (I also have TOM on DVD). It was remade again in 2007 with the title of Matheson's story with Wil Smith, but I didn't see that version.

  • good flick

    • Richard
    • 12/21/12

    NOT a waste of your time. Infinitely better than Will Smith's "I am Legend". Solid horror/sci fi movie that is vastly underrated.

  • A very pleasnt surprise

    • r
    • 12/21/12

    I read a couple reviews & the synopsis & thought I'd give this film a try. I could tell early on it was a "Spaghetti Sci-Fi" because of supporting cast names & plethora of Fiats & other Italian cars.I'm really not a Vincent Price fan..in fact quite the contrary. However, I think this is the best film I recall him in as the star.It's a good plot, fairly well acted, with plenty of gory action and a surprising conclusion. I would buy this DVD, and would recommend to others who dig "Rapture"-type flicks.

  • Very Underrated

    • Buddy Slim
    • 2/9/10

    The last man on earth is very underrated Vincent Price is great as Dr. Robert Morgan and the ending is heartbreaking.

  • So far... the only faithful adaptation

    • Chris
    • 8/10/07

    This version is the version truest to Richard Matheson's novel,"I Am Legend". The low key visuals help focus the thread of the story. This isn't a Hollywood effects exstravaganza, but it doesn't need to be. This all about the writing. There's the attendant horror of Suburban streets strewn about and the repetition of horrific tasks that make up the lead character's daily life. The tettering of his mind: from a scientists sanity and need to organize his life and the incessant call to insanity being the Last Man on Earth ( only to find how true that really is in this case ). This does have a slightly rough European quality, with the soundtrack not always meshing up, but the musical score and cinematography are quite competent. This is a film that dwells on your feeling of empathy, especially if you have lost loved ones or beloved pets. It doesn't dwell on causes so much as effects. Compare this to other early scince fiction and it fits in quite well as somewhere between fantasy and horror. And I suspect the new movie based on the same novel will, like the "Omega Man" find a way to pin it in the time frame it was filmed in. And not in a good way, either. So if you have issue watching movies that aren't faithful to their original sources you won't like this BUT if you like them fairly fatihful, you WILL enjoy this movie. Vincent Price fan or not.

  • I have to disagree with Pat.

    • Ryanne
    • 12/31/06

    Come on, what were you expecting? A polished up, turn of the century version of Interview with a Vampire or something? Vincent Price gave a spot on performance with a devastating tone throughout. Of course the zombies/vampires were not all that frightening to our 21st century cencibilities, but come on, give me a break!What horror flick from this time period would shock our completely jaded modern viewers? The bottom line is, the theme was so artfully portrayed and the relevance holds true today. Entire species go extinct, we ignore the threats to our own well being environmentally, when we have the means to cure these ills brought on by our own hand. I think this is what the film is ultimately about. Do we have the courage to be like Vincent Prices character and crusade, probably completely alone in the world, or do we continue on a path of destruction. Well, there's my two cents. By the way, there is a graphic novel out right now based on the original book and with the same title. I've heard that it is quite good so I'll be looking it up at my local comic shop...

  • So bad - no, it's just bad.

    • Pat Costello
    • 12/28/06

    This movie was a big disappointment to watch. I read the article about it on TCM and I can't agree with any of the writer's points. The acting is so bad there's no way to describe it. This movie makes Night of the Living Dead look great by comparison.Ridiculous (but not in a good way) is one way to describe this movie.Vincent Price's performance is bad (wait, let me get my Thesaurus out to find the right variation on "bad" -- here it is "below a standard of quality"). This film is below everyone's standard of quality, but not bad enough to be funny.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.