skip navigation
The Guns of Navarone

The Guns of Navarone(1961)

  • Thursday, December 18 @ 03:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Guns of Navarone A team of Allied saboteurs... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Guns of Navarone

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-4/5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-3/5Score-4/5Titles-4/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • A FILM CLASSIC

    • JayBee
    • 9/28/12

    I saw the movie in Tamilnadu as medical student with my friends. It was a hit in Tamilnadu which happened to be a subcapital of India's filmdom. The people were exposed to filmography and they could judge a film when they see one - even if they did not understand the dialogues fully. The slang you see..... They had their own English slang.Later on, I saw the picture in Malaysia.I really wanted to see it because of Anthony Quinn's acting. Superb acting. I have seen him in the 'Lion Of The Desert', 'Lawrence Of Arabia', 'The Message', 'Hunchback Of Notredame'. I think he has to be born again to excel hmself by himself.

  • The Guns of Navarone

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/20/12

    An exciting WWII adventure picture. Peck, Quinn & scene-stealing Niven are part of a commando group charged to infiltrate & destroy German artillery cannons sealed within Navarone. Foreman's adaptation of Allistair MacLean's novel speaks a lot about the loyalties of the collection of character's, while also maintaining great action scenes. A fault in the film is the sometimes too-dimly lit photography, evident at nighttime. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Quinn Under The Stars 2012

    • Tony Peck
    • 8/17/12

    This movie wouldn't have worked in my eyes with Holden instead of Peck.Don't care for snooty Niven,but he's okay.Quinn the Great here works as male Irene Pappas.

  • Guns of Navarone

    • Bruce
    • 7/16/11

    One of the great all time classic WWII films with Gregory Peck and the amazing Anthony Quinn. Peck and Quinn give outstanding performances as two players who are both friend and foe whenthe movie begins. Quinn uncovers a spy with his deft hearing, leads an attack of a Nazi patrol boatwith his knife (peeling potates), saves Peck's (Capt. Mallory) life when he slips climbing the entry point cliff, tricks the Germans with an act of sickness, all before the twinkle of amore' in the latter.Peck defines the pair's relationship early in the flick as Quinn's role (Col. Stavros) as being revenge filled when he discloses his mistake in allowing the German's an opportunity to claim wounded, but instead killed the Stavros wife and children. He swore revenge. "He's from Crete, those pople don't make idle threats," says Mallory.Irene Pappas (Maria) plays a very colorful role that takes the fire out Col. Stavros, tightening the bondof friendship between himself and Mallory. It assures the viewer the two could pull off the mission. David Niven's role would require a rewrite in today's time. A bit misguided, that's clear with injectedattempts to force him into the plot. Its odd, is not a well defined fit as the other cast members roles. Sporadic belligerence with the conscientious objector role of the 1960's is also clear.Impressive filming, impressive scenery, impressive acting by everyone with very good directing. If you watch carefully, you'll see Richard Harris with a very small speaking role at the beginning.

  • THE THINKING MAN'S ACTION FILM

    • alexander perez
    • 5/29/11

    after reading the novel WHERE EAGLES DARE, also written by Alistair Maclean, i searched for the film adaptation in public libraries, or anything that was old time commando adventure. then i found the dvd of THE GUNS OF NAVARONE, and was intrigued by it, finding the plot similar to WHERE EAGLES DARE. seeing this movie captued my imagination, despite it's slow pace. the special effects deliver for their time, a time when effects like those were made naturally and creatively, unlike the CGI rubbish of today. if it were made today, it would be just another INGLORIOUS BASTERDS bloodfest. this film is more than just an action flick, being, like Gregory Peck says in the trailer, a human story. yes, the film balances comic book style exploit with a little reality, but this film was made to use World War II as a backdrop for an exciting adventure film.

  • Rousing Epic starring Gregory Peck and David Niven

    • David Atkins
    • 8/13/10

    Two of my favorite male stars Greg Peck and David Nivenstar in this splendid rousing action adventure. Directed by the always able J Lee Thompson, and co starring James Darren then a young Columbia contract player and the beautiful Gia Scala.I liked this movie a lot!

  • The Guns of Navarone(1961)

    • nshepard
    • 7/20/10

    All -Star Cast, Top-Notch Script, Excellent Production Values and Perfect Direction make for a first rate World War Two thriller !Capt. Keith Mallory(Gregory Peck) and Cpl. Miller(David Niven) help commandeer a group of commandoes on the Island of Navarone. The German Army has establised a base with two powerful mammoth guns atop the island. Anthony Quinn and Anthony Quayle also star. Sent to the least defended part of the isle, Peck and crew must meet a time deadline, and meet up with other patriots, in order to destroy the guns that would control the Agean entry. But, there is a traitor in the group, and they must overcome many obstacles to meet their objective. Long, but engaging. Alistair McLean novel and co-scripted screenplay with Carl Foreman. 5 out of 5 stars. Quite a thriller. DVD remastered.

  • You'll love it even if you don't like war movies!

    • Mimi Stratton
    • 1/22/10

    My granny took us to see this movie when it came out--when I was six! I loved it then and I love it now. It's action-packed, funny and engaging. I don't like war movies but I will watch this one over and over.

  • THE Adventure Film

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 12/15/08

    My personal benchmark for what makes a great film, is the number of times that I have seen it; and my desire to see it again and again. This is one of my favorite films of all time. If you consider the cast alone, this would make for a film classic (Gregory Peck, Anthony Quinn, David Niven, Stanley Baker and Irene Papas. It is one of those rare times in moviemaking when everything comes together perfectly: Casting, acting, direction (brilliantly by J. Lee Thompson) and screenplay and a memorable score by the great Dimitri Tiomkin. Arguably, the greatest adventure film ever made (even by today's standards.)

  • Top-notch action and thrills!!

    • Henock Gugsa
    • 3/13/08

    This is just a superb movie with some big gun (pardon the pun) actors in an ensemble performance! The best one of the lot here is Anthony Quinn, who is practically stealing scenes left and right. David Niven is also quite delightful in a role for which he should have gotten some kind of an award. And of-course Gregory Peck, as usual, delivers! (Sorry, I am a big fan of Mr. Peck.) The Navarone saga is told with just the right amount of detail. There are no over-labored moments in this movie. To top it all off, the movie has an excellent theme music that is memorable and uniquely appropriate. All in all, this movie is truly one of those about which could be said..."They don't make 'em like that anymore!"

  • Guns of Navarone

    • Mary
    • 11/18/06

    Good Movie. I wish James Darren had had more dialogue. He did so well with what he did have, that I think he could have gotten more similar roles if he had had more. I liked the whole cast.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.