skip navigation
Breakfast at Tiffany's

Breakfast at Tiffany's(1961)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Breakfast at... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Breakfast at Tiffany's

    • Goetan
    • 8/15/14

    The adaptation of Truman Capote's story that showed why Hepburn would become a glamour icon. She gives an Oscar-nominated performance as a carefree party girl who doesn't want to own or be owned. Peppard is solid as an author who like Hepburn, offers himself for money, weaker male performances. Won two Oscars for Mancini's score and the song "Moon River," another staple of the film. Excellent story, good performances and an abundance of chic. I give it a 5/5.

  • Demeaning portrayal of Asians -

    • Judy
    • 5/4/14

    Though I mentioned under Ms. Hepburn's biography that I love all of her films, I had forgotten about this one and the absolutely demeaning portrayal of Asians as depicted by Mr. Mickey Rooney. Though I deeply admire Mr. Rooney and his talent, this is one film that I always by-pass whenever it airs. Being of both Asian & American descent it does little to show one race so deplorably as this one does. I'm also not too thrilled about author Mr. Capote, so enough said about how I feel about the film.

  • Breakfast at Tiffany's Sunnyside Up

    • Delia
    • 12/4/13

    When I watched this movie as a little girl, I was fixated on Audrey Hepburn and her wardrobe. When I watched this movie as an adult, I realized Audrey's character is an alcoholic, her writer friend is a kept man committing adultery, and the Asian-American character played by Mickey Rooney is a caricature. The saddest part is when Jedd Clampett comes to take her back to the old neighborhood, but she wants to stay in New York to wear trench coats and smoke cigarettes. She ends up with the cute writer and the cat in the rain, but something tells you a relationship between two unemployed co-dependent people who like to drink and party is going to last like 3 weeks. Even with the cat to balance things out.

  • Bittersweet Beauty

    • Brent Thompson
    • 5/11/12

    Audrey Hepburn walking around Tiffany's in that beautiful black dress, gorgeous necklace and stunning sunglasses to Henry Mancini's music made the whole silly picture worthwhile. I've never been able to get that vision of classic chic beauty out of my head. It certainly made heads turn.....and my God, those hats!

  • The real star is the CAT

    • Katarina
    • 9/6/11

    This is one of those classics that one is expected to be familiar with. Somewhat embarrassingly, I am 20 and just watched it for the first time last night.First impressions: I thought Audrey Hepburn was too sweet to be playing Holly. I love Audrey Hepburn and she is fantastic in Sabrina, Funny Face, My Fair Lady, and so on, but I did not get the character itself at all...there was really nothing sympathetic about her. In the beginning, Holly just seemed like a nice, lost girl who had gone through some misfortunes, but later in the movie she just seemed like an irresponsible, careless, and cruel gal who took advantage of those around her. She's lovely but if I were Varjak, I'd have gotten tired of that real quickly! Also the ending seemed too abrupt for her to have a change of heart. Why all of a sudden change her mind when she gets the ring Mr. Varjak bought for her? I'd have said it made more sense if she had gone to Brazil, then realized that there was nothing there for her, and then maybe realizing that Varjak was truly what would make her happy. However, the scene itself, with that lovely orange tabby cat sitting out in the rain waiting for her, made the movie. The final embrace at the end with Peppard, Hepburn, and the cute cat in the middle made it all worthwhile and I can see why it would be a classic.I guess the real key to understanding it would be to read the book by Truman Capote, which I am told has a much different tale (Holly with an illegitimate child?) and a much different ending. I am sure the book makes more sense than the movie.Before I forget, this film totally made me love Patricia Neal. Her portrayal of "2E" as stern, harping, and patronizing was spot-on and made me almost forget about that awful run in the "Fountainhead". All in all, it was a cute movie. Solid acting from two of Hollywood's finest.

  • Audrey Hepburn made the whole film worthwhile!

    • Andy Alburger
    • 8/13/11

    Overall, Breakfast at Tiffany's (1961) wasn't as good as I thought. But I have to say, it still was a delightful treat. The only reason I watched the movie and thought it was great, was because of Audrey. Although you'd think she was miscast, Hepburn terrifically played party and call girl, Holly Golightly, who glorifies her way through New York City. Blake Edwards beautifully directs this entertaining comedy, and is helped by a very good screenplay. Although there are some flaws, one important one, being the role of Mr. Yunioshi, which turned out to be very racist and unfunny. Also, I feel that there were scenes I loved, as well as scenes I disliked, which makes the flow of the film unsteady and odd. But Hepburn made the whole film worked. She gained an Oscar nomination giving a fantastic performance and making the film better than it actually is. Henry Mancini's superb musical score, featuring 'Moon River', one of the most loved and re-made songs in all of film history. Although it had some cons, Breakfast at Tiffany's is definitely worth watching. An altogether fun comedy!

  • Quirky movie

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/13/11

    At first this movie seems grossly miscast, with squeaky clean Audrey cast as an immoral loser (and vice-verse for Peppard). And why Mickey Rooney would ever agree to portray such a racist interpretation of a Japanese character is also a mystery. But what seems like a pointless and hard to watch film is saved by the Cat. The final scene where the purposefully empty Holly suddenly gains a heart, mind, and soul by going after the cat she abandoned is quite touching and pulls the whole film together. Unfortunately, one poignant scene does not make a great movie.

  • Best Movie of All Time

    • Ashley
    • 5/7/11

    I love this movie, love this movie. Even though I only sawed this movie for a first time a week ago, this movie is one of my favorite movies! Audrey Hepburn shines! George Peppard melts my heart! Great screenplay!

  • Was Mr. Yunioshi Really Needed?

    • Bruce Reber
    • 12/30/10

    I have seen "Breakfast At Tiffany's" several times, and while it's a very good film I still have a major problem with it: the role of Mr. Yunioshi (Mickey Rooney), the Japanese neighbor of playgirl Holly Golightly (Audrey Hepburn) who continually complains about the noise from her wild parties. Besides being totally unnecessary to the plot of the film, it has to be the absolutely worst portrayal of an Asian by a Caucasian actor in film history, even worse than Sidney Toler and Warner Oland playing Charlie Chan, Peter Lorre playing Mr. Moto, Marlon Brando playing Sakini in "Teahouse Of The August Moon", and yes even worse than Katherine Hepburn playing Jade Tan (I think that was the name of her character) in "Dragonseed". If they had to have a Japanese character in "Breakfast At Tiffany's" at least an authentic Japanese actor should have been cast, although even then I think the role of Mr. Yunioshi would have seemed offensive to Asians. Mickey Rooney had so many good roles in his long film career, and this has to be the worst of them. Whatever possessed him to do it? In fact, "Breakfast At Tiffany's would be much better if the scenes with Mr. Yunioshi were edited out altogether.

  • Oh and about this Flick

    • Lenn
    • 12/27/10

    I am daring myself to watch this yet again. I too have a sweet male orange cat (well 2) and blatted my eyes out at the ending last time I saw it. Did not halp that all my life I found myself dabbling with "Holly Go-Lightly's" and since I am not George Peppard, they did not turn out as well.

  • 1957-64

    • Lenn
    • 12/27/10

    This time period, rivalled only by 1939, has the greatest movies ever , and this is one of the top 3. To Kill A Mockingbird, How the West Was Won, Lawrence of Arabia, Ben-Hur, King of Kings, Elmer Gantry, and on an on. All of them I get hyponitized into the plots, the characters, the acting, the color, the screenplay. What a great time period.

  • Breakfast with Cat

    • Elise
    • 12/27/10

    The first time I saw this movie, my orange tabby decided to sit in my lap during the last 15 minutes of it. Thank goodness he was there for me to cuddle. He must have known the ending! I cried when she put Cat (was that Orangey by the way?) out in the rain, and then, after a change of heart, realized she may have lost him for good. (More tissues please!) I like the move, very quirky, but then, look who wrote it. And though my orange boy is gone now, I'll still watch Breakfast at Tiffany's and cry at the end, with yet another cat in my lap.

  • Breakfast At Tiffany's

    • PHIL
    • 12/18/10

    I've had a thing for Audrey since I was 15 or 16. How could you NOT want to be the guy who saves Holly from herself? The final scenes, in the taxi and the alley, might be the BEST love scenes EVER! And Audrey singing 'Moon River'? Just shoot me!............I married a girl who at 20 looked just like her! I've been with her 40 years, now. Count me among the wealthiest guys in this World!

  • Our Huckleberry Friend Ms. Hepburn

    • David Atkins
    • 10/14/10

    Audrey Hepburn glorious star, grand Lady, starred in this Paramount film after Marilyn Monroe and Kim Novak both passed on the part. While a big fan of both MM and Ms. Novak, clearly Hepburn is pitch perfect as Holly Golightly, a legendary performance. Directed by Blake Edwards. George Peppard on loan from his home studio MGM reached movie stardom as Hepburn's co star. Patricia Neal, and Mickey Rooney also star but this is clearly a Audrey Hepburn smash hit with great support by the very under appreciated George Peppard.RIP Hepburn, Peppard, Neal

  • Breakfast of Delight

    • Brittney Cooper
    • 7/30/10

    I loved this movie! The very first time I watched this it was a little confusing..but I've seen it dozens of times now! A true classic!

  • A Romantic Comedy Classic.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 4/2/10

    Academy Award winner, Audrey Hepburn, George Peppard an an all-star cast go on location in New York City to star in Blake Edwards' elegant film adaptation of Truman Capote's best-seller. Hepburn is Holly Golightly, a beautiful impetuous social butterfly, who has a fling with a struggling, would-be writer (Peppard), but soon, it threatens to turn into the one thing, she fears most--true love. Co-star Mickey Rooney is hardly convincing at playing the Japanese landlord of Holly's apartment building. Henry Mancini won two Academy Awards, one for Best Comedy Score, and the other with Johnny Mercer for the Oscar-winning song, "Moon River". Also starring Buddy Ebsen, Patricia Neal, Martin Balsam, John McGiver, Joan Staley, Stanley Adams, Dorothy Whitney, Jose-Luis de Vilallonga, Elvia Allman, Alan Reed & Claude Stroud.

  • What it means to me

    • loveaudrey
    • 3/7/10

    Audrey Hepburn stars in the greatest movie of all time, yes, darling, you heard right, the greatest movie of all time. I absolutely will adore this timeless classic, till I parish. I watch it nearly, everyday. By far a beauty, like that sparkles like Tiffany's itself. Audrey Hepburn couldn't have made this any better. Sorry, Marilyn, but you couldn't have pulled this off. Greatest & most darling movie I've ever seen.-loveaudrey

  • What is a classic?

    • John
    • 2/19/10

    A "classic", be it an automobile, a fashion, a film, or whatever is defined as being well-accepted when it was new and well-accepted as it ages. For instance a 1955 Thunderbird is a classic car not because it is old or retro, but because it was in good taste in 1955 as well as today. A 1959 Cadillac is not a classic because it was never in good taste, it is however an antique car. Breakfast At Tiffany's was wildly popular in 1961 and it is generally considered to be as good a movie now as it was then. Simply being an old movie does not make for a classic movie. I doubt if anyone would call clogs a "classic shoe style" yet penny loafers are a classic shoe style.

  • breakfast at tiffany's is a classic

    • buckeyes
    • 2/19/10

    whoever doesn't think this movie is a classic has no taste whatsoever. they are the ones who think movies like "super troopers" is a classic. it's a movie that you can watch on a cold rainy day or on a warm summer night and it makes you feel good. audrey hepburn is a classic.

  • I'll tell you why this is a classic

    • Pat Turman
    • 2/18/10

    Well, Stefan, let me try to answer your question. Whether one likes a movie or not is, of course, a matter of taste. And to be honest, the first time I saw this movie, I had the same reaction you did. I thought it was boring. But after having seen it several times since, I confess I now love this movie. I just think there is something poignant about the Holly Golightly character. As Paul points out when writing his story about her (before she sings Moon River in the window), she is a desperate, frightened girl whose partygoing lifestyle helps to keep away "the mean reds," as she puts it. I love how Paul knows her better than she knows herself. You can't help feeling sorry for her (or at least I can't) & we're really rooting for him to win her over so he can take care of her & protect her, mostly from herself. I just think it's a beautiful love story told with a "Classic Hollywood" sensibility (the innoncence, the glamour) and Moon River has to be one of the most beautiful songs ever heard in any movie. I say give it another try, Stefan. I'll bet you'll like it better the next time.

  • Dated and confusing

    • Stefan
    • 1/25/10

    Watching this movie in 2010 I wonder how people can says anything positive about this movie except that Audry is beautiful. The characters are shallow and immoral, the plot is very weak and overall the film isn't funny or entertaining. At best Holly is a drug stooge, at worst she's a ****. Paul/Fred is a **** and a failed writer. Watching these two failed people stumble aimlessly through NYC, including drinks at a topless bar is not good movie making. Why is this a classic?

  • Breakfast at Tiffany's

    • woman
    • 11/19/09

    I love everything about this movie except for the character played by Micky Rooney ... what were they thinking ???that character is a real flaw in the otherwise fantastic film

  • The Classic That Made Audrey Hepburn's Legend

    • Patricia
    • 1/2/09

    There are many great classic movies out there & there are some better than this one - but "Breakfast at Tiffany's" must be my very favorite since I've seen it many more times than any other film in the world. Audrey Hepburn is scintillating as Holly Golightly and, tho "Roman Holiday" launched her career, it is this film that made her the legend and icon she is today. I love everything about "Breakfast at Tiffany's" - it's style, the plot, the cast, the music - everything. For my money, Blake Edwards surpassed Truman Capote's novella - no easy task. Bottom line: highly recommended & not to be missed.

  • An adventure of the heart

    • Elizabeth
    • 6/10/08

    The way 'Holly' makes small talk; her confidence; how she sits on her kitchen counter in front of company; wearing tassels in her ears; wanting to be someone else....; giving into love.all that, and more.

  • love this movie : have the movie poster!!

    • Randa
    • 3/7/08

    I love this movie because the trademark outfit made a statement that is still used today and I love the character with the carefree life and the whole movie is worth seeing again and again.

  • NYC, Audrey, George, Capote.

    • Pat
    • 5/6/07

    It can't get much better than this. A movie like this needs to be seen again and again. The music, New York in 1961, Audrey's style, George's looks. It all goes so perfectly together. And who can forget Cat!

  • This is one of Audrey's best performances!

    • Stacey
    • 12/25/06

    Once again, Audrey didn't dissapoint. She once again does the thing that works for her, acts by emotion. When I saw Buddy Ebson walk on the screen I couldn't beleive it! He's also one of the best.

  • the of the best

    • rachelle smith
    • 8/10/06

    this movie is hands down one of the best ever made. it has such a blend of comedy, romance, and a tad bit of drama. this is a movie that anyone of any age would love. wether they even new what tiffany's was. the only thing i am not sure about is the title. you only see holly eating breaskfast there once. she doesnt even say if she does it every day. but i loved the move and own it and watch it often.

  • My hands-down favorite

    • Nicole
    • 7/5/06

    This is my favorite movie. I own it and watch it so many times it drives my friends crazy. Audry Hepburn is excelent in this film. Even if your not an old movie fan, this is a must see. Put "Watch 'Breakfast at Tiffanys'" on your list of 100 things to do before I die"

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.