skip navigation
Sometimes a Great Notion

Sometimes a Great Notion(1971)

Contribute

FOR Sometimes a Great Notion (1971) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Sometimes a... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Sometimes a Great Notion

    • Ed
    • 10/1/13

    Having lived this lifestyle, I find this movie to be very interesting. I think that it portrays the attitudes and ideas of these people very well. For those of you that are looking for a DVD of the movie, Google it. My wife found it on DVD online and got me a copy of it. Every time I watch it I pick up on something new.

  • for once, the film is better than the book.

    • denscul
    • 1/23/12

    I know, you English majors out there think Kelsey's book is wonderful. Perhaps if you lived in Oregon, and kna lot about lumberjacking, it would make a lot of sense out of the plots and characters inside the book. I'm from the east, and live near the Civil War battlefields. Knowing the physical aspects and nature of the people here (I 'm a transplanted Yankee who knows a lot about family, labor unions, and the ugly and stupid things labor thugs and management do to each other. This film was made in 1971. That's about the time I voted with my feet and moved from Pittsburgh to Northern Virginia. A lot of Steeler fans moved with me, because the mills were going, thanks to both labor and poor management. You can argue who were the good guys, and who were the bguys, but this film cuts both ways. If you like to take "sides" in a film, you may find that difficult. Do you root for thedinosaur family, or the labor union whose families are starving? The union lost my sympathy when they destroyed the machinery that may have been the last hope for them having a job.Its a great film to discuss, compare with then and now. There is not much left to arguments about labor vs. management today. Most of those who had forsight moved to states that found a more realistic approach to avoid all the good jobs from going overseas.

  • Sometimes a Great Notion

    • Old Timer
    • 1/28/11

    Richard Jaekel's death scene was unforgettable and still haunts me when I think of it. Unique in cinema history. He was nominated for an AA and I thought he should have won. The film deserves to be preserved for other generations because of that singular moment.

  • Sometimes a Great Notion

    • Jeff
    • 1/18/11

    Great Flick. Needs to be Shown on TCM in WideScreen and Be released on Dvd!I loved the Story and what a great cast.

  • Sometimes a Great Notion

    • Pat
    • 7/22/10

    Great movie from a great book. Stacy got it right, this is as good as One Flew Over the Cookoo's nest because it is Ken Kesey. This movie is so good on so many levels it is amazing. But, I think the two things that makes this film "stay" with people are the screenplay and the casting. The screenplay captures a very difficult 5 or 6 plot line approach. And if you read the book, it was as if it were written after you saw the characters in the film. Just the best matches I have ever seen. Let's get this film in the 2011 TCM Film Festival!!!

  • Get this on DVD

    • Bill Thomas
    • 6/1/10

    I was totally shocked when I discovered this movie wasn't available on DVD yet. Why a movie which stars heavy weights like Fonda and Newman and directed by Newman is only on VHS is a travesty. I have mothballed my VCR but may have to resurrect it just to watch this movie again....assuming I can rent a VHS copy.

  • Paul Newman directorial debut

    • miggaddymugsy
    • 1/15/10

    I'm 43 and haven't seen the movie since I was 14. I'll never forget the scene where Hank's brother is trapped under a treeand it has him pinned in the creek and the tree is slowly rolling on him and the dialogue between the brothers during this crucial time. A must see.

  • I LIVED WITH THEM

    • ROY DIXON
    • 11/21/09

    I AM AN OREGONIAN AND THIS MOVIE WAS MADE WHEN I LIVED IN SALEM, OREGON. I MET SOME OF THE ACTORS AND WORKED OUT WITH RICHARD JACKEL WHEN HE WOULD COME TO SALEM. THE MOVIE SHOULD BE SEEN ON YOUR STATION AS IT HAS SO MANY GREAT ACTORS IN IT, I HOPE TO SEE IT SOON.

  • Why wasn't it released?

    • Gary
    • 10/11/09

    This is a truly great movie. I cannot imagine why it hasn't been released on DVD. If it isn't released, please play it on the TCM channel.

  • No Paul Newman...

    • Vivian
    • 9/28/09

    Sometimes a Great Notion, is such a great movie, it should be released on DVD.Sincerely, Vivian

  • What is the holdup?

    • skn
    • 7/4/09

    Would someone tell me how to get "the powers that be" to release a movie? This is one of Paul Newman's best and I don't think I am the only one who would like to see it released on dvd. I have it on vhs but would buy it in a heartbeat on dvd. It is one of those movie's that just stays with you...one you remember for years.

  • Please convert to DVD

    • T Rahaim
    • 3/4/09

    This movie has stayed with me since my childhood. To see such excellent actors as Paul Newman and Henry Fonda, not to mention the superb supporting cast, makes me wonder what exactly it takes to have this movie converted to a DVD format. I have a carefully preserved VHS edition and I hope that the elements do not destroy it. Please vote for the conversion, if not for the actors then for the last scene of the movie.

  • Standout

    • James Kosior
    • 9/27/08

    Is this, and 'Cool Hand Luke'... Newman's Best? Why is there not anyone stepping up to restore.. and re-release this film.. thatcaptures the American spirit?If I had the capital to do so,I would.. at this time.. restore it,rerelease it.. not only on DVD,but into movie theatres all accrossthe nation.. Really.

  • Newman's Directorial Tour de Force:

    • Stacy R.
    • 6/25/08

    A great movie of a modern American family of Oregon loggers, written by Ken Kesey (best known for "Someone Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest"), and well directed and acted by Paul, its star. Contains one of the most memorable scenes in screen history (at least for those who saw it---which unfortunately was few at the time), where cousin Jobey (played with great style and energy by the late Richard Jaekel) drowns in a dramatically wonderful scene, pinned under a log as the mighty Columbia River rises around him, just as the local loggers union demonize them, during a strike in which they have no part. Also, a great ending that I will not disclose here, as it is best remembered the first time without opinion or observation from someone else.Unfortunately, this classic was not adequately supported by the studio (Universal) with adequate publicity, so it eventually went the route of so many movies which had suffered similarly, and had its name changed to "Never Give an Inch" and edited to varying levels, leaving it a fractured tale, with its audience dispersed, as if it were the quasi-bastard child integral to its story, played smartly and smoothly by relative newcomer Michael Sarrazin.Sweet theme music is aptly provided by no less than the legendary Henry Mancini, who also wrote the music to the opening title, sung well by Charlie Pride. Real world problems are dealt with in a real world way here, with supporting actors like Henry Fonda and Lee Remick making the package very complete, indeed. A high (or mountain high) quality flick all around. I've got it in both VHS and LaserDisk forms, so one would have to wonder when somebody at Universal is gonna get off their ass and put it out on DVD, with the "Extras (read "Special Features") it deserves.

  • Classic American story

    • Gary Yeoman
    • 3/14/08

    This was a wonderful story with a great cast. I have searched for years only to find that it was only on tape. This showed Newman and Fonda at their best. Absolutely needs to be released on D.V.D.

  • Needs to be put on D.V.D.

    • Dave
    • 10/3/07

    Great storyline , along with a great star studded cast. I believe it would ,and could be a top D.V.D. seller

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.