skip navigation
Cabaret

Cabaret(1972)

  • Thursday, June 30 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Saturday, September 3 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cabaret A young writer gets mixed up... MORE > $6.75 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Cabaret

    • Jeannie
    • 2/12/16

    I hadn't watched this film in years. I don't think I really liked it the first time. This time, however, it really flowed for me. With all the Oscar-nominated musicals being played on TCM during Oscar month, I have been getting a little tired of them, not to mention the music from many musicals distracts from the story rather than enhancing and complementing. Cabaret, however, was a joyful experience for me this time around, with the music being entertaining and interesting and flowing with the movie, even propelling it forward at times. I loved the Cabaret scenes, which were often rather naughty, but playful and tongue-in-cheek. There were a few times when I thought the film would veneer off into a path of irrelevance or nonsense, but it thankfully didn't. It pretty much kept on track. It was an unsatisfying love story. Liza Minnelli's character and Michael York's character seemed mismatched, but I guess that was the point. At that time in Germany the relationship between Jews and the rest of German society was uncertain, tense, and was like puzzle pieces that don't fit. The main relationship was kind of like that,mirroring the uncertainty and frenzy of the times. I really liked it overall.

  • cabaret

    • kevin sellers
    • 2/11/16

    I always appreciate a musical, like this one, that successfully integrates its story and characters with its songs. (i.e. You know what I'm talking about. That awkward moment you get, in 99% of musicals, when the plot comes to a screeching halt and has to wait for the music to pass by before lumberingly resuming again) And correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't this one of the very first Hollywood blockbusters to feature an openly gay character? And not make that big a deal out of it? So on that score, as well, director Bob Fosse and screenwriter Jay Presson Allen should be commended. And Joel Grey is frighteningly wonderful as the spirit of morally corrupt 1930s Berlin. So why don't I love this movie? I think a lot of the reason is centered around Liza Minelli as an actress, (as opposed to a singer/dancer.) She's kind of Jack Lemmony, dontcha think? Always going for the obvious and hamming it up in the process. The gestures a little too broad, the NY accent a bit too thick (She was guilty of this later offense in "Arthur," as well.) As a result, about a third of the way through the film, Sally Bowles, neurotic voluptuary, disappears and in its place you have Liza doing dinner theatre. And while its high quality dinner theatre, it should in no way be confused with great acting. Let's give this film a generous B, which would have been higher if Fosse had cast a better actress like, say, Julie Christie. After all, Sally was British in the novel by Christopher Isherwood, upon which this film is based. P.S. And speaking of Isherwood, I've always felt Truman Capote ripped off Sally Bowles with his character of Holly Golightly in "Breakfast At Tiffanys."

  • Cabaret

    • Michael Whitty
    • 1/10/16

    "Cabaret" succeeds because it uses its darker backgrounds of nazis and decadence in 1931 Berlin to show how a night club entertainment can win out over some adversities. This is Liza Minnelli's Oscar movie and she was terrific and this musical did have more to offer. There was Joel Grey the stage M.C. who is so full of energy he keeps everything going by himself. The songs are good by kander and Ebb but this new kind of musical escapism was the big winner.

  • Cabaret is NOT a "mess"

    • film lover 293
    • 5/18/15

    Previous reviews have called this film a "mess" and "an outrage that it won more Oscars than The Godfather." The second quote I just disagree with. The first quote: Liza Minnellis' performance is Not a "mess" Geoffrey Unsworth's very atmospheric cinematography is Not a "mess." Joel Greys' performance precisely nuanced performance is Not a "mess." He was the only member of the Broadway cast who was kept and got to re-create their performance (arguably, he gave the best performance in the film). Cabaret is one of the all-time great musicals. See it and decide for yourself.

  • Bob Fosse and Jay Allen Re-imagine Isherwood!

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 5/18/15

    Although this film is hardly faithful to its' orginal material, Christopher Isherwood's "The Berlin Stories", for example, Natalia Landauer escaped to France and married a doctor, Bob Fosse's "Cabaret" is still an extraordinary achievement - a one-of-a-kind film musical - with such a memorable cast.

  • Because...

    • John
    • 5/17/15

    "How did it happen that a mess of a movie like this actually won more academy awards than the Godfather in 1972? An outrage." Because it glorifies the Mafia and is one of the most ridiculously overpraised movies ever made for stupid, perverse set of reasons.

  • Cabaret

    • Judith
    • 10/29/13

    The opportunity to see bob Fosse's choreography the way he wanted his audience to see it is like watching a great artist's interpretation of his/her master work. Rare and wonderful.

  • How did it happen?

    • Robert
    • 2/9/13

    How did it happen that a mess of a movie like this actually won more academy awards than the Godfather in 1972? An outrage.

  • Come To The Cabaret!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2/5/13

    "Cabaret" is one of the best film musicals of the 1970's or any other decade. Set in a cabaret (night club) in decadent Berlin, Germany of the early 1930's just before the advent of Hitler and Nazism, it mixes lively songs and dance, sex, comedy and drama. Liza Minelli won a Best Actress Oscar for her portrayal of free-spirited singer/dancer Sally Bowles, and Joel Grey also won a Best Supporting Actor Oscar as the club emcee, urging everyone to "Come To The Cabaret". Michael York is also very good as Sally's bisexual lover (he should have gotten a nomination too). One of the best and most powerful scenes is the boy from the Hitler Youth singing "Tomorrow Belongs To Me", rallying his fellow Germans in support of National Socialism. The title song says it all: "Life Is A Cabaret Old Chum, Come To The Cabaret!".

  • Cabaret

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/4/13

    This dramatic musical broke the record for winning the most Oscars without taking a Best Picture prize. Minnelli won a Best Actress Oscar as a starry-eyed US singer working at the Kit-kat Club in 1930's Berlin, magnificently captured it's era of growing evil. Grey won an Oscar for his supporting performance as the club's impish emcee & Berenson was nominated for a Golden Globe. Fosse won for directing this dazzling film; the film was also honoured for its production design, cinematography, editing, sound & score. This amazing musical is well worth watching again & again. I give it a 5/5.

  • Cabaret (1972)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/1/09

    Everything came together so perfectly in this movie, the cast, screenplay, direction, music, art direction and cinematography. It's a brilliant film, and one of the best musicals ever made. The choreography is incredible, the production is outstanding, the costumes are so creative. It's a one of a kind film, Bob Fosse's vision amazes me.

  • life IS a cabaret!

    • sherry sherrill
    • 6/12/08

    I first caught sight of this masterpiece, that's what it (and Liza, for that matter) is. I have watched it several times since, and, forgive me, this film is a masterpiece. Undoubtedly has been immortalized several thousand feet beneath Earth's surface, underneath the Smithsonian, or Library of Congress, or somesuchotherterriblyimportantandiconic American institution. Liza Minelli was BORN to play this role, that she wasn't a (real) German maiden be damned! Marlene Dietrich is the only (other) human being ever to have been born, before or since, who could have given this role the show-stopping turn contributed by our own (irreplaceable) Liza-With-a-Z! I couldn't wait for my own legs to grow up enough to look good in garters after being mesmerized by Fosse's show-stoppin' stompers! I am grateful Had I been in an audience when LM performed ANY one of her numbers from the movie, I think I would have about died. I would have been ready to go to Heaven, at ay rate. There are moments captured in a space in time on film that you know from the depths of your being are, well, seriously special. This was one of them. There are others, sure. But THIS is DEFINITELY...one.

  • PLEASE WATCH FOR A GREAT MOVIE EXPERIENCE

    • JC
    • 11/25/07

    Probably the greatest modern musical. I label this a modern musical as with others: "Footloose", "Chicago", "Grease", "Hairspray", and others! Musicals such as "Sound of Music", "West Side Story", and "South Pacific" are classic musicals. I label this a great musical because of it's acting, songs, and cinematography.Please watch for ONE GREAT MOVIE EXPERIENCE!

  • obra maestra cine musical

    • luis
    • 10/5/06

    no se repone hace mucho tiempo

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.