skip navigation
Cabaret

Cabaret(1972)

  • Saturday, February 21 @ 05:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cabaret A young writer gets mixed up... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Cabaret

    • Judith
    • 10/29/13

    The opportunity to see bob Fosse's choreography the way he wanted his audience to see it is like watching a great artist's interpretation of his/her master work. Rare and wonderful.

  • How did it happen?

    • Robert
    • 2/9/13

    How did it happen that a mess of a movie like this actually won more academy awards than the Godfather in 1972? An outrage.

  • Come To The Cabaret!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2/5/13

    "Cabaret" is one of the best film musicals of the 1970's or any other decade. Set in a cabaret (night club) in decadent Berlin, Germany of the early 1930's just before the advent of Hitler and Nazism, it mixes lively songs and dance, sex, comedy and drama. Liza Minelli won a Best Actress Oscar for her portrayal of free-spirited singer/dancer Sally Bowles, and Joel Grey also won a Best Supporting Actor Oscar as the club emcee, urging everyone to "Come To The Cabaret". Michael York is also very good as Sally's bisexual lover (he should have gotten a nomination too). One of the best and most powerful scenes is the boy from the Hitler Youth singing "Tomorrow Belongs To Me", rallying his fellow Germans in support of National Socialism. The title song says it all: "Life Is A Cabaret Old Chum, Come To The Cabaret!".

  • Cabaret

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/4/13

    This dramatic musical broke the record for winning the most Oscars without taking a Best Picture prize. Minnelli won a Best Actress Oscar as a starry-eyed US singer working at the Kit-kat Club in 1930's Berlin, magnificently captured it's era of growing evil. Grey won an Oscar for his supporting performance as the club's impish emcee & Berenson was nominated for a Golden Globe. Fosse won for directing this dazzling film; the film was also honoured for its production design, cinematography, editing, sound & score. This amazing musical is well worth watching again & again. I give it a 5/5.

  • Cabaret (1972)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/1/09

    Everything came together so perfectly in this movie, the cast, screenplay, direction, music, art direction and cinematography. It's a brilliant film, and one of the best musicals ever made. The choreography is incredible, the production is outstanding, the costumes are so creative. It's a one of a kind film, Bob Fosse's vision amazes me.

  • life IS a cabaret!

    • sherry sherrill
    • 6/12/08

    I first caught sight of this masterpiece, that's what it (and Liza, for that matter) is. I have watched it several times since, and, forgive me, this film is a masterpiece. Undoubtedly has been immortalized several thousand feet beneath Earth's surface, underneath the Smithsonian, or Library of Congress, or somesuchotherterriblyimportantandiconic American institution. Liza Minelli was BORN to play this role, that she wasn't a (real) German maiden be damned! Marlene Dietrich is the only (other) human being ever to have been born, before or since, who could have given this role the show-stopping turn contributed by our own (irreplaceable) Liza-With-a-Z! I couldn't wait for my own legs to grow up enough to look good in garters after being mesmerized by Fosse's show-stoppin' stompers! I am grateful Had I been in an audience when LM performed ANY one of her numbers from the movie, I think I would have about died. I would have been ready to go to Heaven, at ay rate. There are moments captured in a space in time on film that you know from the depths of your being are, well, seriously special. This was one of them. There are others, sure. But THIS is DEFINITELY...one.

  • PLEASE WATCH FOR A GREAT MOVIE EXPERIENCE

    • JC
    • 11/25/07

    Probably the greatest modern musical. I label this a modern musical as with others: "Footloose", "Chicago", "Grease", "Hairspray", and others! Musicals such as "Sound of Music", "West Side Story", and "South Pacific" are classic musicals. I label this a great musical because of it's acting, songs, and cinematography.Please watch for ONE GREAT MOVIE EXPERIENCE!

  • obra maestra cine musical

    • luis
    • 10/5/06

    no se repone hace mucho tiempo

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.