skip navigation
Last Summer

Last Summer(1969)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Last Summer - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not so Fast ?"

    • charles pope
    • 6/1/13

    " Summer of 42" was a "coming of age" film. That film was told from the inside out. "Last Summer" is relenting It depicts three teens lost in their youthfulintoxications and totally divorced from everyone else . Older folks just don't matter and their age peers are not with it!When Kathy Burns comes into their lives they are not happy at all because she has interrupted their carefree lives with an adult focusThere is no time for the three and this alien type of adult focusThat's for much later or not at all. They see their disappointed parents and they don't want that program "Its no fun"Frank Perry (dir) " The Swimmer" 1968 delivers a rather scary metaphor of teen life . Screenplay by his then wife Eleanor Perry Its the unvarnished truth for the three and any interloper will be punished unique film

  • last summer

    • Barbara
    • 2/8/13

    Watching this on2/6 AM, I can't help but wonder what TMC was thinkig. It is not the movie I would expect to see. I am too used to the classic films. This should have been X-rated

  • on again!

    • Jay Vincennes
    • 1/9/13

    i'm glad to see that this film is going to be on TMC again in february [2013]. we haven't seen it since it first came out [1969], and we remember it fondly. i haven't found it available anywhere else, certainly not on dvd. thank you turner!

  • TV version

    • Joe D
    • 7/18/12

    I don't mind that TCM didn't show the unedited, original X-rated version. But they didn't even show the R-rated version. What they broadcasted was the cable-tv version which is more like a PG-13 version of the film with a severely truncated climax. A poor way for any first time viewer to see this film. I kinda wish this hadn't been shown at all.

  • The Kids Aren't Alright

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2/4/11

    If you ever rent a place at the beach for the summer, you had better hope you don't have kids like the ones in "Last Summer" living next to you. From the first scene where Sandy (Barbara Hershey) meets Dan (Bruce Davidson) and Peter (Richard Thomas) while she's trying to find out what's wrong with a disabled seagull lying on the beach, I could see this was going to be a very strange film. The three of them bond with each other, and then play a "game" in which they tell about something really strange they've each done, while under the influence of "truth serum" (Heineken beer), and also indulge in pot smoking and group hair washing. They also give in to their awakening sexuality, with Sandy taking off her bikini top in front of Dan and Peter, the two boys wondering if they'll ever get laid with her, and them feeling her up while watching a foreign film. Another girl, Rhoda (Cathy Burns), innocent and naive, comes on the scene and forces her way into the threesome, and soon Sandy, Dan and Peter make Rhoda the target of their "games", ending with one weird beach party where she's raped by Dan. "Last Summer" was directed by Frank Perry, who did "The Swimmer" with Burt Lancaster, a story of a man who swims home through his neighbors pools, and that film was just as offbeat. This was an early film for the three young leads. Barbara Hershey would go on to have a long film career ("The Liberation Of L.B. Jones", "Boxcar Bertha" and "Tin Men"), Richard Thomas would have his greatest fame as John Boy on the hit TV series "The Waltons" in the 1970's, and Bruce Davidson would star in a few films, most notably "Willard" (1971), the classic thriller about a boy and his pet rat getting revenge against his enemies, andalso some made-for-TV films.

  • Last Summer

    • anne
    • 2/2/11

    before this movie Barbara Hershey was in a shortlived tv series called The MonroesI saw this movie in the theatre and remember being shocked by the main actress taking her clothes off at every opportunityit is also the first time I saw Bruce Davison in anythingit was an odd film

  • Pretty controversial in its day

    • DDH
    • 1/20/10

    Originally rated "X" when it was released and given an "R" when it went wide after a few minor cuts.It was released on VHS but could be hard to find. Cathy Burns was nominated for Best Actress.Based on the novel by Evan Hunter, a sequel titled "Come Winter" also based on Hunter's novel was planned but was never made.

  • Climatic Rape Scene May Disqualify Film From DVD

    • Ollie
    • 12/1/07

    Since no rape or sex films are ever presented on DVD (cough cough, gag gag), it's hard to believe a film that essentially introduces us to Barbara Hershey and Bruce Davison hasn't made it to home-video - EVER, as far as I can discern. A good coming-of-age films winds into a powerful drama of class vs class between the two girls with the boys thinking "Cat Fight" eventually. And not in a Seinfeldian way, either.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.