skip navigation
They Won't Believe Me

They Won't Believe Me(1947)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

They Won't... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Forever Young

    • Jeff Boston
    • 6/22/13

    The very likeable Robert Young, star of the iconic TV shows "Father Knows Best" and "Marcus Welby, MD" had a long, distinguished movie career as well. If you think he's a rat who shows some remorse here, watch him in "The Mortal Storm" from seven years prior. Some scenes in "They Won't Believe Me" (with three very different beauties) are done quite well. I wholeheartedly agree with past posts that TCM is to be applauded for bringing us so much forgotten treasure, especially with today's Hollyweird producing so much forgettable junk.

  • Young At One Of His Best

    • bobbyweluvya
    • 6/22/13

    Why didn't his career endure on film?Great actor,great co-stars,thanks TCM!Please release on DVD,it deserves to be seen by all!

  • believe me

    • jae
    • 6/22/13

    this is a crazy good movie. robert young as you have never seen him before. what a despicable character! he sure could pour on the charm. i guess it is every mans dream to have three women wanting you all at the same time.

  • A Real Gem

    • bob58jf
    • 6/22/13

    It is always a wonderful feeling when you discover a new remarkable movie on TCM. This one certainly fits the bill. A very unique twist having the men play the femme fatal role. Movies like this are why I spend my time viewing TCM and shun the current so called movies released these days. A pity it is not on DVD.

  • great film until last minute.

    • denscul
    • 6/22/13

    Just saw this on TCM. I love film noire, Robert Young, Jane Greer, and Susan Hayward was my favorite female star when I was growing up. Unfortunately, nobody seems to mind the totally illogical end. And to blame the "code" for forcing the screen writer to make certain Robert Young does not get away with murder, is as dumb as the end. There are more than 100 ways you can bring justice to a character, even if he beats the rap. Remorse, learning you have an incurable disease, falling down and breaking your back becoming a paraplegic on the way out of prison are just a few of the more believable ways to end this film. Since Young's character already shows remorse for being a lounge lizard, the writer could end the story by leaving the audience with the feeling he will never face the rest of his life. I don't expect those who are not familiar with courts to really understand how dumb this ending is. By the time this film was made, courtrooms were air conditioned. They didn't have open windows. Armed guards would not shot in a crowded court but would stop him by physical force, or at least try. Even if the writer wanted to show Young killing himself, shooting a man trying to kill himself, well, doesn't that sound stupid?

  • play more often

    • bob cruice
    • 3/2/13

    this is truly a great film. the two female leads, jane greer[ with the most intriging voice in movies] is seductive and beautiful and sexy as all get out:susan hayward gives an outstanding performance she is the perfect office employee the kind ever one of us would give our golden parachutes to have working for us to have both of these women interested in a liazon would be a dream come true the young character does but since it's a noir film something happens to ruin everything please tcm play it more often we believe you.

  • They Won't Believe Me

    • beth jones
    • 1/15/13

    Wonderful film!!!! Please, please restore and release on DVD

  • Hayward & Greer

    • Steve
    • 6/15/12

    What a firm!Pls restore and release on DVD!

  • They Won't Believe Me

    • Peter
    • 4/2/12

    When is TCM going to stop showing the 80 minute edited version, and perhaps show the original uncut 95 min version?

  • They Won't Believe Me

    • Steve
    • 3/15/12

    I've owned this movie on VHS for about 30 years but will finally be able to get it on DVD. Thanks TCM. What a great movie. Susan Hayward is at her most seductive but the surprise comes from Young's performance as a truly rotten individual. I read once where he despised his character so much, and was so worried about how his fans would view him in such a role, that he vowed not to take anymore roles where he was not shown in a favorable light. Unfortunate, because he was great in this role. Good solid film noir with Hayward the perfect and most beautiful, femme fatale. Four Stars!

  • they won't believe me: wow

    • bob cruice
    • 7/30/10

    this film ranks as one of the best ever who would not be tempted to have a fling with the likes of jane [the voice] greer and a young ravishing susan hayward someone dies and young's character is thought to have done it. it is pure film noir ranking with mitchum's out of the past someone tell me why it's not on dvd i won't believe you [because its too good] but tell me anyway at least tcm should show it every week or so.

  • They Won't Believe Me (1947)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/3/10

    What a great story, Robert Young is at his best. Compelling, always interesting and a fascinating story. Good cinematography. Rita Johnson stands out in the cast.

  • They Won't Believe Me

    • Shelley
    • 1/29/09

    First Time I ever saw this movie and it was truely great. I loved the acting and suspense. Tried to purchase it after seeing it, however not available in american format. Please ...Please make available for purchase would love to have it in my collection. Robert Young was an outstanding actor... just purchased the second women and I understand that's another good suspense movie he acted in. I have never seen it but based on the outstanding job he did in They won't beloieve me, I took a chane and purchased it based the good reviews. Please make available to purchase on DVD.

  • Overlooked Film Noir

    • Joe
    • 1/27/09

    I just saw this movie for the first time on TCM, apparently not out on DVD- yet. Keep an eye out for this one. Worth watching for a tricky twisty plot and solid acting by Robert Young, Susan Hayward, and, in this film lovers opinion, the sweetest face in all of Hollywood, Miss Jane Greer...

  • Good flick

    • Melanie
    • 1/27/09

    Fun to see "Dr. Welby" in a different type of role, playing a cad. Lots of plot twists, good period film, definitely worth your time!

  • BELIEVE ME

    • SYLVIA
    • 9/6/07

    BELIEVE ME WHEN I ELL THIS IS A REALLY GOOD MOVIE. IT HAS TWISTS AND TURNS , PLUS EXCELLENT START TO MAKE THE MOVIE EVEN MORE ENJOYABLE, PLEASE SHOW IT AGAIN THANK YOU

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.