skip navigation
The Wild Bunch

The Wild Bunch(1969)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Wild Bunch A group of aging cowboys look... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • What A real Western Is!!

    • Robert
    • 8/8/14

    Absolute favorite western of all time. Of course it's a Peckinpah! Straw Dogs is another Peckinpah movie I'd like to see played on TCM

  • The Greatest Western Ever Made

    • John
    • 2/21/14

    I was going to summer school in San Antonio in 1969 and had the afternoon off. So I decided to go to the movies. A fan of Westerns, I bought a ticket to The Wild Bunch. I thought by the title it was going to be a cheesy B movie with some over the hill actors, William Holden, Ernest Borgnine, Robert Ryan. I was wrong. A cinematic masterpiece that I have seen at least 20 times. Breathtaking and beautiful, and extremely violent all at the same time. The ensemble cast is perfection down to the last Mexican gangsta. So many great scenes. The train robbery, the bridge explosion, the out of control machine gun in El Jefe's compound and of course the final shootout often imitated but never equalled in all its bloody bravura violence.An absolutely flawless work.

  • The Wild Bunch

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/8/12

    Set in 1913, the end of the outlaw era, this film enters the realm of cinema greatness. Fine ensemble acting, especially from Ryan as a former outlaw-turned-bounty hunter & Fernandez as a repulsive Mexican general. For years this films violence has overshadowed it's Oscar-nominated story that deals with ageing, betrayal & changing times, and the Oscar-nominated editing makes the slow-motion shootouts all the more graphic. The perfect film for those with both intelligence & raging blood lust. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Wild Bunch 2nd Best Western Ever

    • Dennis
    • 10/6/12

    Next to Shane, the Wild Bunch is the best Western ever made. Portrayals by all actors are excellent.

  • The Wild Bunch

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/29/12

    It's the early 20th century in the Old American West, and the outlaw gangs have all but vanished. But one of them, led by William Holden as Pike Bishop, is hanging tough and looking to make one last big score. Robert Ryan gives one of his best performances as ex-convict Deke Thornton, who with his posse must track down and find Bishop's gang or else go back to jail. Ernest Borgnine, Ben Johnson and Warren Oates are great in their roles as Bishop's gang members, as is Edmond O'Brien as the whacked-out ex-gunfighter Sykes. Sam Peckinpah was a director well ahead of his time, and "The Wild Bunch" is probably the best example of his directorial style and technique. TWB begins and ends with ultra-violent massacre scenes in which both outlaws and innocents are killed. Peckinpah doesn't try to show an idealized Old West as so many other directors have done. Instead he presents it as it really was, as a brutally violent and unforgiving place. TWB features excellent photography by Lucien Ballard and ominous music score by Jerry Fielding, and is one of the all-time greatest (unquestionably the most violent) Westerns. Four Stars!

  • Violent, but a great movie

    • ellis
    • 7/29/12

    Yes, this is a violent movie but violence was a way of life for the characters portrayed in this film. So look past the violence, and you'll find this is a fascinating story (even with the sad ending), great music score, interesting use of flashbacks (e.g. when the Holden and Ryan characters were recalling the same event), excellent performances by all. Hardly recognized Edmond O'Brien with the facial hair and gruff voice! Ernie Borgnine gave a great performance as a comparatively decent guy, even if he was an outlaw, except when he let Angel take the rap. I highly recommend this film.

  • Quality

    • John Cairncross
    • 2/3/12

    The cinematography is just as outstanding as it was in 1969 on the big screen. A master piece of cinema that deserved every one of the awards earned. Sam Peckinpah showed his genius with his use of slow motion. Thank you TCM for resurrecting this wonderful piece of cinema history. The cast is magnificent. A group of veteran first rate performers. Bravo.

  • Incredible!

    • John Millar
    • 2/2/12

    I saw this film upon it's release in NYC. This slo-mo blood-bath ballad was quite new for it's time. It was the first time such graphic violence was portrayed like this. I have noticed the throat-slashing scene is not shown in some re-runs of this film. This scene just floored me! Great movie! A CLASSIC!!

  • The Best

    • Dale
    • 2/1/12

    First saw this on it's original release,I still ,after 43 years,consider this the single best film I have ever seen,and William Holden's best work.

  • Slow mo action......best ever!

    • liam o'kelly
    • 8/16/10

    I saw this film on T.V. when I was around 11 or 12 at my grandmother's house in rural Arkansas. Believe this, it was the best western film I had ever seen (and still is) and sure made my trip there that weekend!!! Thinking back, I waaaanted to jump into the film with Warren Oates ( who I love) and help him mow down those scumbags, since I admired their loyality to their friendo! It goes without saying that this film was perfectly cast and was Mr. Peckinpah's finest work(which is saying alot since I love Steve McQueen in the" The Getaway "which is a close second tp this film) of his career! Check it out!

  • The greatest wetsern ever made

    • Chris Dalton
    • 6/3/09

    When I saw Sam Peckinpah's classic horse opera for the first time - the 15th Anniversary of it - I was literally floored by its multi-dimensional story, the remarkable acting, and most of all, the ultraviolence the film depicted. This western is definately the greatest western ever made for the cinema. Forget all the others. If you want a realistic depiction of the west and the changing times, this film is the one to watch.

  • Kathys mistake

    • ardy
    • 3/14/09

    True it was before The Godfather but after Bonnie and Clyde (1967)Sam Peckinpah saw Bonnie and Clyde and sorta made the Wild Bunch and nade it into a western

  • The Wild Bunch

    • Kathy
    • 1/27/09

    I remember going to see this with my older brother in the theater. It was the most violent movie I had ever seen! I remember how shaken I was after it and how I couldn't forget it. It left a lasting impression on me. This came out before the Godfather and before Bonnie and Clyde. With all the censors of the day this was a shockingly violent film. Very well acted and a tremendous cast.

  • The Sam Pekinpah classic of all time

    • Frank
    • 4/24/07

    Pekinpah said he was a student of violence because he was a student of the human heart. This movie forever changed the way violence is filmed and leaves the viewer shocked and shaken. The acting is superb, especially from Holden and Borgnine. It's a brutally honest movie that deals with loyalty in an unforgettable way.

  • The best western ever made!

    • DFACHS
    • 9/8/06

    none needed

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.