skip navigation
The Spanish Main

The Spanish Main(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Spanish Main Dutch rebels in the Caribbean... MORE > $21.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Super great action Movie

    • Kim S.
    • 6/7/14

    I watched this movie from start to finish. I loved the costumes and scenery (looks alot like the Pirates of the Carribean). The costumes and music was GREAT. The main actor reminds me of my Husband ,strong and forceful but loving too. This is a must see.

  • Fantastic Fun

    • JM
    • 7/29/13

    A fun pirate romp! Henreid plays the part of the Barracuda as an intelligent, fearless pirate who is quick to see an advantage in almost any situation. He has fun with the part, but doesn't take it too over the top. It has become one of my favorite action movies.

  • Fun fantasy

    • Jennefer Aldos
    • 5/11/13

    Spanish Main is a swashbuckling action movie, with lush costumes, drama, romance and beautiful Maureen O Hara. The music score sounds great. Why isn't this DVD available on Netflix.

  • good

    • patty monoyoudis
    • 4/8/10

    Have enjoyed this swashbuckler as one of the best.

  • Loved it then and Love it now

    • Joe Regan Jr.
    • 4/7/10

    Saw this movie three times when I was a kid when it was first released. RKO movies played first run at Fox Cabrillo and then on double bills at Fox Strand. My father would take me Fridaynight to the Cabrillo and I'd go Saturday matinees to the Strand...Loved the movie when I first saw it..exciting colorful adventure...as an adult it has a different meaning because I now am aware of all the sexual stuff which as I kid I missed because of the action. Binnie Barnes plays Anne Bonney who really deserves a movie of her own..at one time Bo Derek wanted to play her...she was convicted to hang but pleaded her belly, saying she was pregnant, and they couldn't hang her and kill the innocent child. Binnie is certainly tough and rough, unlike the sophisticated ladies she usually played.

  • The Spanish Main (1945)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/29/10

    Although it lacks originality and copied many pirate themed movies from previous years, it is entertaining and certainly is a well made film. The cinematography is spectacular and was nominated for an Academy Award. The cast is fine, especially Binnie Barnes in a supporting role. Lavish costume design and the art direction is excellent. Good rousing score. It's a basic story, and it is predictable but it's so nice to look at it's well worth watching.

  • The Spanish Main

    • Karen
    • 2/24/10

    I saw the Spanish Main once, and I loved it. I would love for my Husband to be able to see it too - he would really love it!!! Please release this movie on DVD. In the meantime, I wish TCM would play it again soon!!! Hopefully on a weekend around 8:00 -perfect time. I look forward to watching it again - this time with my Husband!

  • Where is it???

    • Lesleigh
    • 3/1/09

    I recorded this movie onto VHS years ago when I was just a teen, and it was one of my favorite pirate shows. Sadly, my ex recorded over it, and for the last several years I keep searching to see if it's been released onto DVD yet. I'm hopeful to see that there's other like me who loved this movie and wait for its release.Please please please, put it on DVD and notify us as soon as you do! It's been long enough!And while I'm here, what about The Black Swan and Frenchman's Creek?

  • Spanish Main

    • Tommy
    • 12/30/08

    Ive only seen the Spanish Main once, and i absolutely love the movie.(424) votes should be more than enough to get the movie released on DVD.Until it is released, please do us fans a favor and play the Spanish Main again, since it never hardly ever gets any air time on TCM.

  • Why is this great pirate movie not available!!!!!

    • Patricia
    • 12/6/08

    This movie has all of the components of a great movie action, romance, and good acting. I bought a dvd on the internet and it was so bad you could not view it. Please Please Please release it on DVD!!!

  • thse spanish main

    • darla baum
    • 11/3/08

    why don't they release the spanish main on dvd . I think it good classic movies with love and adventure.

  • The Spanish Main, and other great Pirate Movies

    • Judy
    • 10/4/08

    This one is one of the greats! Especially since I grew up watching classics and still do.You can't beat them at all. Maureen O'Hara definatly was firery in this one, and held off her "captors". She's always been one of my favorite actoresses. All the classic pirate movies such as this one, "Captain Blood", "The Black Swan", "Blackbeard", all deserve full restoration and preservation for future generations to enjoy!

  • spainish main

    • Lori
    • 1/11/08

    the Spainish Main is why I started loving pirate movies there was non finer for a young girl growing up in the 70's to watch and see romance and adventure at it's finest this movie should be on home video for everyone to enjoy!!!

  • Love This Movie

    • Debbie
    • 12/23/06

    The movie had romance, adventure and the make up and clothing were fantastic. Absolutely love Maureen O'Hara.

  • Paul Henreid in color!

    • Kari
    • 12/19/06

    This is a great pirate adventure film. They don't make them like this anymore. Maureen O'Hara is always wonderful. This is a great screen pairing. I would reccomend this film to anyone. I hope is becomes available on dvd very soon.

  • A wonderful love story.

    • heidi
    • 10/11/06

    One of my favorite movies of all times can't wait for it to come out on dvd!!!!!!!

  • Action

    • Auerbrat
    • 1/25/06

    This is a really good old fashion swashbuckler movie. It's in the same catergory as 'Captain Blood', 'The Black Swan', 'Sinbad', 'Pirates of the Caribbean'....get my meaning!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.