skip navigation
The Scarlet Pimpernel

The Scarlet Pimpernel(1935)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Scarlet... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • THE SCARLETT PIMPERNEL

    • WILL
    • 5/7/14

    Excellent film, great cast, costumes, every thing from Hollywood s golden age. And lets not forget, The Scarlet Pumper Nickle by Daffy Dumas Duck.

  • Thrilling film...

    • RedRain
    • 5/5/14

    For once in his film life, Leslie Howard is able to portray a real man and not some milquetoast semblance of one. He is expertly cast as the hero and the husband of his beautiful wife played by Merle Oberon. I really enjoyed seeing Howard as a popinjay but secretly a great fighter in the French Revolution. Raymond Massey deserves kudos as Chauvelin, the arch nemesis of Howard. Massey is chillingly evil and smarmy in this role, as he blackmails Howard's wife into giving him information about the "Pimpernel." Oberon is particularly effective as she is looking at the portrait of the husband she has loved and then despised because she believed he didn't care about what was happening in France and only cared about what outfit he was wearing at the British court. When her eyes drift to her husband's hand in the portrait and she sees the ring he is wearing, her face is completely and utterly filled with emotion. It's a great scene and excellent acting by Oberon! A film well worth your time!

  • "Sink me!" what a smashing movie.

    • Bill Fletcher
    • 11/19/12

    Excellent screenplay, great characterizations, captivating plot. Leslie Howard's portrayal is "spot on" - one of the first "super heroes". The black and white cinematography is marvellous. I really love this movie.Bill.

  • Scarlet Pimpernel: Flower or Poison?

    • Nancy A. Thompson-Jones
    • 8/4/12

    This is and remains one of my most favorite of films. Leslie Howard portrays the most gallant, debonair [unless portraying an 'Old Hag'] of all time Super Heroes. What I find infinitely more fascinating is the title of the film. Something I ponder is whether the author, Baroness Orczy wrote the novel with the flower, scarlet pimpernel in mind or wrote the novel and then named it 'The Scarlet Pimpernel'. One will never know. When I first viewed the film, I thought 'Oh, how quant, a ring with a cute little posy on it. This morning I read about this 'posy'. Besides being a beautiful little flower, it means a person who rescues others from mortal danger by smuggling them across borders. In addition, it is 'The Devil in Sheep's Clothing!' The origin of the Pimpernel flower was red and from Europe. But what is so apropos, is how a deadly characteristic disguises itself, albeit in a reverse sort of way. It appears as non-threatening as the friendly daisy, but it contains toxins and its digestion may cause death.

  • "Courage"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 7/31/12

    Guile saves the "guilty" from the guillotine. "The Scarlet Pimpernel" highlights sensational costume design, stunning beauty (Merle Oberon), and the sickening "Reign of Terror." Leslie Howard is most convincing. Loved the library scene.

  • The Scarlet Pimpernel

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    ***1/2

  • Why is this not on home movie?

    • August
    • 1/2/11

    It's packed full of humor, charm, personality, and can better than hold its own among films of the era-- if not for the performances, then for the dialog. A must see.

  • The Scarlet Pimpernel - 1935

    • Judy G
    • 7/14/10

    Whimsey. Some good lines that we use today. The one we like:"Nothing in this world is so bad as something that is 'Not so bad'"Love it! My husband and I know when we use the term "not so bad", we really know what the the other means thanks to this movie.There are other movies of this era that are better, but this one has it's place too.

  • The Scarlet Pimpernel on Janus Films

    • R. D. KARAM
    • 8/27/09

    What a thrill it was watching the beautiful, crisp and complete Janus Films copy of The Scarlet Pimpernel on TCM last night (Aug. 27, 2009). Is there a commercial DVD from this print? If not, WHY NOT???

  • Great Film!

    • David
    • 3/27/09

    I felt it was a great film. I had never seen it before. Thanks, TCM!!

  • One of the First Alter Ego Super Heros

    • Donna
    • 6/12/06

    The Scarlett Pimpernel is one of the best stories about the French Revolution, and although it is fiction, who's to say there wasn't someone who used there wealth and wits to fight against corruption? Who knows?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.