skip navigation
The Horn Blows at Midnight

The Horn Blows at Midnight(1945)

Contribute

FOR The Horn Blows at Midnight (1945) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Horn Blows at Midnight An angel is sent to destroy... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A New Year's Eve tradition

    • Susan
    • 5/3/13

    This is one of my family's favorite movies of all time. We all watch it every New Year's Eve.It is just wonderful!

  • The Horn Blows At Midnight

    • Rae
    • 3/17/13

    One of my favorites! When will it be on dvd???

  • Very funny!

    • RedRain
    • 3/11/13

    Somehow, the pairing of Raoul Walsh and Jack Benny seems so incongruous that you can't imagine their making a film together; however, this one works. The one scene with the coffee cup and spoonful of sugar is worth the price of admission! This isn't a great film but it is a funny one and quite serviceable. I enjoy it each time it's on TCM!

  • The Horn Blows at Midnight

    • J. Dosch
    • 12/10/12

    I'm so happy to see this movie air. I watched this movie every New Years Eve for years & years. One of my favorites. A real classic. Thank you for showing it again.

  • Wonderful fantasy

    • Tom Smith
    • 6/2/12

    So glad that Leonard Maltin agrees with me on this on, except that I think it IS a classic. And great that it has 3 1/2 stars from tcm. So when is Robert Osbourne going to acknowledge its greatness? Anyway, it's certainly no "turkey." Who cares that it didn't make box office? It's funny, it's fantastic, it's sexy: and it even has Reginald Gardner, my all time favorite supporting actor of The Great Dictator!

  • Best of benny

    • tom focarile
    • 4/26/11

    I saw this film years and years ago. The coffee cup dunking scene stood in my mind for years. I got hooked on Jack Benny films from then on. "To be, or not to be'' comes to mind, among others. If you do not like Jack Benny, this film is not for you. best, TOM

  • Benny at his BEST

    • Jeff Robertson
    • 4/7/11

    This movie, sure, might be silly, and maybe even corney, but it will grab you and take you on a FUN ride. Incredible that this film isn't available on DVD. April 26th is the next showing on TCM. I can't WAIT!

  • The Horn Blows at Midnight (1945)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 12/6/10

    Wildly funny classic comedy. Absolutely everyone in it is great. Please release to DVD very soon.

  • An Absolute All Around Classic.

    • james brandenstein
    • 5/18/10

    The writing , musical score , acting , directing , etal. A Great Classic Comedy that ranks high on any movie list.

  • The Fun Starts at Midnight

    • Marilyn
    • 2/13/10

    This is one of my fondest memories from childhood--watching this movie with family and cousins. It is a wonderful fun movie for families old and young. Great on New Years Eve.

  • The Horn Blows at Midnight

    • Richard
    • 12/20/09

    This is a must see on New Years Eve

  • Great holiday movie

    • Karen
    • 11/27/09

    We used to watch this as a family to celebrate the new year. I love this movie!

  • The Horn Blows at Midnight (1945)

    • Jay
    • 6/14/09

    Amusing Jack Benny comedy, one of his few feature length films. He often put this film down as being so bad, but it isn't, it's quite good. Fine cast, especially Franklin Pangborn in a supporting role.

  • apocalyptic fun

    • LaVon
    • 10/28/06

    The Horn Blows at Midnight is delightfully funny. Yes, it is silly as well as corney, but it is one of those happy no-brainers that allow refreshing escape into nonsense. Athaniel is so incredibly naive to the ways of this world that everything he does from eating in diner to becoming involved with a beautiful woman is fresh,playful and very funny. Itis too bad that films like this are so undervalued and that humor today has to be so serious.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.