skip navigation
Bullitt

Bullitt(1968)

  • Tuesday, February 17 @ 06:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Bullitt When mobsters kill the witness... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • You're never too old to learn

    • Thomas
    • 11/14/14

    So I tried again to get my aforementioned sleepy friend Noreen to give Bullitt another try. She snidely said she wanted to watch something "with dialogue" on PBS. Being the sensitive guy that I am, I wanted to address her somewhat snarky critique about "dialogue". Now I have watched this film over and over again for almost a half century. I knew I loved the film but I never had to articulate a defense of the film. Initially I thought that maybe Noreen had a point. Most of the dialogue is incredibly dry and mundane. But upon further reflection I realized that the mundane dialogue is part of the brilliance of both the film and McQueen's performance. The real dialogue in the film is McQueen's interior dialogue. It is masterful, a pleasure to watch and what sets the film apart. So after all this time, it took someone who didn't appreciate or understand the film, to lead me to a greater appreciation and understanding of the film. And maybe that's just the magic of the movies.

  • Bullitt

    • A
    • 10/29/14

    Steve McQueen is the King of Cool.

  • best mcQueen ever!

    • PaT O'Hare
    • 6/25/14

    He is cool, he is handsome, he is charismatic, he hates Robert Vaughn, and he does what he wants to when he wants to do it and nobody is his boss. He drives like a maniac, every woman wants him, his gaze is cold steel. Good old Steve. He will never die.

  • Great film

    • Thomas
    • 6/21/14

    It's classic 1968, dark, moody, mistrustful and confused, but withstands the test of time. The best car chase scene to this day. As far as I know there are no special effects, only gaffes that make it more fun. Of course it's not everyone's cup of tea. My friend Noreen actually fell asleep during the car chase but I try to watch it every time it's on.

  • Nail Biting Intense

    • Judy
    • 4/11/14

    A very nail-biting, intense film. Great performances by all; and the editing is terrific. However, I'm always gripping the sofa or a pillow when watching the San Francisco car chase - I'm in awe in how did they ever film this scene.

  • Bullitt

    • Eric A
    • 3/17/14

    **** The standard by which San Francisco cop movies will forever be judged.

  • Great flick!

    • RedRain
    • 8/9/13

    thurston: Just watched this film for the umpteenth time and the hubcaps do indeed go flying in the car chase but they are the hubcaps from the Charger and not from McQueen's Mustang. I have always liked this film. There are enough twists and turns and decoy plots to satisfy anybody and, of course, it doesn't hurt to have McQueen as the star. The iconic car chase is worth the price of admission!

  • TCM BROADCAST VERSION? 1/13

    • thurston
    • 1/13/13

    I just saw the broadcast of Bullitt and it looked a bit different from when I first saw Bullit. I was nine years old, but I remember it to this day because I told my best friend, who's name was really was Jon Ross, that the film's bad guy had the same name. He played like a thug for the rest of the day.Tonight's version lacked the closeup strangulation scene by the real Jonny Ross as I remembered it to be pretty gross. Also I missed the 6 hubcaps flying off one of the cars. The Mustang had no hubcaps, but had beauty rings and center caps, so it must of been the Charger.Anybody else notice this editting. I thought TCM showed only original uncut versions?

  • Jazzy

    • Rip
    • 1/13/13

    This movie has the best car chase ever, goes without saying, and also has veryinteresting, under-appreciated musical score. The jazz band in when Bullit and JackieBissett are in the restaurant is also very groovy.

  • Bullitt

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/2/12

    At the time, this was one of the best police films ever. McQueen excels as the title character of a rouge cop who determines who killed his witness. The Oscar-winning film editing doesn't diminish the famous car chase scene, although by today's standards, that scene has lost some of it's power and the story is very predictable & dull. A film that will be best remembered for McQueen & the car chase scene. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • DA BEST

    • DAVID
    • 11/1/12

    When i was 12 Yr's old i seen this movie with my parent's. it always bring's back good memorie's. the car chase is awesome. Enjoy it. Ah when movie's were movie's.

  • Prototype Car Chase Scene

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/4/10

    "Bullitt" (1968), starring Steve McQueen as tough loner San Francisco cop Frank Bullitt looking for syndicate killers, features the car chase scene that set the standard for every film that came after, i.e. "The French Connection" (1971) et al. I've heard that McQueen modeled it after a previous film he saw that director Peter Yates made (I think it was called "Robbery"). The scene starts as Bullitt gets into his 1968 green Ford Mustang fastback and spots the two bad guys in their 1968 Dodge Charger. For the first couple of minutes the bad guys are following Bullitt, but then the Charger driver sees the Mustang in his rear view mirror, and now Bullitt is following them. The the chase starts when the Charger peels out burning rubber, and the two cars are in a high-speed edge-of-your seat chase through the streets and up and down the hills of San Francisco. One of the hitmen tries to nail Bullitt with a shotgun, but he runs them off the road and into a gasoline storage tank, with the Charger and the bad guys exploding in a ball of fire, and Bullitt's Mustang with many dents and a broken front axle. An effort should be made to locate the Bullitt Mustang (I heard that it's been sitting in a barn in New Jersey for a long time) and restore it to the condition it was in when McQueen drove it in the film.It should be put on permanent display in the Hollywood Car Museum that has cars from film and TV. The 1968 Highland Green Mustang fastback is truly a piece of film history.

  • Bullitt (1968)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/19/09

    Very exciting action thriller and it has one of the best car chase scenes ever filmed. The editing is among the best ever. Suspenseful, good job by Steve McQueen.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.