skip navigation
Bullitt

Bullitt(1968)

  • Saturday, July 2 @ 04:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Bullitt When mobsters kill the witness... MORE > $21.95 Regularly $26.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • It's More Than a Car Chase--Great Film

    • Tawny
    • 3/29/16

    Having viewed this twice, I'm starting to grasp just how really good this film is. The script is topnotch--a well-written story with just enough twists and turns to keep the viewer engaged from start to finish. Not stand-around acting here. Every actor in every actor adds something to the plot. The King of Cool underplays throughout. He plays Bullitt like...well, like a real detective. He's never caught "acting" in this role. Robert Vaughn as the annoying ambitious political? Just right. You want to slap him at least 10 times during the film. Check out George Sanford Brown as the young doctor--solid performance. And Bullitt's detective buddy back-up is played to perfection. The supporting players here--the bad guy, the wrong bad guy,--do something that very few actors do well. They act without words. Their body language, their expressions...the right fit for the right roles. And here is an original running-out-on-the-airport runway-scene (think Pacino and DeNiro in "Heat") that must have been a beast to film back then. Perfect climax in the airport terminal. The only thing that doesn't fit well here to me is Jacqueline Bisset. She was the "it" girl at the time, but I never buy her in this part. She's just too gentile and fragile to really hang with a guy like Bullitt. But no matter. The rest of the cast is superb. And really the car chase is the least of it.

  • bullit

    • ed jolly
    • 3/3/16

    One review of this movie states that the sound track is underrated; well, what about the soundtracks to Wanted;Dead or Alive, Mr. Lucky, The Honeymooners, Peter Gunn, etc.

  • bullit

    • ed doppler
    • 3/3/16

    One review of this movie states that the sound track is underrated; well, what about the soundtracks to Wanted;Dead or Alive, Mr. Lucky, The Honeymooners, Peter Gunn, etc.

  • bullit

    • ed doppler
    • 3/3/16

    I like this movie, so it should not be shown. Replace it with a silent movie in your line ups in the future.

  • bullit

    • ed doppler
    • 3/3/16

    I like this movie, so it should not be shown. Replace it wih a silent movie in your line ups in the future.

  • Outstanding Music

    • Keith T.
    • 2/8/16

    Soundtrack is way underrated.

  • Bullitt

    • Michael Whitty
    • 1/8/16

    "Bullitt" is remembered most for its electrifying car chase and won the Academy Award for editing as we see the cars go up-and-down the hills of San Francisco and then out to the highway. Steve McQueen was perfect in this role as a police detective needing to shelter an informant and then later trying to find the real culprit. Robert Vaughn is good as a D.A. type offering intellectual nemesis to McQueen. William Fraker's cinematography covers the San Francisco map nicely.

  • Bullitt ... Full Synopsis

    • Frank D.
    • 11/21/15

    The Full Synopsis is incorrect...Ross was NOT stabbed to death in the hospital...He died from the previous Shotgun wounds in the hotel.

  • Classic Cop Movie

    • Patrick Broderick
    • 11/20/15

    The highlight of this film is, of course, the marvelous car chase. But the story is more nuanced with political motives causing interference with the case - epitomized by Robert Vaughn. Bullitt's personal life isn't ignored either - his professional work vs. his love life, with the lovely is another engaging subplot. The first appearance of Steve McQueen as he is forcefully awakened showcased his ability to use looks and actions rather than dialogue to convey what the character is going through. The cast, McQueen, Vaughn, Jackie Bissett, Robert Duvall, Don Gordon, Simon Oakland and Norman Fell, all did excellent work in their roles. Then there is that car chase. In my opinion, it is the greatest car chase in cinema history. "The French Connection" is exciting and grabs me every time I see it as does the chase near the end of "The Blues Brothers" but this pre-dated those and was not in any way eclipsed by either one of any others from film or television.

  • bullitt

    • kevin sellers
    • 6/13/15

    In light of TCM's proclaiming "Bullitt" to be one of the essentials, I think it's fair to ask if a film whose only claim to our interest is a technical achievement (the car chase, of course) can be considered great? My answer would be "no." By that standard "The Jazz Singer" and "Rope" would have to be accorded greatness status and clearly they should not. For a film to be great (or essential) it has to go beyond the purely technical and into the realm of powerful imagery, gripping story, and deep characterization and "Bullitt" falls way short on all three. Visually, if you compare this film to a true essential, "Vertigo," you can see how director Peter Yates' standard vision of San Francisco (the obligatory shots of cable cars and North Beach sleaze) pales beside Hitchcock's disturbing play of glaring sunlight and harsh shadows. The story of civic corruption could not be more commonplace (plus, we know from the get go that Robert Vaughan's politico is dirty, so there is zero surprise) and as for character development let's just say that Steve McQueen, in this film, takes the concept of cool to new levels of emotional catatonia. The scenes between him and his girlfriend (a lovely but empty Jackie Bisset) are so dull they're not even sexy. And while the car chase is still worth watching it, at best, gets this film a B minus. P.S. This is the only time I can think of where Robert Duval is utterly ordinary. Kinda sums up this film for me, actually.

  • He died too young

    • Matt
    • 6/12/15

    McQueen might have made a great Phillip Marlowe in SF. Wonder who the cast would be ...

  • You're never too old to learn

    • Thomas
    • 11/14/14

    So I tried again to get my aforementioned sleepy friend Noreen to give Bullitt another try. She snidely said she wanted to watch something "with dialogue" on PBS. Being the sensitive guy that I am, I wanted to address her somewhat snarky critique about "dialogue". Now I have watched this film over and over again for almost a half century. I knew I loved the film but I never had to articulate a defense of the film. Initially I thought that maybe Noreen had a point. Most of the dialogue is incredibly dry and mundane. But upon further reflection I realized that the mundane dialogue is part of the brilliance of both the film and McQueen's performance. The real dialogue in the film is McQueen's interior dialogue. It is masterful, a pleasure to watch and what sets the film apart. So after all this time, it took someone who didn't appreciate or understand the film, to lead me to a greater appreciation and understanding of the film. And maybe that's just the magic of the movies.

  • Bullitt

    • A
    • 10/29/14

    Steve McQueen is the King of Cool.

  • best mcQueen ever!

    • PaT O'Hare
    • 6/25/14

    He is cool, he is handsome, he is charismatic, he hates Robert Vaughn, and he does what he wants to when he wants to do it and nobody is his boss. He drives like a maniac, every woman wants him, his gaze is cold steel. Good old Steve. He will never die.

  • Great film

    • Thomas
    • 6/21/14

    It's classic 1968, dark, moody, mistrustful and confused, but withstands the test of time. The best car chase scene to this day. As far as I know there are no special effects, only gaffes that make it more fun. Of course it's not everyone's cup of tea. My friend Noreen actually fell asleep during the car chase but I try to watch it every time it's on.

  • Nail Biting Intense

    • Judy
    • 4/11/14

    A very nail-biting, intense film. Great performances by all; and the editing is terrific. However, I'm always gripping the sofa or a pillow when watching the San Francisco car chase - I'm in awe in how did they ever film this scene.

  • Bullitt

    • Eric A
    • 3/17/14

    **** The standard by which San Francisco cop movies will forever be judged.

  • Great flick!

    • RedRain
    • 8/9/13

    thurston: Just watched this film for the umpteenth time and the hubcaps do indeed go flying in the car chase but they are the hubcaps from the Charger and not from McQueen's Mustang. I have always liked this film. There are enough twists and turns and decoy plots to satisfy anybody and, of course, it doesn't hurt to have McQueen as the star. The iconic car chase is worth the price of admission!

  • TCM BROADCAST VERSION? 1/13

    • thurston
    • 1/13/13

    I just saw the broadcast of Bullitt and it looked a bit different from when I first saw Bullit. I was nine years old, but I remember it to this day because I told my best friend, who's name was really was Jon Ross, that the film's bad guy had the same name. He played like a thug for the rest of the day.Tonight's version lacked the closeup strangulation scene by the real Jonny Ross as I remembered it to be pretty gross. Also I missed the 6 hubcaps flying off one of the cars. The Mustang had no hubcaps, but had beauty rings and center caps, so it must of been the Charger.Anybody else notice this editting. I thought TCM showed only original uncut versions?

  • Jazzy

    • Rip
    • 1/13/13

    This movie has the best car chase ever, goes without saying, and also has veryinteresting, under-appreciated musical score. The jazz band in when Bullit and JackieBissett are in the restaurant is also very groovy.

  • Bullitt

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/2/12

    At the time, this was one of the best police films ever. McQueen excels as the title character of a rouge cop who determines who killed his witness. The Oscar-winning film editing doesn't diminish the famous car chase scene, although by today's standards, that scene has lost some of it's power and the story is very predictable & dull. A film that will be best remembered for McQueen & the car chase scene. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • DA BEST

    • DAVID
    • 11/1/12

    When i was 12 Yr's old i seen this movie with my parent's. it always bring's back good memorie's. the car chase is awesome. Enjoy it. Ah when movie's were movie's.

  • Prototype Car Chase Scene

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/4/10

    "Bullitt" (1968), starring Steve McQueen as tough loner San Francisco cop Frank Bullitt looking for syndicate killers, features the car chase scene that set the standard for every film that came after, i.e. "The French Connection" (1971) et al. I've heard that McQueen modeled it after a previous film he saw that director Peter Yates made (I think it was called "Robbery"). The scene starts as Bullitt gets into his 1968 green Ford Mustang fastback and spots the two bad guys in their 1968 Dodge Charger. For the first couple of minutes the bad guys are following Bullitt, but then the Charger driver sees the Mustang in his rear view mirror, and now Bullitt is following them. The the chase starts when the Charger peels out burning rubber, and the two cars are in a high-speed edge-of-your seat chase through the streets and up and down the hills of San Francisco. One of the hitmen tries to nail Bullitt with a shotgun, but he runs them off the road and into a gasoline storage tank, with the Charger and the bad guys exploding in a ball of fire, and Bullitt's Mustang with many dents and a broken front axle. An effort should be made to locate the Bullitt Mustang (I heard that it's been sitting in a barn in New Jersey for a long time) and restore it to the condition it was in when McQueen drove it in the film.It should be put on permanent display in the Hollywood Car Museum that has cars from film and TV. The 1968 Highland Green Mustang fastback is truly a piece of film history.

  • Bullitt (1968)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/19/09

    Very exciting action thriller and it has one of the best car chase scenes ever filmed. The editing is among the best ever. Suspenseful, good job by Steve McQueen.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.