skip navigation
The Hollywood Revue of 1929

The Hollywood Revue of 1929(1929)

Contribute

FOR The Hollywood Revue of 1929 (1929) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Hollywood Revue of 1929 Sketches and songs give... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • How Do We Dump Robert Osborne?

    • Jim Smith
    • 1/3/14

    In my view Osborne needs mental health care. His scheduling is sick, sick, sick.

  • The Hollywood Revue of 1929

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    **1/2

  • The Hollywood Revies of 1929

    • Barbara Black
    • 6/10/10

    I sat through this whole boring mess a few weeks ago just to catch a glimps of Nils Asther and guess what?...He wasn't in it!I've read since then he was only in the Swedish version...

  • Hollywood Revue of 1929

    • Silent Fan
    • 2/22/10

    Vaudeville on film. Closest I'll ever come to seeing the real thing. Loved it.

  • L&H make plot movie revue enjoyable.

    • Kevin4butler
    • 2/1/10

    This film is little more than a plot revue.Which tries to have the MGM roster of stars perform song and dancenumbers and other novelties.Which would have beenbetter suited to the medium of television. Most of the numbers performed by engaging entertainers like Clif Edwards are fun..while otherslike Ms.Joan Crawford's attemps to dance are forgetable. The film's main attraction..is L&H performing a comedymagic act.Clearly this is the best segment of the entiremovie.

  • The Hollywood Revue of 1929 (1929)

    • Jay
    • 5/11/09

    Basically, this is just a menagerie of skits, but it was always fascinating and very interesting slice of history. What an amazing cast of stars from the time. An amazing film!!

  • The Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Follies

    • Michael F.
    • 9/14/08

    This silly, corny, enjoyable movie was inspired by the Broadway stage revues of the times, like the Ziegfeld Follies. The film is plotless, but it is actually very watchable. I am 13 years old, but I absolutley love all the dated talkies made by MGM. If you are interseted in the notorious demise of actor John Gilbert, this is also a must-see for pitying fans.

  • The MGM Parade Of Stars.

    • Robert Malagoli
    • 8/20/08

    The Hollywood Revue Of 1929 is one movie that I can watch over and over agen and not get sick of. It is the best of the all star revue films made in 1929 and 1930. The amount of glamour and talant in this film is incredible. just look at the roster of stars, Jack Benny, Joan Crawford, Marie Dressler, Marion Davies, John Gilbert, Cronrad Nagel, Buster Keaton and Laurel and Hardy just to name a few. The best thing about the film are it's ellaborate production numbers my favorite is the pearl ballet which is danced by an unbilled Carla Laemmle. The crowning jewels of the film are the technicolor scenes. the best is the balcony scene from Romeo and Juliet with John Gilbert and Norma Shearer. Others include the orange blossom time number with the Albertina Rasch ballet and the last number Singing In The Rain with the whole cast in rain slickers singing. I feel that this film should be more known then it is. This is trualy what MGM musicals are all about. The film is not available on VHS or DVD so if you want to see it I Suggest e-mailing TCM for it

  • Hollywood Amateur Hour

    • emilie
    • 8/4/08

    This silly and wonderful movie contains some of the most untalented and talented performers, with vaudeville acts galore!!Joan Crawford tries to sing, Juggelers,juggle, acrobats, ..bat and Ukelele Ike displays his "talents"!!WOW!It introduces the song,"Singing In the Rain",but,Gene. you have no competition! Throw in all manner of special effects, lots of rain, shadows and black and white themes, and of course Busby Berkley Trompole cameras and you've got one weird movie. I couln't help thinking this was released after the stock market crashed. It could certainly distract a viewer!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.