skip navigation
The Prince Of Tides

The Prince Of Tides(1991)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Prince Of Tides A troubled man talks to his... MORE > $11.95 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Magnificent Movie

    • Zende
    • 9/4/18

    What a duo Streisand and Nolte make. Many thanks to TCM for the showing. Keep the good ones like this coming. Amen, peeps!

    • 8/7/18

  • The Prince of Tides (1991)

    • Stephan55
    • 7/28/18

    Thanks TCM for showing this movie (Again). I have been a fan of TCM since 1994, and have thankfully grown and expanded my cinematic tastes over the years, in no small part due to my exposure to TCMs vast eclectic movie programing. From "light" to "dark", and everything in-between, in all genres (foreign and domestic), from the beginning of film to the present! It's movies like this (and so many, many others) that keep me coming back to watch and rewatch and learn something new. Regarding "Tides," it is an adult themed romantic drama that is far greater than the sum of its many parts. The film addresses PTSD recovery, and "wounded healers" To paraphrase another reviewer: "The themes that the film deals with are very important to me. Forgiveness, that's a big one. To come to terms with your past, to accept what was and be able to change by acknowledging the problem, not living in denial." Is this a family film? In the rawest sense, yes. Is it a film to be viewed by the entire family? Perhaps not at the same time. Is it a film for desirable for every audience? Most definitely not. Is it a film that TCM should continue to air? Most definetly Yes. The movie was both a critical and box office success, and received seven Academy Award nominations. For viewers and potential viewers it has been observed that films (and books) that generate great controversy (pro-and con) are those which deserve to be viewed, read and "judged" individually, by the individual. We don't all agree, nor do all share the same tastes, but our tastes have an opportunity to expand with an exposure to variety. Discrimination should be reserved by the individual. Again, thanks TCM for providing different viewing opportunities for all of us!

  • LOVE THIS MOVIE

    • Debby Stacy
    • 7/28/18

    I can't believe the low ratings in all categories for this movie. I watch it every time it airs on TCM and never tire of it. I think the pairing of Streisand and Nolte is genius and Babs is beautiful!The rape scene is brutal but necessary to the plot of the movie, and I love the sub-plot relating to Bab's son.This movie is so relevant given the rate of suicide and depression plaguing our country and tastefully carried out.Blythe Danner is perfectly cast as the wife. The love scenes between Streisand and Nolte touched me to my core and were beautiful, tasteful, and believable in their subtle sensuality and deep feelings they displayed for each other. I doubt I will ever tire of this movie!

  • Not for TCM (warning, spoilers here)

    • ColumbaNine
    • 7/27/18

    Profanity, suicide, the fairly graphic terrorizing and rapes of a woman AND her two young children, a wall covered with blood--even if the film weren't awash (as it were) in an overly melodramatic script and the very ill-considered romantic pairing of Barbra Streisand and Nick Nolte, I would strongly prefer that TCM not run this film, even late at night. There are dark themes in plenty of truly classic films--"White Heat," "Bonnie and Clyde," most noir, and even Shirley Temple flicks (cf. what Graham Greene had to say about her middle-aged male fan base)--but this film isn't even high-quality. Come on, TCM.

  • Prince Of Tides doesn't belong on TCM.

    • Sheri Heffner
    • 7/5/18

    I seen this movie when it was first released and liked it. But in my opinion, this movie does NOT belong on a classic movie channel. I mean a suicidal mentally ill sister, a rape scene with two innocent CHILDREN getting raped! A young boy getting slapped by a neighbor? And the language. I wish my favorite movie channel would stick to good movies made without profanity. I WISH you could play a wonderful movie made in 1993 called The Secret Garden. It's from England and rated G and is a wonderful movie for the entire family.

  • from the great beyond..

    • a.morris
    • 1/30/18

    some how.. some where.. there was a place.. for gene Kelly to laugh his butt off and have a song in his heart.

  • saccharin, pretentious, banal

    • provincial peckerwud
    • 11/26/15

    Now I know why the 2 dudes who created South Park hate Babs so much... Pat Conroy's dad was an abusive Marine pilot. Babs acting is completely out of touch w/ the 'real' world, John Grisham praises it only prevent black-listing by Hollywood

  • prince of tides

    • kevin sellers
    • 1/25/15

    Along with Robert Redford and Richard Dreyfuss, Nick Nolte has the distinction of being the only male co star to survive an encounter with Barbra Streisand with his dignity intact. That makes this movie somewhat enjoyable. Give it a C plus.

  • I OWE BARBARA STREISAND AN APOLOGY

    • william gauslow
    • 4/25/12

    I saw this movie when it first came out an thought it was a very good movie. Revisiting it tonight. Plot, music, cinematography, and NOW at last I love Barbaras performance. Forgive me for hating you for just being yourself. This is a wonderful movie. I love the subplot with you son, the subplot with Nick Noltes daughters, the fireplace and the exposure of telling people why your hurting. Live long Barbara. I became a Democrat 4 years ago and now I love you. The world is still evolving into a more beautiful place every day.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.