skip navigation
The Charge of the Light Brigade

The Charge of the Light Brigade(1936)

Contribute

FOR The Charge of the Light Brigade (1936) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Charge of the Light Brigade Two brothers love the same... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Historically inaccurate throughout!

    • RedRain
    • 5/19/14

    This film has some extremely exciting action sequences, a good fictional story and some great acting by Errol Flynn. Enjoy it for those reasons alone; however, please know there has never been a 27th Bengal Lancer brigade, there was no "Khan" at the real battle, and military historians who have studied the real battle against the Russians for over a century have proven that it was sheer treachery and deceit on the part of the British commanders in that battle which led to the needless deaths of the Light Brigade. Were the men who fought and died in the battle really heroes? Indeed they were! The facts behind their deaths, however, made the deaths all the more tragic. What I'd like to know is how the writers of this screenplay could have possibly gotten so much of it so wrong! And Errol Flynn, an ardent student of history, really sold out when he agreed to play this role! How it must have rankled him! Just more proof of how the studios truly owned these actors back in the day!

  • CHARGE OF THE LIGHT BRIGADE

    • will
    • 5/7/14

    Re. The massacre of Chakoti was based on a real historical event. I turned to my wife and son, while watching this film and said, there, is what you get when you make a deal with a mad man, or worse the Devil. Watch and Remember. It sends a cold chill up my back every time I watch this film. At the time this film was made, Hitler was coming into full power and I think, this was the message Warner Bros. was trying to get across. Remember Errol Flynn addressing his men just before the charge.

  • Charge of the light brigade

    • Henry Crawford
    • 2/26/14

    I don't know why classics like this are not shown regularly all Errol Lynn's movies are a joy to watch why not dedicate a lot of the older classics to a regular spot on a month to month basis there was only one Robin Hood and that was Errol but I think it is time to give a thought to some of your elderly viewers when setting your schedules

  • The Charge of the Light Brigade(1936)

    • Warren Bray
    • 1/16/13

    This movie is the Best I've ever seen, And I seen most of Errol Flynn's movies. I like the All, "BUT" The Charge Of The Light Brigade, I think is the BEST

  • It Needs Basil Rathbone To Make It Complete

    • Ernie
    • 6/18/12

    To me,the threesome of Errol,Olivia and Basil is always a lock.Good drama,can't believe how depraved Curtiz is that horses and a performer got killed.Had he no conscience?Errol and Olivia the most attractive couple,he should've done right by her in real life and not tease her and not keep his word of marriage.His loss,not hers,as I think he would have found the home and love he needed.

  • ONE OF ERROL FLYNN'S BEST FILMS!

    • alexander perez
    • 8/10/11

    a timeless adventure classic that would be followed by similar Desert War Adventures like GUNGA DIN, BEAU GESTE, and THE FOUR FEATHERS. the Climactic charge itself is of course the film's highlight, running 9 minutes and among the greatest action sequences ever filmed, next to the chariot race from BEN HUR and the Biplane chase from NORTH BY NORTHWEST. it required no fake CGI effects and was done with precision and amazement, but without care for the now dead Horses that were tripped by wires. but despite that, top this with Max Steiner's gallant march music and score, Errol and Olivia's frank performances (especially at the end where she tells him he's the finest man she ever knew before he goes off to the charge, and Flynn, in a touching moment, is on the verge of tears), the lusty adventure in sweeping Indian deserts, and David Niven and Patrick Knowles supporting roles, it's one of the great adventure films of hollywood!

  • The Charge of the Light Brigade

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • Let's Follow Errol!

    • DaveLucas427
    • 7/22/10

    When I was young, a local TV station occasionally ran this film at 11;30pm. I would watch it faithfully, always staying up to watch the climactic charge sequence, a stunning action spectacle with memorable images and phenomenal editing. Later I learned how the use of trip wires to stage the horses' stunt falls resulted in the deaths of a number of animals (In Flynn's autobiography he claims a rider was also killed.). The rest of the film tries to put a "heroic" spin on the ill-fated maneuver. Produced in the lush Warner style of 1930s period dramas, it is still the action sequences that stand out; i.e., the charge itself, the attack on the outpost, etc. (Could this film be the reason we see Arabs in such a villianous light these days?) And I could have done without the superimposition of verses of Tennyson's poem during the charge scene. And I believe the original start of the film was altered. (I once saw it starting with the words "Who shall excel them?" before the opening credits. Now I don't.) Still, a good film.

  • Took My Breath Away!

    • Rosie
    • 1/12/08

    This movie is a first-rate classic. Whoever said that Flynn couldn't act, should really watch his performance in this film. The tension between him, Olivia DeHavilland and Patric Knowles and star-crossed lovers is fascinating.And the "Charge" sequence is one of the most fascinating, yet appalling I have ever seen on screen. Quite unforgettable.

  • This is a great movie

    • Robert
    • 8/25/07

    This movie is a timeless classic.One of the best adventure movies ever made.The locations are perfect and well photographed.This ranks right up with Adventures of Robin Hood as a perfect vehicle for Errol Flynn.The final scenes are unforgetable.

  • In Agreement

    • Miguel
    • 4/8/07

    I agree with Daniel above. This movie is the my original version and no other can compare. This is a film I can watch over without ever seeming to be trite. Its acting and cinematography in its most basic form is superior to any of the remakes generated afterward. The acting is simple but to the point. The current versions appear mechanical in their performance.

  • The Charge of the Light Brigade 1936 version

    • Daniel
    • 9/9/06

    This is the greatest epic movie of the story of the charge bettor than the boring modern version. The final assault was spectacular and the black and white aspect gives a timeless quality to the story being told.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.