skip navigation
Run Silent Run Deep

Run Silent Run Deep(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Run Silent Run Deep Officers on a WWII submarine... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Good Submarine Fare

    • Alberto
    • 5/25/13

    Liked Burt & Gable.Figured Gable died in the end.Burt a good producer,convincing 1st officer.Loved Mr Rickles,and esp Jack Warden

  • One of my favorites - but I have a question

    • TK
    • 5/25/13

    I've loved this movie since I was a kid. Loved it purely for the action back then, and have since come to really appreciate the cinematic quality that Gable and Lancaster and Robert Wise have created. But I've often wondered about something. How does Gable get sunk so close off the coast of Japan and wind up behind a desk at Pearl Harbor within a year? Was there one helluva daring rescue sequence that wound up on the cutting room floor? It doesn't diminish one's enjoyment of this flick in my opinion. Just something I'm curious about. I've never read the book, so maybe therein lies the answer.

  • Burt Lancaster

    • Adventure
    • 11/18/12

    Burt Lancaster both produced and starred in this great film directed bythe great Robert Wise. Clark Gable is the first billed star and as allways professional. I like Burt Lancaster's work tremendously in this film and other favorites such as Judgement At Nurgemberg, Elmer Gantry, and my Lancaster favorite Birdman of Alcatraz.

  • great war drama

    • george snedker
    • 5/25/12

    terrific and tense sub drama and one of the best war films ever.

  • My Father Served in WWII on a Sub SS399 Sea Cat

    • Robert
    • 12/14/11

    My Father Served as the Radioman on the SS399 Sea Cat which was newly commissioned out of Pearl Harbor in 1944 / It was a Brand New Sub was on numerous Tours of Duty in the Pacific eventually based out of Guamand was one of 12 Submarines that was order by Admiral Chester Nimitz to escort the Battleship Missouri BB63into Tokyo Bay for the Surrender of the Japanese by General Douglas MacArthur.I still have the Original Artwork drawn by My Father on the Conning Tower of the Sub SS399 Sea Cat on his Sub Jacket and have original stationary and communications from Com Sub PacAs a Child I was on many Real Live Commissioned Submarines and watched every Sub Movie ever made This is a Classic Movie about those men who had the best of everything and yet it took a special breed of man to make it through Sub School and into the prestigious Sub Service.

  • Run Silent Run Deep

    • Bill
    • 5/27/11

    You won't find better action and better leading men than this "granddaddy," of submarine movies.A great choice to kick off Memorial Week-End 2011 from TCM. Very well written, no over the topperformances by the actors. Blended and coordinated beautifully - skillful to a T. A classic!

  • Run Silent, Run Deep

    • janet grayson
    • 5/27/11

    Excellent film, suspenseful throughout. Performances by Gable and Lancaster are first rate. Gable no longer in his hey-dey once again proves his actor quality in this film. Lancaster is terrific but Gable takes the laurels.

  • one of the best sub films

    • mark bonamer
    • 4/8/11

    although the screenplay does not follow the book, it is still one of the best sub films ever made.

  • Realistic

    • Jamie
    • 4/7/11

    Very realistic in its depiction of WWII US submarine warfare, and the enlisted crewmen are shown as highly motivated thinking persons, not as automatons or comic buffoons as is so often done today.

  • A Classic in every sence.

    • MDBunting
    • 1/25/10

    One of the best if not the best sub movie of all time.GABLE & LANCASTER WAR DRAMA.One of my favorites.

  • Submarine Classic

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 2/12/09

    This is my favorite submarine movie of all time. Why? Three words: Gable, Lancaster and Wise. If this movie were to be remade today (God forbid), who could equal those three? Great plot, action and supporting cast. A classic example of a black and white film making at it's best. Up periscope for this one.

  • Fighting for our country.

    • Chuck Wilson
    • 11/10/07

    This is a great war story about courage, integrity and patriotism. As oppossed to movies today, there were no radical opinions criticizing our government. The story centers around getting the job done for the good old U S of A. Even though there was personal conflict between Clark Cable and Burt Lancaster as the Captain and his Exec; those were put aside when the chips were down. It is a great narrative about how tough our fighting men were in the Pacific. Tom Clancy could have written this one. The story was great, and the action greater. 5 Stars! There is also a great side bar here concerning the loyalty of Burt Lancaster toward his good friend from his trapeze days, Nick Cravat. Burt used him in nine movies, including this one.

  • When can I see this movie again

    • Karin Eriksen
    • 6/20/07

    I hope soon

  • Run Silent, Run Deep

    • craig brewster
    • 1/13/07

    Mant times military action films come up short. don't tell the true story. Especialy during WWII even if the battle in real life was shown we never lost even if in real life we got hurt. Such as the movie made after the battle of Wake Island. That movie stetched the trurth for moral reasons. This movie showed the hardships submariners put up with. Gable and Lancaster are strong actors and did a great job.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.