skip navigation
Summer Stock

Summer Stock(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Summer Stock A farmer gets sucked into show... MORE > $13.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • INSTA-LOOSE

    • Don Letta
    • 4/11/14

    ...or whatever the name was for the diet Judy went on causing her to lose twenty pounds in just hours before the fantastic finale GET HAPPY..it was supposedly filmed months later, when the director felt the film was dull. Judy had lost the weight during that time and looked terriffic....definitely not the plump girl she was in the rest of the movie. Heavy or thin however, she could out dance and out sing anyone else.Truly one of a few great entertainers of the 20th Century.Back to the movie; the ending was a bit jarring, but saved a rather run of the mill film.

  • Didn't realize...

    • Scott Masbruch
    • 10/8/13

    I am not much of a Musical fan However, I do like to watch the classics to see if I can recognize the Actors. This movie also has very beautiful women in the cast. Almost wish I could have been in the same age group as the cast. I was Born in 1962. Fun to watch.

  • This is a Fun fun Movie !!

    • bella
    • 10/8/13

    Short and sweet, I adore this movie it is just as I said.... it is filled with fun and good music/dancing...... I love Kelly and Garland together , some say due to many problems that J Garland was late/did not show up etc. There is one very important that is not said "she was a Diva" and from all I have read she was not; It must have been difficult for cast/crew and director but at the least they did not have to put up with "I am special so you can wait".... which many others feel they can do.

  • Judy sings AND dances!

    • Darrell Watson
    • 12/27/08

    In many ways, Summer Stock was Judy's zenith; she really carried the show. Her rendition of 'Get Happy' is a classic; sultry and even a bit risque for the time -the transition from bib overalls to the top 1/2 of a tux is clever. The score is well-set for her vocal range, and her backstage duet with Gene Kelly is also a gem.

  • DOWN ON THE FARM WITH GENE KELLY!!

    • Rachel
    • 5/2/07

    This is a really fun movie. GENE and Judy made a great pair on the screen, and Phil Silvers added a lot of good laughs with the tractor scene. It was so cute to see GENE trying to milk a cow or gather eggs. But my two favorite scenes, of course, are the tap routines that GENE and Judy do during the barn social dance and when GENE dances on the stage using the squeaky floor board and the newspaper. These two scenes were a showcase for his longtime talent of being able to take the simplest of things and turn it into dancing magic! This is a really good movie for the whole family. Watch it and see!

  • Great!

    • Amanda
    • 4/29/06

    I'm so happy this movie is now available! It's one of my all time favorites!!

  • Yey!

    • Jill
    • 4/4/06

    It's about time they released Summer Stock on DVD. Thanks for the info! :)

  • Summer Stock On DVD

    • Veronica
    • 3/17/06

    If anyone is interested I have learned that Summer Stock is available on DVD on April 25th 2006. Just thought that was interesting

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.