skip navigation
Soylent Green

Soylent Green(1973)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Soylent Green A future cop uncovers the... MORE > $17.98 Regularly $17.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Beware

    • Frank
    • 4/4/14

    I saw this once a long time ago, and was shocked at the end. It is not a pretty story, but it WAS a descent film.

  • Soylent Green

    • Eric A
    • 3/29/14

    **** "Who the hell needs strawberries!"

  • The very good and the very bad....

    • Bob Eckert
    • 3/28/14

    The story is somewhat unique but hardly plausible, as if people could be hoodwinked to such a degree. What does stand out is the superb Edward G. Robinson in his last role (I think, don't hate me if I'm wrong) and the grating, dismal, overacted, same-as-all-his-other performance of Charlton Heston who is so full of hubris, he might explode from the screen in a shower of a creamy form of Soylent Green. This film also suffers from the fact it was made in the completely insane, drug-saturated disco ball 1970's, a dark period on many levels in the US, if not the world.

  • No thanks I already ate.

    • Al Gotto the SCI-FI guy
    • 3/26/14

    Good 70's sci-fi. Feels a bit dated now but still carries the message through. I do recommend the original novel by Harry Harrison "Make Room Make Room". I first read it in my teens before the movie. Try to find it. Cool fight scene with Heston and Connors. I guess since Connors beat him up in "The Big Country" it was only fair for Heston to win this round. Eddie G's last movie, wonderful death scene.

  • Soylent Green is aaaaggggg...

    • mugsy
    • 11/18/13

    Don't reveal the ending to first-time viewers. They'll figure it out for themselves early on in the film.

  • soylent green

    • jamie shearer
    • 9/14/13

    I don't like this film I don't know why I just don't every time I see it is going to be on I just don't see why it has to be so many better films

  • What A Movie

    • barbara
    • 9/13/13

    The first time I saw this movie I was very young. I am so glad TCM presented it again. Hopefully it will repeat because I only caught the last half this time :( . This is truly a classic!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Shocking film, then and now!

    • RedRain
    • 8/5/13

    When this film debuted, it was truly mesmerizing and shocking. Today, it is no less so; however, I do feel it should make us want to create a better world where something like this could never occur. We are not near the events in this film but we are experiencing over-population in the world and this has had the effect of mass starvation. I completely disagree with the viewing of this film by impressionable school children, as they could take away from it an inevitability that is not true. I like this film very much and, particularly, the "going home" sequence.

  • ONE OF THE GREATS...

    • el debbo
    • 5/23/11

    Should be required viewing in all schools. Heston: fantastic. Robinson: polished performance, especially since he was a dying man when they filmed. He went 'home' about 9 days after the wrap. This is a fine movie, a cult classic.

  • Scary And Prophetic SciFi

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/19/09

    Soylent Green is a SciFi classic that is even more timely in 2009 than it was when it came out in 1973. The frightening depiction of pollution, global warming, scarce food, overpopulation and primitive human brutality of the world in the year 2022 is now only 13 years away, and seems to be an inescapable reality as time passes.I have seen it several times, and I consider it one of the truly visually stunning and thought-provoking SciFi films ever made. I have seen other films that portray the future as utopian, with all of the world's problems resolved and humanity living in peace with one another, but Soylent Green shows a dark, hopeless future where humanity's problems have only worsened and no solution is possible or even attempted. There is no need to remake Soylent Green because the events in the film are happening right now, and Science Fiction has become fact. I watch it every time it's on TCM. Four stars!

  • A greatly under-rated movie

    • Paul Jackson
    • 12/30/08

    I first saw Soylent Green in Canada's capital city, Ottawa, Ontario, when it was first released. It didn't quite grab me at the time, but having now seen it often on TCM and believe it is a movie far ahead of its time. I would easily give tis movie four stars out of five. Also, Edward G. Robinson was a very fine and kindly man in real life. And, what more can be said about Charlton Heston!

  • Year file made

    • bob
    • 7/19/08

    I would have sworn this movie was made in 1969, not 1973

  • Soylent Green a prophesy of the future

    • M prof
    • 9/18/06

    This movie had a strong impact on me as a kid and even now as an adult. I remember how the father was no longer useful to society so he was given a lethal injection. No nursing homes just extermination. That could easily happen in the future. Third world countries have high birthrates compared to the rest of the world with disease and starvation. Whose to say if those green crackers aren't given in the future.

  • Soylent Green is ....Good

    • vincent o
    • 4/28/06

    What is Soylet Green? That was the catch line in advertisements for this movie when it came out.It is a solid SciFi story that is even more significant today, and in 50 more years maybe totaly true.Mr. Heston is perfect as Thorn.Edward G Robinsons last film and he goes out in style. No pun intended if you have seen the movie. This is another part of the movie that sadly will come true.Get out the people movers!!!!!

  • is this a color?

    • justine
    • 1/25/06

    I always thought Soylent Green was the color of refrigerators back in the 60's

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.