skip navigation
His Girl Friday

His Girl Friday(1940)

  • Saturday, September 20 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Monday, December 22 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

His Girl Friday An unscrupulous editor plots... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • His Girl Friday

    • janet
    • 3/29/14

    The funniest, the fastest-paced, the best! Everything scores in this **** screwball comedy. Just try to keep up with the brilliant, mile-a-minute dialogue delivery. Everything works.

  • His Girl Friday

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/20/13

    I listened to what Robert and Cher had to say about the rapid fire dialogue of this movie and it did give me a new appreciation as to how difficult it must have been. I am a huge Cary Grant fan and I think he was wonderful in this movie. The film did seem to drag a bit in the middle when he disappears and then it goes full guns a blazing to the finish. I like the beginning of this film better than the ending. The beginning is more playful, then there's a lull, then its rush rush rush. I do think it's amazing they could spout out their lines one over the other and all around, but it can be a bit nerve wracking. Especially when trying to wind down for the evening.

  • Like a 40's version of Seinfeld

    • DearPippo
    • 1/23/13

    Fans of Seinfeld should enjoy this movie with its dialogue pace tipping the speedometer at 100mph. Often during in the movie several characters are talking about several subjects at the same time. If Hollywood ever did a remake the former Seinfeld cast would be primed and ready for the roles. This movie looks shallow at first glance but is much more complex in its makeup requiring the viewers to pay attention. This movie should be on your Must See list. Rosalind Russell shines like a new penny.

  • His Girl Friday

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/30/12

    When Hawks' decided to direct this adaptation of "The Front Page," he made a screwball classic. The second lead was turned into a woman, perfectly played by Russell and the romantic sub-plot with Grant & Bellamy heightens the comedy. The main key to this films success was the witty screenplay with rapid-fire delivery, overlapping dialogue & snappy insults. A masterful battle of the sexes. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Too wound up for my taste

    • Katie
    • 10/3/11

    I am a big fan of Cary Grant and love most of his films but this was not one of them. Not because he wasn't great in it, but because the movie itself drove me crazy. I didn't like the fast pace of this movie and its dialogue. It left me little time to process. All of the actors appeared to have consumed way too much caffeine and the plot was too ridiculous. I never felt like I connected with the characters because it was "a race to the finish" through the entire movie and the plot just didn't captivate me, as others with Cary have. Rosalind Russel is a great actress as well, but the plot was a let-down, in my opinion, and no actor could change that for me. Check out Cary's films with Katharine Hepburn and "Charade"with Audrey Hepburn instead.

  • Strange mix of comedy and drama

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/15/11

    Rosalind Russell is the best thing in this fast-talking news reporter film. But the movie is too strange a mix of humor and drama for my tastes. One scene is played for laughs and the next second someone is trying to kill themselves by jumping out a window. Also, I know the film is based on a play but does it have to look like one? There is very little camera work or motion and, coupled with the excessively loud, rapid-fire dialogue, the movie really seems to drag.

  • Friday and all the days of the week

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/2/10

    A few things strike me about this film: first, Grant and Russell never made another film together (maybe this is because she kept up so well and challenged him so much, that he thereafter chose 'easier' costars); second, Roz Russell is able to steal the film because she is in it all the way through (CG's character disappears for about twenty or twenty-five minutes in the middle); and third, it is very progressive for its time (lampooning Hitler; mentioning Reds and foreshadowing the communist scare in America; and of course, there's the feminist angle of a woman in the workplace). I know a lot of people are bowled over by the rapid-fire dialogue (Hawks and his team are compressing a two hour movie into the space of ninety minutes); but the exchanges work between the two main characters because their relationship is so believable. Plus, they are very well supported by people like Ralph Bellamy and Ernest Truex who enhance the production.

  • A movie for every day of the week

    • Serena
    • 10/15/07

    Ladies and gentlemen, Howard Hawks cordially invites you to a world where women wear the pants and men are the trouble-makers. A movie that literally changed the way people talk (whenever kids/teens complain that old movies are too slow, show 'em this), this is a professional peak for stars Rosalind Russell, Cary Grant and director Howard Hawks. Cary Grant will do anything to keep his star reporter (and ex-wife) Roz Russell from re-marrying, and when a hot story falls into her lap, she has to reconsider her impending marriage to Ralph Bellamy (hmm...Ralph Bellamy...Cary Grant...Bellamy...Grant... such a dilemma) and the home life she wants or the fast, unscrupulous business she knows she belongs in. Cary Grant is perfect and in top comedic form as the lovable rogue. He was--and probably remains--the greatest comedic actor in Hollywood. That's why it takes a hell of a woman to match him shoulder-to-shoulder, but somehow Rosalind Russell accomplishes just that, in a way that even Katharine the Great (that would be Hepburn) or Irene Dunne could never have done. She walks away with the show and is the ultimate Hawksian Woman (sorry, Lauren Bacall). This is a perfect cynical romantic comedy for the ages.

  • Lots of Talk

    • John Thorne
    • 6/5/06

    The thing that resonates with me about this movie is the rythym of the dialogue. There are lots of words in this story about news reporting. It clicks along like an old manual typewriter. I have fun watching because the actors appear to be having fun with the pace and dialogue. It is a joy to just watch Grant & Russell shoot words at each other. The underlying theme would be serious, but is ignored by all as just background. The viewer should just sit back and enjoy the sparks that fly.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.