skip navigation
Scaramouche

Scaramouche(1952)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Scaramouche In 18th-century France, a... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Superfluous and Contrived

    • David H.
    • 8/8/17

    I guess I made the mistake of seeing the silent version first which had a nice compact plot. Not so with this version. Eleanor Parker's character was completely unnecessary as she just had been signed by M-G-M and they apparently needed something for her to do. Stewart Ganger's character getting the wrong information at first about his father was an idiotic plot device that made his relationship with Janet Leigh's character contrived and muddled for nearly all of the movie. The entire sequence at the National Assembly was excessively repetitious, and unfunny considering that men were being killed. The best thing that stood out about this version was the swordplay between Granger and Mel Ferrer. Otherwise, this film was too overloaded with superfluous and contrived elements that ruined what could have been a very entertaining movie.

  • It doesn't get better than this!

    • Richard Freeman
    • 5/17/15

    If one likes and appreciates romance, intrigue, mystery, and great sword fighting, than this film is for you.A fantastic cast, headed by Stewart Granger and Eleanor Parker, offer swashbuckling fans a real treat.The audience never knows the true identity of Andre Moreau (Granger) until almost the very end - which impacts the driving force of this classic film.Mel Ferrer puts on a credible fencing display as the greatest swordsman in France - until his final encounter with Granger.Granger starred in "The Prisoner of Zenda" the same year - another classic flick. {Like "Scaramouche" a bit more!}-Rich F.-

  • Favorite Eleanor Parker movie

    • Brian
    • 4/12/15

    As a young "Golden Age" film buff, this movie is one of my favorites. Neat story, fun and humorous at times. Certainly special effects were not what they are today, but that does not matter because Eleanor Parker was so gorgeous. All the cast members did a good job, but it is Eleanor's beauty and cascading red hair that really steals the show. I have been a fan of her's for a while, seen many of her other fantastic films, and always thought that she was so underrated, but one of the most beautiful women I had ever seen.

  • Sword fight!

    • RedRain
    • 7/30/13

    I read the book when I was a young girl and I was thrilled when the film came out. It met all of my expectations! It has beautiful cinematography, great actors and the story is true to the book. It also has one of the best sword fights in all of cinema! We don't see swashbuckling films anymore because I suspect guns are more exciting to the viewing public than swords. What a shame! Stewart Granger and the great Mel Ferrer are just superb here and Eleanor Parker was never lovelier!

  • Scaramouche

    • Shareef
    • 6/18/13

    Rafael Sabatini has always been one of my favorite authors as far as historical romances are concerned. This movie does the novel justice, although some license is taken with the original plot. Stewart Granger is absolutely magnificent in the starring role and Mel Ferrer and Eleanor Parker also put in outstanding performances. This a must see for those are fond of movies of this genre and I heartily recommend it to the young people of today.

  • simply the best and Joseph is nuts

    • louis brown
    • 6/18/13

    first of all , do not listen to Joseph, he truly should either never watch older movies ,or he is the worst reviewer in History. This Movie was not only Great, but I believe it was well ahead of it's time with it's remarkable action scenes. It was exciting and fun to watch , I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Lousy Film

    • Joseph
    • 6/17/13

    The Lousiest movie I have ever seen.....

  • wonderful wonderful

    • denise
    • 6/15/13

    This kind of movie is not being made anymore, which is too bad. What a plot! Pay attention or you will get lost.Janet Leigh, really? Horribly miscast with that nasal American accent. But that's the only thing wrong with this historical romp. Stewart Granger? Yummm, Matt Damon wishes he were this sexy.Wish I could see this in a big theatre the way it was seen on release. Immerse myself in the fantasy because who wants reality if you can have Scaramouche!

  • Always watch the lovely Eleanor Parker!!!

    • Mark Simpson
    • 7/10/12

    What I appreciate about this movie was just how sexy Eleanor Parker (and Janet Leigh) were in their costumes. The plot and sword fighting were kinda humorous.....I always watch movies with Ms. Parker. Still, over 50 years later, she remains a stunningly beautiful woman!!!

  • SCARAMOUCHE

    • RAVENAL HOWARD
    • 3/7/11

    Beautiful ladies, costumes and sets. One AWFUL flick.Way too "hammily" acted and staged.The dueling scenes were so "staged" and ridiculous....I couldn't keep myself from laughing!I guess this was a WOW for those times, and the cast was among my favorites, particularly Eleanor Parker and Stewart Granger, but it just doesn't hold up. It seems so "toonish"now.I guess direction was to blame?If you're looking for some fun fluff, this should do it!

  • A Bravura Swashbuckling Adventure Epic.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/22/10

    Stewart Granger is in top form in one his greatest swashbuckling performances since "The Prisoner of Zenda" as he stars in George Sidney's colorful remake of the original 1923 silent classic based on Rafael Sabatini's classic novel set during the French Revolution. Granger is Andre Moreau, a illustrious ne'er-do-well, who becomes involved in the Revolution, when a colleague is killed in a sword duel with an aristocratic marquis. Eleanor Parker and Janet Leigh are both stunningly beautiful in their equally beautiful dresses of 18th-century France. Impeccably done. The movie's highlight is the climatic sword duel---the longest in swashbuckling history. An excellent cast in an exciting, adventure movie. Unsurpassed, brilliantly filmed. Vive Sidney! Vive Granger! Vive la France! Also starring Mel Ferrer, Henry Wilcoxon, Nina Foch, Richard Anderson, Lewis Stone, Robert Coote, John Dehner, Elizabeth Risdon, Howard Freeman, Curtis Cooksey, Richard Hale, Douglass Dumbrille, Frank Mitchell, Carol Hughes & John Litel.

  • Technicolor,Swashbuckler!

    • Cindy
    • 7/21/09

    As a young girl I developed a major "crush" on Stewart Granger after watching Scaramouche! I loved the beautiful costumes,and gorgeous colors of this film. This film is famous for having the longest fencing scene(sword fight) in cinemas history! Stewart Granger is so suave, Eleanor Parker so "beguiling", Janet Leigh so elegant in her white powdered wig and lavender satin dress, Mel Ferrer so "Dasterdly". This movie has it all, Romance, adventure, great costumes, great Actors, and Actresses. A must see!

  • Enjoyable!!

    • Ashley
    • 8/29/08

    As a young classic film enthusiast, this movie was both entertaining and action packed.The chemistry between Stewart Granger's character(Andre Moreau), and Eleanor Parker's character(Lenore), electrified the screen, and demonstrated what a fabulous,beautiful, and seemingly underrated actress Eleanor was.Although the movie was at times predictable, it is definently a must have for all film lovers.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.