skip navigation
The Rag Man

The Rag Man(1925)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Rag Man - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Exceptional Music and Ensemble

    • Stephen Lickman
    • 11/3/12

    Exceptional Music and Ensemble... As a classically trained musician performing with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra for 20 years... This is a great score and ensemble.... I Loved it and the Story line..SSL

  • The Rag Man

    • maria
    • 10/28/12

    I was in shock how they could do such a movie back then, what a jewel!! Great actors, Timothy won my heart, and also Mr Ginsberg. The subject is so touchy and realty settles in, we now know how difficult was back then, we are so spoiled now!! he just had 4 dol in his pocket, and still going ! Wonderful movie..

  • Loved it!

    • moosish
    • 10/26/12

    This was a really pleasant surprise! Very funny, touching, beautifully acted, beautifully directed, and a new soundtrack that's a real masterpiece, this film has it all! It's a touching story of a old Jewish "rag man" who winds up "partnering" with an orphaned Irish boy. Two more good-hearted, honest, likable people, you could never meet! (Said using typical Yiddish grammar.);-) In addition to its merits, this movie is also a visual time capsule of New York City in the middle 1920s, where horse-drawn carriages shared the streets with automobiles. And this also shows the sub-standards of healthcare and housing that existed in the pre-Social Security and Medicare days!I really loved this movie. It's pleasantly stayed with me. If it's ever available on DVD, I'll be buying it!

  • What a great movie

    • Mr. D
    • 8/4/11

    OK, here's the connection: 4 years before this movie Jackie Coogan played the Charlie Chaplin's adopted Kid in "The Kid" (1921), truly one of the five or six greatest movies ever made. Jackie Coogan became a child star the likes of which Shirley Temple or the kid from Home Alone could only dream about. Now in this movie (1925) Jackie is (I'm guessing) maybe 11 years old. He befriends Mr Ginsberg (the Rag Man & junk dealer), and shows his natural talent for business & social problem-solving. He is still amazingly cuddly & adorable with his pageboy haircut and oversize overalls and disarming grin. The only reason this movie gets 4 stars instead of 5 from me, is I couldn't stop thinking, what could Charlie Chaplin have done with this story? (Trivia question for silent movie fans: what was Chaplin's movie release of 1925? Give up? It was The Circus.)

  • The Rag Man

    • pennyeppler
    • 1/7/09

    "The" most unforgettable film I have ever seen in my life!! (I am 60 yrs. old).Please, please make it available for purchase!!!

  • The Rag Man

    • virginia coriz
    • 11/5/08

    I would love to see the version of this movie with background music by a winner of the Young Composer series, Ms. Martinez. It is the best I have heard. Her orchestration was excellent and the movie will keep you spellbound.

  • The Rag Man

    • midge
    • 7/9/07

    Once you see this film, you'll never forget it. Jackie Coogan is the orphaned little boy who only wants someone to love him; Max Davidson is that someone. Together, they find their way through some murky and rough events, as well as some lovely moments that will get to the viewer in a big way.

  • The Rag Man

    • Jean Harris
    • 9/14/06

    I saw this movie on TCM quite some time ago. It is the most darling, precious movie I have ever seen. I have been waiting for TCM to show it again, but alas, no. No words were needed in this movie. The acting said it all. Everyone in the movie were wonderful.Hope it will be released on DVD. This movie should never be forgotten or filed away.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.