skip navigation
High Barbaree

High Barbaree(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

High Barbaree - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • High Barbaree

    • Karyn
    • 5/22/14

    As with many others who posted, I saw this movie as a teenager over fifty years ago on the late show. It was one of those movies that I never forgot, romantic ending with just a touch of fantasy, moved me to tears. Early tomorrow morning will be the first time I have seen since the early 60s. Can't wait.

  • Can't Believe It!

    • Michael Bee
    • 8/18/13

    Having been into photography for many years, (now well over sixty) I occasionally shoot a picture of a dreamy, light dappled road and invariably title it, The G-Note Road, not quite remembering where and when I got that title from. So...Google to the rescue and, of course, it was in my memory banks from "High Barbaree", a movie I had seen possibly on the Late Show in my early teens. I think as a "know-it-all, smart-ass teen, I thought the movie was sentimental goo, but in spite of myself I was very moved by it. I can't believe how many of these reviews have similar stories about seeing this movie. I don't remember the plot very well, but the idea of the G-Note Road as metaphor for entering heaven or a higher plain of existence, stuck with me all these years and I would love to see it again to see if it stands up to the memory.

  • High Barbaree

    • Jack
    • 12/13/12

    I really like this movie. I must be in a minority, because I have only have seen once on TCM and that was at least 8 years ago. Maybe longer. In that time I have seen other movies at least four or five times. Can I at least get a DVD of it so I can watch it at my leisure. Thank you.

  • high barbaree

    • trotskii
    • 9/17/12

    this kind of sentiment is desperately needed by a generation that does not know how to believe in a world of warmth, romance, dreams that come true in the midst of peril and strife, and most of all, of the kind of love that begins in childhood and grows steadily stronger as both people grow up. Van Johnson and June Allyson were and remain the perfect boy and girl next door. Thomas Mitchell is wonderful as the purveyor of dreams, and the water tower, the G-note road, Tangaroa, the tornado, the war, the PBY-5, all stand tall as symbols of the life force that cannot be defeated. I understand that the original plot had Johnson and Allyson both dying, but that audiences at a test viewing would not stand for that -- they were right. I am tired of seeing the earth being blown to bits, of a future devoid of hope, of sex substituting for love, of morality bent, twisted, tortured and crushed. High Barbaree deservs to be rediscovered by a new generation as It's a wonderful life has been. Bring on the DVD --- Cameron Mitchell was not bad and Henry Hull's intensity rubs off on everybosy. I loved this picture when I was a teen and still do at 78.

  • High Barbaree

    • Monda49
    • 9/14/12

    Just saw this film. Haven't seen this film since I was a teen. Loved it then and still do. Would love to be able to buy it on DVD. Lots of good stars in it. Please bring it out.

  • ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES.

    • JESSE BURNS
    • 9/3/12

    This is my favorite Van Johnson, June Allyson movie. I saw it twice in my lifetime so far. And I can only see scenes of it on YouTube. But what i'm hoping is that you'll show it here. Online. I'd really love to see it again. THANK-YOU JESSE BURNS

  • High Barbaree on DVD

    • Fay
    • 6/11/12

    For all those who would like a DVD release of High Barbaree I suggest that they visit http://www.raremoviesandconcerts.com. I found this movie there and ordered it and just today it came to me. I don't have TCM so I was happy to find this rare and rather forgotten movie. If you can't wait for TCM to show it again then go after the DVD. You can also find many other classic films there. Enjoy!

  • "High Barbaree", the movie.

    • Bob McLachlan
    • 3/6/12

    I saw this movie in Queensland, Australia, when I was 12 (1948), and loved it. My memories of it are mainly to do with the scenes on board the downed amphibious aircraft at sea as the two survivors reminisce about their earlier lives and how much they are looking forward with hope to be rescued, a forlorn hope I believe. The aircraft, of course, was a PBY Catalina, one of the great aircraft of the war years. To this day (I am 75) the Catalina remains my favorite aircraft due to that film. If only it could be released again.

  • High BArbaree

    • Emma
    • 12/11/11

    I've only seen a few 10 minute segments of this film but already I love it. They have such great chemistry, I just melt when I see them. Am on a bit of a June Allyson Van Johnson craze and half the films I want to see are unavailable (e.g. Remains to be seen). These two are big enough stars I would've thought more of their work would be available. An Allyson/Johnson Boxset maybe??? PLeeeasee realease on DVD soon!!

  • Did you get my High Barbaree tribute..and review??

    • Connie Sponheim Bauer
    • 10/7/11

    I hope you got my tribute to Grace and Bob..my parents..my mother loved the movie,,it makes me happy too...and dad looked just like Van Johnson...love to all...Connie

  • A wonderful memory

    • Gary Durgee
    • 9/13/11

    I didn't know there were others like me out there! I saw this film as a young teen late on a Saturday night in the early sixties and never forgot it. I've always wanted to see it again, but have never had the opportunity....DVD please??!! I'll put it next to my copy of "The Human Comedy".GD

  • High barbaree

    • Laura mathison
    • 7/11/11

    I'll never forget this movie. I first saw High Barbaree when I was 10 or 11 years old. It melted my young heart. Van Johnson and June Allyson and Thomas Mitchell were wonderful. It made me laugh, cry and feel the pain when the characters were stranded in the south pacific.. Please show this wonderful gem of a movie so a new generation can see what I saw and heard when I was a girl

  • High Barbaree

    • Jan Kopel
    • 7/5/11

    I'm right there with all of you dying to see High Barbaree again. I remember seeing it on TV when I was 11 or 12 and just loving it. TCM showed it once, just before my cable company offered TCM but I haven't seen it since. Please TCM, show this movie! I'm 59 years old and it has been my favorite movie for 47 years.

  • Unforgettable

    • Jan Quinn
    • 6/7/11

    One of my favorite movies. I long to see it again soon. Have been unable to find it anywhere.

  • High Barbaree

    • John Rogers
    • 4/19/11

    It was one of the best movies I have ever seen, The classic Van Johnson

  • High Barbaree--I need closure

    • Jerry Alexander
    • 1/26/11

    I saw High Barbaree at the Capitol Theater in Passaic, NJ, when itfirst came out in 1947. I was 8 and I didn't understand what it wasabout but I remember it was suspenseful and exciting and not likeany movie I'd ever seen (I used to go to the movies almost daily).I've never gotten the movie out of my system--I see Van Johnsonin a movie and often High Barbaree comes to mind, that mysterious,mystical, magical movie. I need to see it again. For closure! Please,TCM, play it--and not at 3 a.m. but in the evening, with respect andlots of advance promotion so nobody misses it! Thanks, Jerry

  • High Barbaree

    • Rob Blair
    • 11/14/10

    One of the first films I ever saw and it has stuck with me like glue. I would very much like TCM to show it on occaision.

  • Unforgetable

    • Leo Luna
    • 10/8/10

    The most memorable film from my youth. I have searched for this film for years to no avail. Oh how I wish I could find it. Van Johnson and June Allyson, will live in my mind and my search will go on as long as I'm here. What a wonderful film, if only they would release it so others can see it and see the magic that was created back when it was originally shown. Truly something that will not leave your heart.Leo Luna

  • High Barbaree

    • David Gruchow
    • 7/31/10

    I've only seen this movie once on TV when I was in elementary school in the early 1960's. I still remember the wonderful chemistry between Van Johnson and June Allyson. I hope to see it again some day, either on TCM or on DVD. I just hope it's stood the test of time and is still as great as I remember it (then again, I remember thinking that "The High and the Mighty" was a great movie when I saw it as a kid).

  • the high barbaree

    • judy king
    • 3/20/10

    this movie came out when I was 11 and I loved the story of High Barbaree. I remember it fondly and have looked for it for many years. I wish so much to be able to have a dvd of this movie. Will they ever release one? Please!!!!!

  • What - No High Barbaree?

    • Marilyn Waters
    • 12/25/09

    How can this be that High Barbaree hasn't been included in the films available. Who can ever forget the Water Tower, the 'coming home scene' that proved, no matter what, love and life prevail. Although I was only 5 when this movie came out, I remember seeing it on TV when I was a young girl and I can still close my eye and remember scenes and dialog - that's what an impression this movie made on me. This is truly a "classic" movie in every sense and its a pity more folks can't enjoy it through reproduction on DVD.

  • Remembering High Barbaree

    • Suzanne Johnson
    • 12/25/09

    I can't understand why of all the classic movies to make it to DVD this one has not.I am a 64 year old woman and of all the things that have come and gone in my life and all I can't remember one thing comes to mind, especially because of this movie and that is "the old G note road"This was a fabulous movie!! It's about love and spirit and remembering and much more.Please someone bring this movie to the public before all of those who know about it are gone.Thanks

  • High Romance

    • Jerry
    • 11/28/09

    Along with The Human Comedy and Since You Went Away, this movie is my ideal of the spirit that got the USA through WWII. Van Johnson is the crashed aviator in the South Pacific trying to keep himself alive until rescue by remembering his civilian life and the girl he left behind (June Allyson). Those two Hollywood pros were never more effectively cast. It has been many years since I saw it on TV but I remember the tornado sequence although I can no longer remember how it fit into the plot. Please issue this in a crisp transfer for my DVD collection.

  • A long time ago

    • Dick Gerbrands
    • 10/31/09

    I was stationed at San Diego Naval Air Station when the movie was being made. I sat on the beach and watched the downed plane scene being shot . Van Johnson was very popular with the troops during the shooting scenes at the base.I never had the opportunity to see the movie after it was released and I would enjoy seeing it after all these years

  • Unforgetable Memories

    • sam basden
    • 8/8/09

    I watch this movie back in the early 1980's. It was the first and only movie to ever choke me up emotionally and wet my eyes- if you know what i mean. I am still hoping to find this movie- to watch it again and gain and again and again....

  • Mystical High Barbaree

    • Bill Clark
    • 5/28/09

    I was 10 when I saw this movie. Van Johnson was one of my 1st screen idols. And growing up during WWII I loved airplanes and this one featured so many scenes of the PBY Catalina.The idea of being adrift and hoping to find the mythical island of High Barbaree has such a romantic theme to it. I would love to have a copy of it for my library. If this is not possible could it be scheduled for public viewing sometime soon.

  • High Barbaree

    • Paul McDonald
    • 12/13/08

    This film initiated my crush on June Allyson - I was 8 years old! I just found a DVD of it, after a 2 year search. I lost the paperwork, but I believe it came from Canada; not a very good copy - but good enough to reminisce over! At 70, I find it rewarding to have these strong memories of films from when I was a kid.

  • HIGH BARBAREE IS A WONDERFUL MOVIE.

    • BEVERLY RAYNOR
    • 8/31/08

    I HAVE LOVED THIS MOVIE MOST OF MY LIFE. OF COURSE I HAVE ALWAYS FELT THAT THERE WAS ALWAYS GREAT CHEMISTRY BETWEEN VAN & JUNE. PLEASE RELEASE THIS FILM ON DVD. I'M 71yrs & I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE THIS MOVIE IN MY COLLECTION. THANK YOU.

  • Childhood memories

    • Don
    • 1/30/08

    I never spent a lot of time with my father, but I do remember watching this movie with him one time on a Saturday afternoon in the late 60's-early 70's. It was the second time I had seen it - the first time I nodded off partway throuogh, at the scene where the islander is speaking to im - and woke up at the same scene. One of them was a dream sequence, but I didn't realize it at the time and it had me so confused. I cherish all my memories of time with my father and as a result I cherish the memory of this movie too. I hope that, at least, it appears on TCM sometime soon!

  • Wonderful odd little post-war movie.

    • N H U
    • 9/9/07

    First saw it in the 1970s. A year later I stayed up till 2am to watch it again, in the days long before VCRs. An enertaining strange combination of war story, love story and fantasy. It does occasionally show up on TCM. Too bad it is not on DVD, and was never even on VHS.

  • Nostalgic childhood memories

    • P
    • 7/16/07

    I saw this movie when I was 11, the first time. I loved the story and watched it several times because it reminded me of my earlier childhood. When I got older, it became special to me because of the love story between Alec and Nancy, who had been childhood sweethearts and how their bonding had remained through the years and was so strong that it pulled them back together again as adults. I related to that part of the story too because of my childhood sweetheart and how we never forgot each other. It is a very sweet love story and I wish it were available in DVD.

  • My all time favorite movie

    • Tom McClain
    • 3/31/07

    I have been looking for this movie for years. It used to show up on T.V. once in a while but I have'nt seen it for a long time. I would love to see it again or purchase it. I think that it would be a good way to bridge the generation gap for my grandchildren and let them see into our 1940 hearts.

  • High Barbaree

    • Michell Moore
    • 12/11/06

    Love this movie. Watched it with my father and have a painting that reminds of the G Note Road. Wish it would me on again or that I could purchase a copy. My father and I cried eveytime we watched it and I miss seeing it. What a lovely story.

  • HIGH BARABAREE MISSING?

    • Richard & Carmen Ayala
    • 9/13/06

    We have never seen it on TV, unable to purchase it, or find it available anywhere.WHY?Please let us know how we may see or purchase this classic movie starring Van Johnson and June Allyson et al, was one of our WWII FAVORITES.SincerelyRichard & Carmen Ayala

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.