skip navigation
Johnny Eager

Johnny Eager(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Johnny Eager A handsome racketeer seduces... MORE > $18.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Johnny Eager

    • Goetan
    • 6/5/13

    A good crime drama from MGM. Although the film was heavily publicized for "Taylor 'n Turnerr's" pairing, they are second fiddle's under Heflin's Oscar winning performance as the Best Supporting Actor. The story is thrilling, but also predictable and convoluted. A good thriller that toughened Taylor's image. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • "Crawling into the stomach of our favorite snake"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 8/7/12

    This film premiered in LA just two days after Pearl Harbor, and its lead character and Japan shared unconscionable underhanded tactics in their eagerness to climb the mountain of excess. Except for the now funny title, Van Heflin's Oscar movie is serious, with good acting all around and great writing throughout, including the last line spoken by the man who knows Johnny better than Johnny himself (see Bonnie's 2-21-10 post). As always, Edward Arnold is awesome, and Lana quite the head turner.

  • Este filme é maravilhoso

    • Sonia
    • 11/30/10

    Um timo filme. Eu adoro o Robert Taylor e neste filme ele est espetacular. Lana Turner est no auge de sua beleza e talento. O roteiro muito bom. Uns dos melhores filmes dos anos 40.

  • T-N-T

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/13/10

    The title of my review doesn't refer to the explosive or TCM's sister network, but the sizzling chemistry between Robert Taylor and Lana Turner (Taylor & Turner or T-N-T) in the great 1942 film noir "Johnny Eager". It's the story of a gangster named Johnny Eager who tries to manipulate a DA (wonderfully played by Edward Arnold) in his favor by seducing the DA's daughter, and then falling in love with her. Van Heflin also gives a best supporting actor Oscar winning performance as Eager's boozing best friend. In my opinion one of the best 40's film noirs, right up there with "The Maltese Falcon", "Double Indemnity", "The Postman Always Rings Twice", "The Blue Dahlia", etc.

  • Johnny Eager

    • Bonnie
    • 2/21/10

    The very last scene should be in "The Celluloid Closet"; don't know if it is. Makes you realize that the love story is between the rejected Heflin (and explains his drinking) and Taylor.

  • This Crime Drama on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 6/21/09

    I would enjoy having this movie on DVD. It stars Robert Taylor, Lana Turner, and Van Heflin (who won an Academy Award for best supporting actor).

  • Great Movie!

    • Caroline
    • 3/11/09

    Saw this for the first time last night; quite a surprise at how good it was. I agree with the other reviewer that it was Van Heflin's best performance--he really stole the show. I loved seeing Taylor as the bad guy for a change. It was also neat to see Van Heflin and Lana Turner so young! The dialogue in this movie was superb; wish I had this on DVD. Hopefully TCM will play this often and I'll be able to record it....

  • Extremely Entertaining Dialogue

    • Babs
    • 5/6/06

    Wish it was playing again, I would like to DVR it.

  • VAN HEFLIN

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 5/6/06

    Van Heflin gives one of Oscar's best performances. He is brilliant in this movie. In my opinion he steals the picture from Robert Taylor and Lana Turner. That is quite a feat.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.