skip navigation
The Tingler

The Tingler(1959)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Tingler A scientist discovers an... MORE > $9.99 Regularly $9.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • an excellent film for a saturday afternoon

    • mycomment
    • 10/30/14

    my sister and i saw this in a theatre when we were little kids; and i still remember the 'scream! scream! for your lives" this is a great, cheesy film. vincent price can do no wrong as far as i'm concerned...

  • The Tingler(1959)

    • nshepard
    • 10/31/10

    Excellent suspense horror film starring Vincent Price as Dr. William Chapin. He discovers an organism that lives on fear, it develops during intense levels of anxiety and lives on your spine. William Castle directs this low budget film with great style. Working with a limited budget demands a creative resoluiton, excellent cast,terrific lighting, and a decent story line all add to a good film. This film includes the first LSD session ever seen publicly. Also has color inserts for dramatic effect.Darryl Hickman, Judith Evelyn, Philip Coolidge also star.4.5 stars out 5. Highly enjoyable.

  • The Tingler (1959)

    • James Higgins
    • 6/11/10

    Hokey but curiously fascinating. Better than average production for a William Castle film. Vincent Price is more effective than he usually is. I have never been much of a Castle fan, but this one isn't too bad. The color sequence mixed in with the black and white photography is kind of a cool touch. There is some way too melodramatic acting by some in the supporting cast.

  • They don't make'em like this anymore...

    • steve
    • 3/24/10

    What fun film. I would've loved to have seen Castle's films at the cinema and experience his creative gimmicks. The Tingler is an overwhelming example of how Castle involved his viewers to make movies more that just a spectator sport. The sequence in the movie theater alone is enough to make one want to watch and share this film with other fans of any genre. Campy fun, creepy effects and creativity at its best. They just don't make'em like this anymore!

  • A Real Spine "Tingler"

    • Bruce Reber
    • 10/21/09

    Although it seems a little tame compared to later fright films (especially the ones today), "The Tingler" is a true horror classic from director William Castle and star Vincent Price. I have seen it several times, and I am convinced that the hallucinogenic drug Chapin took to induce fear was LSD, although there is no mention of it in the film (for obvious reasons). Another thing I find curious is in the scene where the deaf-mute woman is being frightened is the blood in the sink and bathtub being red while the rest of the film is in black & white. If the entire film were in color it would have looked better. I took me a while to realize it, but the deaf-mute woman was played by Judith Evelyn, who was Miss Lonelyheart in the Alfred Hitchcock classic "Rear Window".

  • Classic Horror

    • Joe Abbate
    • 10/6/09

    This is my favorite Vincent Price film. When I saw this as a young boy, I didn't sleep for days!!!!

  • A True Classic

    • Jennifer
    • 9/19/08

    Okay, so I wasn't old enough to see it when it first came out but my Dad did. He said they had some of the seats in the theater rigged so that when the theater went dark some of the seats emitted a small electrical shock. He said the girl sitting next to him shot up about 2 feet in the air. Why, oh why don't they do that anymore? Well, I guess they would probably be sued nowadays but how much fun it would have been to be in one of those seats. Even without the extra charge this is an excellent movie. William Castle and Vincent Price, need I say more?

  • Fantastic Classic

    • Joanna M. Crosser
    • 10/12/07

    I am 56 yrs. old and when I saw this at my local theater as a child I knew the tingler was under my bed!!! Wonderful vintage Vincent Price.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.