skip navigation
Airport

Airport(1970)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Airport - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Campy Fun

    • lcf/bill
    • 5/7/15

    This was not intended to be camp, but it works that way. Everything is over the top and ultra-cliche. With the brisk pacing and one of Al Newman's final scores, I think it is an enjoyable guilty pleasure.

  • Airport "Duke" Correction

    • Paul Ort
    • 5/7/15

    Go ahead and BLINK! This is NOT the Airport movie in which the Duke takes a brief ride "shotgun." Type in "Central Airport" and there you'll find J. W. as the passing co-pilot.

  • Airplane II was better

    • denscul
    • 4/18/15

    I guess we had to watch this, so we could enjoy the satire of Airplane. We had a double date and saw this film in the theaters when it came out. We were both pilots who flew the KC-135, which was the Air Force version of the 707. We were boring our dates with all of our "expert" views. I have thousand of hours, and never put a dent on an aircraft. But I guess safety would make a boring film. http://www.tcm.com/tcmdb/title/19875/Airport/user-reviews.html?view=review#

  • Thrilling!

    • RedRain
    • 4/18/15

    If you haven't seen this film in awhile, see it again! It's a real thriller! Despite knowing the story and the ending, I viewed this film again today and I hadn't seen it in at least ten years. I was pleasantly surprised it still held the tension I experienced when I saw it decades ago. Loved George Kennedy as Patroni and liked the backstories of the passengers and crew. Great way to spend a rainy Saturday afternoon!

  • airport

    • kevin sellers
    • 4/18/15

    God, what a crappy year 1971 was for Hollywood movies! Both the insufferable tear jerker "Love Story" and this piece of mindlessness were nominated for best picture. Oh well. At least "Patton" won. As for "Airport," it's not boring. I'll give it that. Probably because Henry Hathaway directed large parts of it and didn't take credit (can you blame him?) And it doesn't try to be anything more than diverting schlock, which I guess you have to respect. Nothing worse than pretentious schlock, such as movies like "Elmer Gantry," and the entire oeuvre of Stanley Kramer. And it was the first "disaster pic," so I guess it has historical interest. And Jean Seberg's good to look at and, well I can't think of anything else. Give it a C plus.

  • The posted review is of the wrong film

    • Jerome Albano
    • 3/6/15

    The review by Leonard Maltin is not of Airport from1970 . I enjoyed the film. Acting honors go to Hayes, Kennedy and Stapleton but every body was good---enjoyed the movie

  • Glossy Jet Age Soap Opera

    • Joseph
    • 7/16/14

    A ferocious winter storm, a stuck 707, a mad bomber and various romantic issues create melodrama at a major Chicago airport. Arthur Hailey's bestselling novel (the #1 book of 1968) becomes a glossy, grandly entertaining big screen extravaganza, produced by Ross Hunter for the sole purpose of entertaining the audience, and this one does it in spades; it was so successful (its adjusted-for-inflation box office gross is $526 million!) that it kicked off the disaster movie craze of the 1970s, although the audience I recently saw the film with agreed that the movie is more soap opera than disaster flick. Ernest Laszlo's color cinematography really pops on the big screen and Alfred Newman's score is appropriately propulsive. The all-star cast is fun, with the acting honors going to Helen Hayes (who won the Best Supporting Actress Oscar as an elderly stowaway) and Maureen Stapleton (nominated for Best Supporting Actress as the distressed wife of the bomber).

  • AIRPORT

    • P,LAW
    • 3/7/11

    ALWAYS ENJOY AIRPORT. GEORGE KENNEDY IS GREAT. WOULD LOVE TO SIT BACK AND ENJOY THAT MOVIE .

  • Airport (1970)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/28/09

    What melodrama! But it is great fun and certainly it's entertaining. Burt Lancaster overacts to the hilt, but Helen Hayes is a delight, Maureen Stapleton and Van Heflin give fine performances as well. Jacqueline Bisset has rarely been more beautiful. This is the disaster film that started a craze in the 1970's.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.