skip navigation
Camille

Camille(1937)

  • Monday, February 2 @ 07:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Camille In this classic 19th-century... MORE > $99.98 Regularly $99.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love, Love, Love this movie

    • Theresa Rouse
    • 1/29/14

    Camille with Greta Garbo is definitely one of my favorite of ALL movies. Only Garbo could make Camille one of the greatest classics! I am drawn to watching Camille over and over!

  • Excellent Story

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 6/5/13

    I watched this film again this morning. I still feel in most scenes Garbo is just completely overwrought in her acting. For example, when she is writing Daniell to come back to him. Her sobbing is almost comical as are her body movements. Granted, I've probably sobbed like this myself and I probably looked equally ridiculous, but I would've been truly upset and not overacting. Now, I really did like the scene with her and Barrymore (my anchor). Even though I always feel a sense of relief when Barrymore steps onto the scene, I do feel he was a little stiff in his lines at the beginning. But he overcame that as Garbo did a wonderful job and I felt tears well up in my eyes as I watched her. In certain scenes of this film Garbo was touching and I could sympathize with what she was going through in loving and subsequently giving up Taylor. A lot of that I think just plain out comes from the storyline. It really is a moving, tear-jerking story. So, for that reason I believe this film is worth seeing again and again. It truly is an excellent piece of work in movie history.

  • A Most Ardent Fan of Garbo

    • ROB
    • 4/17/13

    Just saw Camille for the first time today (4/17/13). Garbo, a great and beautiful actress. Amazing how well done and enjoyable most of the movies are of the thirties and fortys. I AM a big fan of Garbo unlike the last person expressing their comment. I make a point to see ALL of Garbo's movies and enjoy them all.

  • Fair Disclosure

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/17/13

    To be upfront, I am not a Garbo fan (in fact, I find her cringe-worthy). So it's difficult to watch such a wonderful film as this one and see past Garbo herself. But, I am able to in Camille, and in doing so I feel this is her greatest role.

  • Greta Garbo masterpiece

    • TK
    • 10/24/12

    I usually take Drew Barrymore's intros with a grain of salt because her enthusiasm and love for films tend to make superlatives the norm with her. But when it comes to Greta Garbo's performance in Camille, I have to agree. It's hard to find the right words. Robert Taylor holds his own, but almost gets lost in Garbo's dominance. It's a 5 hankie love story, but don't miss the scene where Baron de Varvill (Henry Daniell) slaps Garbo. Just watch her face. Without speaking a word, she sets up the entire rest of the movie. It's one of those incredible silent movie moments buried in the middle of a talkie.

  • Camille

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 5/6/12

    A romantic classic that could have easily won the 'Best Picture' Academy Award. Garbo gives a powerful, Oscar- nominated performance & Taylor is just as suberb. Cukor's sensitive direction & the lavish sets & costume personify the famous story from Alexandre Dumas fils' story. The most brilliant tearjerker from the 30's. 4/5.

  • Star Crossed Lovers in A Romantic Classic(1936)

    • nshepard
    • 5/6/12

    As powerfull a screen persona as Greta Garbo was, you would think that maybe being a concubine would be beneath her, but she and Armand(Robert Taylor) deliver exceptional performances that lift the story over the soap level. Maguerite(Garbo) is a kept womaqn in societal class where she depends on the generosity of her "admirers", but she is too generous and doesn't know how to keep a balanced budget. Enter Taylor, whom Garbo mistakens for her next enounter , a Baron de Varville. Their first encounter is brief and contentious, but 6 months later the flames start to fire. Garbo looking as lovely as possible and Taylor looks molded into his outfit seem a perfect match, EXCEPT their class levels are not compatable and their relationship is doomed by societal values, although in reality, you really have to wonder how long Taylor would have stayed around for an older woman, who has health problems. But that being said ,"Camille" is what it is a doomed love story with two great looking people. One for the ages. 5 stars out of 5 for excellent acting.

  • Incredible Garbo performance!

    • RedRain
    • 5/5/12

    This film will break your heart! It simply is timeless and the subject matter is relevant today as it was back then. Escaping your past when you have been a "lady of the evening" is impossible. There is always somebody who will find you out and Camille knows this when she falls for Armand but she also knows how useless it is. Camille is dying and she knows it but Garbo's performance is extremely understated and nuanced, so much so that you have to guess until the end that she is truly that ill. How Louise Rainer won the Academy award over Garbo is simply beyond me! While "The Good Earth" is an excellent film, Rainer's performance was certainly not! (Rainer wouldn't know a nuance if it slapped her in the face. as she portrayed all her roles as a hysterical woman!) This was the performance of Garbo's life and it must have pained her greatly not to have it recognized as such.

  • Camille (1937)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ***1/2

  • Camille (1936)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/29/10

    Camille is considered by most to be her finest performance, indeed she is excellent. I liked her better in Ninotchka, but this is among her best. Robert Taylor is surprisingly effective in one of his earliest roles. The MGM production values are amazing. Everything from the art direction and costume design is top notch. Good support from Jessie Ralph and Laura Hope Crews.

  • Camille (1936)

    • Dianne Austiin
    • 2/20/10

    This was one of the most wonderful movies that i have ever watched! I enjoyed it so very much. The acting was so great! I know now why my Dad and my Mother always talked about Gretta Garbo and Robery Yound. It was just so wonderful to watch the story and see the beauty of the clothes and the scenery. The love between the two of them was so intriging and romantic. It gave me a totally different feeling about love! It is a totally different taste than the movies of today. I know now why my Mother and Father were romantist. It gave you a respect for Love and what Love is really about. I wrote a review the other day thinking that the movie I saw was the l917 movie. I cannot imagine a silent movie of "Camille". I would like to watch that movie also. This truly made me a Turner Classic Movie Fan!! Thank you Ted Turner for these wonderful moview!! diannewhitehurst@yahoo.com

  • Archaic dialogue

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/17/10

    The dialogue doesn't work for me in this one. It's a great story, but the words uttered by the characters are so grand, so palpitating and ultimately so corny, that even the most sensible viewer has to cringe. I think it would've played better if the actors had done it a bit more tongue-in-cheek. It seems as if the male cast members, especially Taylor and Barrymore, are reciting dialogue with an 'I can't believe I have to say this line, but at least I get paid for it' attitude. They're just not into it. Garbo, however, is very much into it, and you can tell it's a story she likes and she's probably the reason it got made, because she pushed for it. Again, it's just such an overwrought affair, and that appeals to some viewers, so I am not disparaging it, but I think they should've performed it a bit more droll and with an acknowledgement of its campier aspects. That's what Douglas Sirk, the great director of melodramas, would've done. I guess that's a little too much for Cukor and Garbo to comprehend. As a result, it doesn't hold up as well.

  • Camille

    • Melissa
    • 2/16/10

    I watched it for the first time today plus or minus a few minutes of the movie and thought it wonderful!!. I had also noticed it in Annie when they went to radio city music hall to see it and wondered what the movie was. I also got caught up in it, and wished that it would not of ended. The ending made me sad it was wonderful!! I look forward to seeing it again!!!

  • Beautiful Movie...

    • Natasha N
    • 11/26/09

    I would say this is the film that Robert Taylor gave his BEST performance! The role fitted Garbo Perfectly. I got so caught up in the story, I even cried in the end. I wish they made movies like this still... Wonderful film, a must buy!

  • Wow!

    • mby
    • 2/25/09

    My first Garbo picture. An amazing performance by one of the most beautifulwoman I have ever seen on camera. I used to wonder what all the fuss was about, but now I certainly get it.

  • Might As Well Face It I'm Addicted to Love.

    • CineMaven
    • 8/7/08

    Garbo's performance throughout is subtle, heartwrenching, cold and vulnerable. She gives the most sublime performance I have ever seen.Robert Taylor stands toe-to-toe with the great Garbo as the lovesick Armand. Excellent cast, painfully performed, my heart is aching.

  • Great

    • marilyn
    • 7/26/08

    I first became aware of this movie when I went to the theater to see 'Annie', when I was a young child. For years after, I wanted to see the movie they went to see at Radio Muscic Hall. I finally saw it, and it haunted me ever since. Now, I wait impatiently for it to come on TV, just to watch it, again. It, always, brings tears to my eyes. It's a great tragic love story.

  • GARBO IS THE GREATEST FILM ACTRESS EVER

    • DUNCAN MARK MILTON-HEA
    • 6/4/08

    Of all the films that Garbo made this must be one of the finest performances of her life. The fact that she did not get an oscar is down to the fact that she would not "play ball" with the Hollywood clique. In the final scene one can see death standing in her eyes and her final look up at Armand before her face finally loses all animation is amazing. I understand that a colourised version was made but is not available due to some stupid copyright objections. Surely this is a film that would benefit tremendously by being in colour.

  • First

    • Ginger
    • 1/25/08

    Just saw this last night...It was my first Greta Garbo movie, and Robert Taylor one. I give them a big applause! The costumes in that movie were gorgeous! I wish people still dressed like that..... The ending was magnificently sad.

  • Camille

    • Joyce
    • 1/24/08

    I always look forward to seeing it again . Yes Garbo is great but the young Robert Taylor is perfect with her . Just watch his face .

  • Garbo at her best!

    • Angeline
    • 7/10/07

    It's no wonder Garbo considered this as her personal favorite out of all her movies. The tragic story+garbo's performance+the finale=best garbo movie. ever. Hard to believe Garbo didn't win an oscar for this--I think that its a BIG snub.

  • My favorite film

    • Richard
    • 6/19/07

    I've seen "Camille" countless times and Garbo's performance never ceases to amaze and move me. She plays the tragedy with the lightest of touches (thanks likely to Mr. Cukor). Despite the old-fashioned story, Garbo makes the emotions real.

  • Camille=wonderful

    • Lauren
    • 2/14/07

    Let me begin by saying Garbo got robbed of the Best Actress Oscar for this one by Luise Rainer. But even so, it's a great movie and Garbo is magnificent. And Robert Taylor deserves more credit for his honest performance as Armand.

  • Favorite Garbo Picture

    • SwingDancingRed
    • 2/14/06

    Without a doubt, one of her best performances.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.