skip navigation
The Hatchet Man

The Hatchet Man(1932)

  • Friday, September 26 @ 03:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Hatchet Man When he's forced to kill... MORE > $9.99 Regularly $9.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Very good movie

    • conrad beal
    • 2/14/13

    This movie is very underrated.It has action and the good old hook, revenge.Edward G. does a credible job as hatchet man.A fun movie to watch.4 stars.

  • The Hatchet Man (1932)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 5/17/12

    While Edward G. Robinson and Loretta Young are fairly convincing in their roles, the story is very simplistic and weak. Also, the character motivations of Young are weak and undeveloped, and her choice at the turning point of the movie seems random and artificial.

  • Hatchet Man Belongs On DVD

    • Stanley Cooper
    • 5/24/09

    If You Watch The Hatchet Man And Watch Edward G.Robinson 1931-32//You Could See Then That This man Was A Natural Great Actor/Why This Movie Is Not On DVD I Cannot Understand/When You Think Of All The Bad Bad Movies That They Put Out And There Are So Many Great Old Movies Like All The Old George Arliss Movies/It's Simply Beyond Me//Getting Back To The Hatchet Man This Movie Runs About 1 Hour And 14 Minutes/And It Is A Wonderful Movie//Loretta Young At The Beginning Of Her Career Is Good/But All The Other So CalledB & C Actors Are Just Wonderful//This Movie Has Without Question The Greatest Ending Of Any Movie That I Have Ever SeenBy The Way The Song POOR BUTTERFLY is Part Of The Soundtrack//So Please Please Out There In DVD Land You People Who Put These Movies Out On DVD Please Put THE HATCHET MAN Out and I Will Buy The First 2 Copies/Thank YouStanley Cooper Jupiter Florida

  • Overlooked classic

    • audrtick wiltshire
    • 7/16/08

    this is one of the great gangster movies of the thirties. Great period piece. The costumes,the music, the acting and the ending was great. I'd like to know when it will be shown again.

  • Significant!

    • Elayne
    • 12/20/07

    I was absolutely spellbound by The Hatchet Man. In addition to Edward G's powerful performance, the setting and the costumes are so captivating. The entire package delivers an important story in American history.

  • An overlooked classic

    • Bela
    • 11/23/07

    This is one of the most interesting films of the 1930's.Its hard to believe Edward G.Robinson as an asian but it works well.Classic story of revenge with a surreal twist at the end.This movie is rarely played so catch it if you can.

  • The Hatchet Man

    • Mike Wong
    • 6/1/07

    Greatest gangster film of all time!

  • Great movie of SF BUT.....

    • Marco Santa Caterina
    • 8/11/06

    Iloved this movie of SF's Chinatown. But I didn't see the end of it because I had to go to work. Of course it was campy with all the white actors playing Asians but...... I've been waiting for it to be on again so I could tape it because it isn't on tape. WHEN IS IT GOING TO BE ON AGAIN????

  • Lost Movie

    • Stanley Cooper
    • 7/27/06

    THE HATCHET MAN is One Of The Best MoviesEver Made//Edward G.Robinson And Loretta Young Are Just Great/I have Seen Many Movies Throughout The Years But The Hatchet Man Has The Greatest Ending That I Have Ever Seen/The Minute That I See This Movie Put On DVD I'll Buy At Least 10 Of Them So I can Give Them Out As Gifts//If You Haven't Seen The hatchet Man// Then You've Really Missed A TreatThe Song Poor Butterfly Is in The BackgroundStanley cooper Jupiter Florida

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.