skip navigation
Finian's Rainbow

Finian's Rainbow(1968)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Finian's Rainbow A leprechaun follows the... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Finian's Wake

    • mugsy
    • 11/19/13

    I first viewed this mess aboard an airplane as the in-flight movie. I almost got up and walked out.

  • Major problems but the music is delightful

    • singabob
    • 3/17/13

    Nearly fifty years later, people are still divided on Coppolla's early effort of "Finian's Rainbow." The story is very cute and I think the music is solid with several memorable tunes. Still, a couple of the cast choices are odd (if not annoying) and the movie bogs down on the racial elements, which I think are secondary to the plot of an Irish family planting a stolen pot of gold in Kentucky. As a result, it meanders and has odd continuity issues between studio and on-site shooting. Like the Broadway version a few years ago, the show can succeed and so could this film in the hands of a more skilled storyteller/director. Still, its fun to watch Astair and hum the music!

  • An Adult Musical Mish-Mash

    • Elizabeth H
    • 3/17/13

    I do remember trying to watch this when I was in the 11th grade. I believe it had been playing at a drive-in movie....not a date, just a friend. It had been the longest night of my life. I hated it and refused to ever see it again! Until now.........I believe it is way too long. There is alot of racial connotations. Nobody would ever be able to get away with it now. I found it enjoyable and quite creative. I love Fred Astaire and no matter how poor they made him look, he still beamed with class. God love Petula Clark! She was a classy lady and I had no clue of her stage and movie career. She was a class act, having the voice of an angel. As a midwesterner, I could relate to one of the many plot segments....we all have to remember this was during the high racial tensions in America. Leave it to Hollywood to capitalize on it! I happen to like the one plot to change a white man into a black man.....so he could view the world from another man's eyes. Lots of hard work, creatively speaking...perhaps a drug induced took coma for the fine diirector??? And what happened to alot of the actors?

  • See Fred Astaire dance again!

    • Maureen v.V.
    • 6/28/12

    Good musical songs. Fred Astaire,Tommy Steele,Petula Clark and Don Francks are good actors. Story is too long and it gets boring at times. There is NO LOVE between Petula Clark and Don Francks. No emotion at all. Movie is worth watching just to see Fred Astaire dance again.

  • Live Cartoon

    • Condie
    • 12/10/11

    This production does not deserve the bad ratings it has been given. It is an adult musical American comedy fairytale with a human size leprechaun - and a moral. Fred Astaire plays an Irishman in possession of a fluorescent pot-o-gold, and Tommy Steele is the leprechaun who is assigned to get it back to Ireland. The beautiful Petula Clark is Astaire's daughter with the voice of an Irish sunbeam who becomes accused of being a witch. Keenan Wynn is a bigot white that is turned black as the result of three wishes granted by the pot-o-gold. And the mentholated tobacco will burn but not smoke. Of course it is silly. It is a well done spoof that keeps a continuous flow of chuckles and a permanent smile on the face of the viewer, and it ranks as one of this viewer's favorites. It is saturated with outstanding photography and choreography. It is brilliantly colorful and filled with lively music and dancing. How does one describe a production 'so grandish' as this? It is the 'beginnish of the finish' of the leprechaun as an elf. The leprechaun thinks it is 'inhuman to be human'

  • Finian's Rainbow (1968)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/4/10

    This musical borders on obnoxious, and Francis Ford Coppola's direction is dreadful. From what I had read from what I looked up was that he was over his head and that director should have been someone with musical experience, and I agree. Fred Astaire overacts way too much, but Petula Clark is rather delightful. The supporting cast is bland. The production is gaudy and overblown, it is way way too long. There are a few catchy songs, but there are some really bad ones too.

  • Beautifully sung film version of stage musical

    • GPasqua
    • 3/26/10

    Faithful screen version of the Broadway musical. Fred Astaire is perfect as Finian. Here his character gets to sing and dance more so than the role allowed on stage. Petula Clark and Don Francks have beautiful voices to sing the charming Burton Lane score which includes "Look to the Rainbow"and "Old Devil Moon". Keenan Wynn supplies the comedy. Francis Ford Coppola's direction is breezy and bright and the film doesn't have the over produced feeling of many other 60's musicals. Tommy Steele over does it at times and the film is pure fantasy but highly entertaining.

  • No Blarney--ya gotta give this a Kiss!

    • Linda
    • 3/11/10

    Charming comedy/musical with several delightful subplots (rich vs poor, boy vs girl, Old South traditions vs prejudice, dreamers & schemers, fairies vs mortals). Combines Black History Month with St. Patrick's Day mischief and a superb cast with marvelous songs, dance and humor. Fred Astaire still great as ever.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.