skip navigation
Harvey

Harvey(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Harvey A wealthy eccentric prefers... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Delightful Film - James Stewart's Best Performance

    • Judy
    • 3/2/14

    A simply delightful film - I think Mr. Stewart's best performance, and Ms. Josephine Hull is just adorable as the aunt. I couldn't stop laughing - from beginning to end. Too bad it wasn't shown during 31 days of Oscar as it deserves repeated airings.

  • Harvey

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/6/13

    A lighthearted adaptation of the Broadway play. Stewart earned a Best Actor nomination for one of his best performances as a drinker whose companion is an invisible, 6' tall Rabbit, Hull won an Oscar as his sister who tries to put him in a mental hospital. Always funny & sweet without overdoing it on sentimentality. A good comedy that's a must for fans of Stewart. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Harvey is One of My Favorites

    • Tina
    • 4/29/12

    The movie HARVEY is one of my favorites. It brings back the days of innocence and honesty.There are so many memorable quotes that I love in this movie. This is a must see for all fans of old movies.

  • Harvey (1950)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 9/4/11

    While there is probably no other actor who could have - or should have - played the role of Elwood P. Dowd, I don't find the movie itself to be all that good or full of any positive sentiment. In fact, there is a streak of negativity and even nastiness to it. From the cruel and lecherous antics of the sanitarium attendant, to the worthless bar hopping of a man with an imaginary drinking buddy, there aren't any characters one can care about. At first glance, the theme of a person who has lost touch with reality being allowed to live as he pleases, so long as he is happy and harmless, might seem a good one. But ultimately it fails on that level, too, when "Harvey" is taken from the metaphorical representation of freedom of individuality to that of a real entity who can clearly open doors and gates open by himself.

  • Hare raising fun

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 7/1/10

    It's a cute film...seems more suited to television by 2010 standards...certainly not a Cinerama epic. The play's dialogue can get overwhelming and it's best when see those moments of Jimmy walking around and interacting with the scenery. Or when we see Josephine Hull's reactions. But I really did like Jesse White's work in this one...he nearly steals the show, especially in the barroom scene. The chemistry between Jimmy Stewart and Charles Drake has a sexual quality to it, and that can either add to the picture or detract from it.

  • Harvey (1950)

    • Jay
    • 6/16/09

    Jimmy Stewart has made so many memorable films, add "Harvey" to that long list. This one is among his best, and he is perfectly suited to the role. A classic in every sense of the word. It has a good moral, wonderful performances, and it never fails to entertain. Funny and moving. Well directed and written.

  • GENTLE SPIRIT - PLEASURE TO WATCH

    • Jordan
    • 5/17/09

    Jimmy Stewart was absolutely perfect for the role of Elwood P. Dowd, friend to all, especially Harvey the very tall rabbit. He is so gentle and thoughtful, always letting everybody else pass through doorways first and presenting an extra kind touch with Harvey. He does such a great job that every part of this movie is believable, never feeling like you are involved in some farce. Recommended viewing for one and all!

  • Harvey one of my favorite movies

    • Angie Patton
    • 10/30/08

    I watched this movie for the first time a couple of months ago. I was enthralled by it. Jimmy Stewart's character was amazing-and even how he acted with an invisible rabbit was amazing. I just love watching the older movies.The movies today don't even compare to the movies that were produced back then. This is definately one of my favorites.angie

  • HARVEY--I LOVED IT!

    • julia
    • 10/15/08

    I'm watching it now for the very 1st time. While I love Jimmy Stewart, I always thought how I could hardly be interested in this film about an invisible white 6' ft rabbit. Well, I laughed so hard my belly aches. I've been in the floor for the entire movie. And the actress who played Jimmy Stewart's aunt was simply wonderful. She certainly deserved the academy award for her performance. I will certainly watch it again when it comes on next week(October 25th). If there's anyone out there who hasn't seen it, don't miss it. Thanks, TCM.

  • Please help me find VHS

    • donna white
    • 3/20/08

    Hello friends, please help me find Harvey, arsenic and old lace, Long long trailer, etc on vhs. I would like to do something nice for an old friend, a very very old friend.(90) Dvd doesn't work for him. donnamarieusa@msn.com 6p.3/20/08

  • If you want a lift.

    • Likimsa
    • 2/29/08

    I watch it when ever I know it is on. It is one of few movies I own, and will watch over and over agian. If you have not seen it. Please watch it.

  • If you want to be happy

    • Allan
    • 1/24/08

    Elwood looked at life the way he wanted it to be, pleasant, full of friends and love for everyone. His attitude toward life was his salvation. I forgot what a wonderful story this is and what a great actor Jimmy Stewart was.I can't wait to see it again.

  • My favorite Jimmy Stewart movie

    • JBL
    • 1/23/08

    Harvey is the movie I play when I need to be cheered up - it invariably brightens my mood, and brings a smile to my face. James Stewart is my favorite actor, and while I love many of his movies, this stands out as my favorite. It is just a simple, sweet, funny movie, played by a wonderful actor who is capable of playing any part, but just seems at home in this role. And from what I have read, it was one of his favorite roles, as well.Recommended highly.

  • Great Movie

    • Patty
    • 8/6/07

    This was such a great movie. James Stewart is wonderful and believable.Gotta see this flick...really funny and poignant.....Luved it.

  • Wonderful film!

    • Elisa
    • 5/7/07

    This is the kind of movie that just makes you feel good about life."...well for years I was smart, I recommend pleasant, you may quote me."

  • This is Still One Of My Favorite Movies

    • Elleen Chapman
    • 2/17/07

    I just watched this movie again. I could watch it over and over. I just love this movie...It never gets old...and is just as funny and hilarious as the first time I watched it. That's why I always have TCM to remind me when it is coming on and I always have a bag of popcorn and friends over to watch it with me. They love it too! This movie has an awesome cast with great performances. It's definitly a classic for all generations to see and enjoy this movie. It's just a fun and clean comedy...and my favorite movie. Jimmy Stewart is the greatest!!!

  • Classic Jimmy Stewart

    • Lynn Gregory
    • 2/14/07

    I can watch this movie over & over.The entire cast is great.Vita's confession that (Some times I see that rabbit too!) & he's every bit as big as Ellwood says he is,Is hilarious.

  • Harvey

    • M
    • 2/7/07

    I simply ADORE this movie. It is a wonderful, light-hearted movie that is just plain likable.

  • A Charming Film

    • Diane Davis
    • 12/17/06

    The film was excellent I am glad that I finally took the time to watch it.

  • My all time favorite movie!

    • Joseph Warfield
    • 11/21/06

    This is my all time favorite movie! Most of my co-workers have never heard of it. When I explain the plot they ask me to let them know when it airs on tcm so they can watch it.

  • One oo the best comedies around.

    • Elleen
    • 10/15/06

    I love this movie with Jimmy Stewart. This is, by far, my favorite comedy. I think Jimmy Stewart performance in this movie is excellent. I highly recommend this movie for every one to see.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.