skip navigation
The Far Country

The Far Country(1955)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Far Country Two cowboys on the road to... MORE > $7.46 Regularly $9.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • response to previous review

    • kevin sellers
    • 5/11/17

    As I got closer and closer to the end of Jeff's review I was saying to myself, "Is it possible that for once this right wing homophobe will actually stick to the film under discussion and not come out with a comment that is, well, right wing and homophobic? I grew more and more hopeful, in fact I was actually rooting for the big goof...and then came the typically lame anti SF comment in the very last line. Oh well. Cultural Tourettes is a tough disease to lick. Better luck next time, Jeff.

  • Every time a bell rings an angel gets his wings

    • Jeff Boston
    • 5/9/17

    Like the Bogart characters of the forties, Stewart's character gradually comes around, as we knew he would, with help from those whom care about him, like his sidekick ("You're wrong, Jeff") and Freckle Face ("You've got to help people when they need help"). Plenty of realistic beards in this film, during a decade when even the most dastardly of Wild West devils were almost always portrayed by constantly clean shaven actors. You even have bear stew at the Hash House and homage paid to Jonas Sockels Assayer, but the best part of the film was when Stewart's real man character was asked if he liked San Francisco. His reply: "No."

  • far country

    • kevin sellers
    • 1/8/17

    Like many films where the scenery is the star the story is underwhelming (basically a variation on the shopworn "You Can Push A Man Only So Far Until He Fights Back!" scenario) as well as being utterly predictable. Let's just say that at no point in this movie's hour and forty minutes was I even a little worried that Stewart would not shed his dark, selfish Ruth Roman side for the good, perky, spunky, adorable leetle Fransh girl, Corinne Calvet. And if the foregoing description sounds like I agree with previous reviewer Denscul that Calvet's character is like nails on a chalkboard then so be it. (Denscul and I usually have polar opposite takes on actors and films, but not this time.) However, Anthony Mann is one of the better action directors that ever graced Tinseltown and Borden Chase's screenplay is properly laconic, as befits the Western genre, (although, like most western scenarists, he does guys a helluva lot better than gals) and is Jimmy Stewart ever anything less than compelling on screen? So for those reasons, as well as John Mc Intyre's suavely evil take on the Alaskan Roy Bean, let's give this film a generous B. P.S. Does it tick you off as much as it does me to see great character actors like Harry Morgan and Jack Elam woefully under utilized?

  • Worthwhile watching

    • Gibbs
    • 3/11/14

    Enjoyable movie to watch. Stewart plays a character I didn't expect. In fact, certain actions of his in the movie were out of character from other movies he starred in. Brennan is good as always.

  • A good Alaskan Frontier Western

    • Chuck
    • 12/27/13

    A good story, good acting and wonderful cinematography. Jimmy Stewart in the mist of changing his screen personna with Anthony Mann's direction.

  • A So-so Western

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 6/6/13

    I like James Stewart, but not so much in this western. He didn't seem to embody the Jeff Webster character. I didn't believe Stewart when he said he didn't like people. When he hesitated in helping the avalanche victims, I actually saw him riding to them as soon as the snow began rumbling. McIntire was great as Gannon and Roman was a good Ronda Castle. Of course Walter Brennan was the too-talkie Ben Tatum perfectly. The character, Renee Vallon, was extremely annoying. So, if that was supposed to be her M.O., Calvet played her well.

  • Waste of talent, scenery

    • den scul
    • 6/5/13

    Talent great, thought Corrine Calvert was cute but "what's a nice girl like you doing in a Yukon mining came?" Considering Jimmy Stewart and sidekick Walter Brennan were about same actual age, Jimmy was getting a little too old to play this part . The best actor was James McIntyre, one of those evil, but you can't help but liking until the last five minutes. And where did the writers get the idea that gold miners talked about "striking it rich?" They waited until they got to San Francisco. Even those who didn't find gold, didn't want to let someone know they might be carrying dust. The Yukon gold rush had something in common with all strikes. It was a dog eats dog existence where friendships were few and far between. And it was one of the few Western era films that were accurate as for carrying a Winchester or Colt. That was the only protection available. Again, why would anyone brag about their strikes?

  • Amazing Western

    • anne
    • 4/17/07

    Great performance by Jimmy Stewart on a beautiful Canadian location.

  • Location

    • .
    • 4/17/07

    The exteriors for this movie were actually shot in Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada (NOT Alaska). The shots are stunning and the cast reportedly suffered from the cold on the location shoot. The exerior shots are one of the elements elevate this movie from a run-of-the-mill Western to a believable and involving storyline.

  • Beautiful Western.

    • dlonz
    • 9/10/06

    Far Country is a beautiful western shot on location in Alaska. Jimmy Stewart gives yet another great performance, alongside the great Walter Brennan. This has everything you would want in a western, with the added bonus of breath taking Alaskan scenery.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.