skip navigation
The Misfits

The Misfits(1961)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Misfits A sensitive divorcee gets mixed up with modern cowboys... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Misfits (1961)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 11/1/14

    Strange, hard to watch, and depressing film.

  • Great performances all around!

    • Cindy white
    • 7/9/14

    Provocative script, almost as provocative as Monroe's performance! And Gable's was probably his best performance. Miller once said he wrote the script only with Monroe in mind....so the words Gable speaks to Monroe are directly want Miller thought of his soon to be ex wife. Especially when Gable's character tells Monroe's character that she is the saddest girl he's ever seen. And in real life Miller certainly provided Monroe with her well earned sorrow by cheating on her plenty times. Of course one only reads about Monroe's affair but this was only after she learned about Miller's! Funny how sexism still prevades Monroe after all these decades. You rarely read about how Miller would verbally abuse Monroe throughtout their marriage.....ANYWAY it's a great movie that was way ahead of its time with insightful dialog that doesn't get carried away.....just deep enough to show real human conditions.

  • Sad That It's Last Movie For Gable,Marilyn

    • Dougiebisright
    • 6/15/14

    Arthur Miller prob pocketed a real fortune for his miserable treatment of MM.Maybe it wasn't that way,but I hate that sleaze.Sad seeing the big 3:Clark,MM and Monty with so little time left in their lifetimes.Best actors are Wallach and Thelma.The MM "murderers" scene grated on my nerves,but was effective,esp as DougieB noted the coming Counterculture movement,I never thought of that.A truly tragic movie set.Gable looked quite old and pooped to my estimation.Let himself get fat,smoked too much and drank.But MM and Monty were so much younger and more tragic are their losses,to me.Gable at least had a long career,acclaim for his acting,lost Lombard,and if you ask me,himself along the way,but he remarried,had a family nd much fame.MM,well,she was so fragile,too much so to deal with the sleazes of H'weird.Monty,what a tortured soul,maybe he would/ve been left alone to be himself by today's standards.His face looked like it was almost as battered in this film as after his car accident that changed him forever.

  • The Misfits

    • Goetan
    • 4/13/14

    Hard to believe this was Gable's final film, more harder to think of it as Monroe's final film too. She's a tender divorcee who joins Gable, with Clift and Wallach, at a rodeo and later roping horses. Huston's direction and Miller's character-study deconstructs the mythos of the West and confronts the American Dream, resulting in an occasionally- clunky story. A haunting, solid film. I give it a 4/5.

  • Superb Acting but Hard to Watch

    • Deborah
    • 4/13/14

    It had been years since I watched this film so I watched it again recently. Maybe now that I am older, I much more appreciate the quality of the film and the superb acting. As a lifelong fan of Clark Gable, this was by far one of his best performances, if not his best. Monroe and Monty Cliff also delivered strong performances. So much has been written about the making of this movie - difficulty with Monroe because of what was going on in her personal life, among other difficulties. Take the time to see this film. It is sad because it was both Gable's and Monroe's last film (and it deals with the killing of animals), but you will see some of the best acting by these performers in their careers.

  • Misfits, Underappreciated

    • carlos zapata
    • 1/30/13

    Beautifully written, acted, and directed. Gable, Wallach, and Clift give perfect performances in a movie in which people say really significant things to each other throughout. The writing is a high point though it has been denigrated and inexplicably overlooked. That makes no sense as Miller has crafted a lyrical yet earthbound, wonderfully American script, a revelation of what Americans were thinking in the cold war, seen through the cowboys lense, which the actors must have literally drooled at the opportunities. Ritter is great incidentally as she and Wallach unselfishly feed the main three--Monroe, Gable, and Clift. Monroe whether pruposley or not is perfect as a simplistic critic of the modern world; her idealism is so obviously born of her own suffering which Monroie is able to get in touich with because it so much mirrors her own early life. She is feeling sorry for herself as she condemns the needless destruction of a few ferral horses. She recognizes and the men come to recognize that the horses are only themselves. Monroe and Gable get together at the end but you know it won't last--they are both too wounded and like their liquor way too much to have a chance. It is Gable's best perfromance by far. The scence where he imagines seeing his kids and wails out his suffering as he slides down off the car's hood is unique and truthful and something Gable could not have done earlier. It is clear he acted with the knowledge that his own death was coming on. Infact, it may cliche`but they all are playing themselves and they know it--and that makes it great. With the On the Waterfront, Place in the Sun, The Searchers, and Sunset Boulevard one of the great movies of the fiftees.

  • Marilyn as tree-hugger.

    • DougieB
    • 11/23/12

    There's a mesmerizing scene of Marilyn dancing tipsily in the moonlight and coming to rest by embracing a tree. The image captures the spirit of the character and may even offer an insight into why the movie was met initially with such incomprehension and indifference. What Arthur Miller seems to have been attuned to, to which audiences and critics may not have been, was the beginnings of the cultural shift which was to define the coming decade of the 1960's and the emergence of a "counterculture" founded on many of the ideas and attitudes by which Miller defined the character of Roslyn. Roslyn's instinctive process of self-discovery leads her "back to nature", yet her naivete leaves her open to being wounded by what she discovers, that nature can be harsh and unforgiving, so that Miller actually forshadows the dilemma of the counterculture itself, and its eventual collapse. Miller understood that he was writing a "new" western, yet the audience's collective expectations may have proved to be too much of a barrier to his message getting across. My sense from reading the postings here is that fans of this film are frustrated that it doesn't seem to have its rightful stature, but I think we're all finding out that time is this movie's friend. Now, out of the context of the time of its creation, it no longer seems as anarchic as it might once have, so Miller's questions about what makes a human being and how human beings must make their lives can now resonate more fully. My favorite scene is when Roslyn and Gay are planting a garden and Roslyn looks at a seed and wonders how it knows it's supposed to be a lettuce. A simple question, yet pointed and profound, and a question that's at the very heart of this timeless film.

  • The Misfits

    • annstj
    • 8/4/12

    Poignant, a must see just to watch the three screen leading legends actors, Marilyn, Clark and Montgomery. A double must see for the performances of two supporting actor legends, Thelma Ritter and Eli Wallach. It's doubly moving for the Arthur Miller script, I get it now that I've read and watched My Week With Marilyn by Colin Clark.

  • fascinating film

    • george snedker
    • 7/19/12

    the final swan song of the two great icon's gable and monroe a fascinating film which gets better as the years pass. a masterpiece.

  • The Misfits

    • mark murphy
    • 4/26/12

    I am embarrassed to say it was the first time I saw the film, and it blew me away. I thought it was a great match up of stars,, and the directing was fantastic.

  • Caution! handle with care

    • ted baer
    • 4/26/12

    This film is almost too powerful (read: painful) to watch. Monroe and Clift were two of the most appealing, but vulnerable humans to step in front of cameras. Gable -- a less demon-pursued human being -- was close to death and somehow shows it in this film. Finally, the ostensible topic of pursuing gloriously free mustangs only to send them to glue factories seethes with man's inhumanity to man (and beasts). The whole film is soaked in sadness except the moments when it is more sharply painful. My oh my, these people suffer. They want so much from each other and each has so little left to give. I can scarcely watch this film; instead I pass by and sneak small glimpses of riveting characters and the humans who play them. If memory serves, this film is totally devoid of humor (despite Monroe and Thelma Ritter) or charm (despite Gable and Clift.)

  • MM Soul

    • Rob
    • 4/12/12

    For me it was a sad movie to watch as I hate cruelty of animals, but aside from that fact, this movie was not given the respect it should have gotten. You fall in love with MM's soul in this movie. I loved the interaction of Montgomery Cliff with Marilyn Monroe.

  • one of the best

    • meg
    • 11/16/11

    If I was on a deserted island and could take one movie, this would be the one. There are so many different levels. One of my favorite facts is that Marilyn was married to Arthur at the time. He took her real life backround and brilliantly captured her complicated yet beautiful soul with poetry. Every line is a keeper.

  • A wonderful character study

    • Pamela
    • 9/9/11

    I've seen this gem of a movie at least 10 times now and come away with something different with every viewing. Montgomery Clift and Clark Gable are sheer magic in their portrayals of cowboys. Marilyn is poignant and fragile, but this role. supposedly written as a "gift" seems much more of a mockery and, in retrospect, rather demeaning. See it to see Monroe and Gable share the same screen. Holds up strong after over 40 years.

  • So much more than a movie..

    • tina
    • 8/4/11

    Incredible film but hard to watch at times because it mirrors so well what was going on in the stars lives. Do read up on it!;)

  • The word Great is overused but:

    • Mr. D
    • 7/18/11

    This movie is one of the Greats. If you wanted someone to watch 50 movies that gave them a knowledge & feel of the history of American cinema, this is on the list. This is a different Clark Gable than that in, say, It Happened One Night or Gone With The Wind, where his mission was to be the alpha male taming Claudette Colbert or Vivien Leigh. His character here has depth and layers; his acting was extraordinary. Marilyn Monroe gives us a peek into the maturing actress she was on the cusp of being - as is well known, this is her last movie, and it was Gable's last too. Arthur Miller's screenplay is a little "stagey" - after all, he was a playwright - but all the dialogue is meaningful & gives insight into character & motive; you don't dare miss a line. I last saw this movie in the mid 1970's - I had forgotten most of the plot, but what I remembered is how compelling it was. And still is - my highest recommendation: 5 stars.

  • interesting but....

    • N.A.Crawford
    • 7/16/11

    Tonight is the first time I'm watching this almost in its entirety. but my biggest thing is Why take MM along when you know she wasn't with the whole deal to begin with? leave her at the house!! these guys knew they had a job to do but she sat there and had these men appealing to her for approval and love. Man, leave her at the house. in the end, they go home with NO money, some saved horses, and pissed off Eli Wallach. interesting movie. and the way it ended on a dime, no The End, nothing, was eerie. It does have this aura of sadness around it too.

  • 5 stars*****

    • Kai
    • 7/15/11

    I love this movie. MM is yuMMy. Clark is the KING. Monty is fresh and moving. And what about Eli Wallach; he is superb! Estelle is essential and classic. Love this movie! Kai,

  • Powerful Contemporary Western

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/2/11

    "The Misfits" is an excellent drama set against the backdrop of the modern American west. All of the actors are perfectly suited to play their roles (Clark Gable, Marilyn Monroe, Eli Wallach and Montgomery Clift) as complicated people dealing with the tragedy and disillusionment in their lives. Thelma Ritter is also very good as Monroe's friend. John Huston's usual masterful job as director, Arthur Miller's very literate script, and Alex North's moody music score all add to the overall look and feel of "The Misfits". The scene toward the end where Gable's character is struggling with the wild horse is no doubt the most strenuous one he ever played, and probably contributed to his fatal heart attack (he died shortly after production ended and it was his last film). "The Misfits" was also Monroe's last complete film. She appeared in "Something's Gotta Give", with Dean Martin and Cyd Charisse and directed by George Cukor, but it was never completed (she died August 5, 1962 just after production began). It was essentially a variation on "My Favorite Wife" and "Move Over Darling", but it would have been interesting to see what kind of film "Something's Gotta Give" would have been had Monroe lived and it had been completed. Although by this time, she had psychological and substance abuse issues and her career was just about finished, so I don't guess it would have been very good after all.

  • Misfits Signals End of Eras

    • Keith Harman
    • 8/15/09

    This film is a masterpiece and signals the death of the Studio System, american innocence, the great stars of the 50s and 40s and the Old West. It is MM's finest performance outside her wonderful comedic work. The casting is superb. It is tragic that this film remains so underrated.

  • MM, Gable, Huston and Miller create a Masterpiece

    • David Atkins
    • 7/31/08

    Arthur Miller wrote the Screenplay for this great UA film. Marilyn Monroe was a 20th star but could do outside films and after her romp in "Some Like It Hot" she returned to 20th for George Cukor's lame "Lets Make Love"-which is most famous for MM's affair with Yves Montant-and then returned to UA for this great film.John Huston handles his cast: Gable, Monroe, Clift, Ritter, Wallach so well he allows them to reach inside and find things few others could. A maestro!MM's on set troubles, her flailing marriage, Gable's death, etc and coupled with the fact some critics were just not capable of seeing this film for its greatness meant this film failed on its initial distribution. Those who have seen the uncut film since realize what a truly fine film it is. Gable before his death saw a rough cut and pronounced it one of his very favorites. Marilyn Monroe with all the problems she had does not look her best in the film but somehow even that adds to the aura of her Character. A very fine film.

  • A Masterpiece

    • Pete
    • 3/5/08

    This is one of the great films of all time. The cast was not short of excellent, the location was wonderful and the writing is timeless. At was a sad story but in the end they made it. It should of got at least Oscar nominations for all the cast.

  • Allegorical classic that has aged beautifully.

    • Tim E.
    • 10/7/07

    Hard to believe the reviews and box office were barely tepid for "MISFITS". I think it's better than say, "HUD" not that I don't enjoy watching that film either. There's so much for the senses to absorb here, besides the steady, encroachment of the gloomy lives of these characters, you find that in the end, they are all survivors, (so to speak). Life = B&W by CHECKER BOARD SQUARE.

  • Beautiful poetic film!

    • Brando4ever
    • 8/13/07

    This is a beautiful film. Such a masterpiece. And I love that Clark, Monty and Marilyn were in this together!

  • The Misfits

    • Mike
    • 6/25/06

    Miller, Huston and cast explore the freedom and constraints of the moments where life and death are up close.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.