skip navigation
The Miracle Worker

The Miracle Worker(1962)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Miracle... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Exquisite masterpiece!

    • Christopher S. Mitchell
    • 5/27/13

    There are a handful of movies that a person can watch, over and over, again, from start to finish; The Miracle Worker is just such a movie! Anne Bancroft and Patty Duke were richly deserving of their Oscars, but consider what a triumph and an accomplishment it was for the 14-year-old Duke, who plays the part of Helen Keller, who was handicapped in sight, sound, spirit, speech, and mind, and pulls it off without a hitch! Anna Paquin, Shirley Temple, and Tatum O'Neal simply can't fill Patty Duke's shoes! Director Arthur Penn expertly crafts William Gibson's play to the big screen, and had also won a Tony for directing the stage version. Laurence Rosenthal's haunting and moving score milks the emotions, without overdoing it. There's much to learn from this rich piece of cinema, and great gain, on many levels! 5 out of 5 stars!

  • Amazing Film

    • Mike_tn
    • 2/11/13

    The Miracle Worker (1962) on DVD. So much better than what I expected. Thought it would be sort of sullen, it is not, it's very powerful, energetic and uplifting. One of the best films made not just for inspiration but also simply a great film in its characters and cinematic presentation. I wish it was available to buy but no major store online has it for sale. Thank God for the public library otherwise I would not have seen it at all. Five out of five stars.

  • The Miracle Worker

    • Dashiell B.
    • 1/29/13

    The enthralling, true story of Annie Sullivan's attempts to teach Helen Keller to communicate. Bancroft & Duke recreated their roles from the stage, both won Oscar's for their arresting performances. The story from Gibson is touching & moving, where selflessness fights against selfishness. A fine, uplifting drama. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • The Miracle Worker (1962)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 10/17/12

    Powerful, moving, inspiring drama.

  • A Classic

    • Robert
    • 9/9/12

    Annie Sullivan and Helen Keller come to life in this inspiring film that has it all....great acting, terrific direction, realistic scenery, and a haunting musical score. Don't miss it.

  • injustice

    • Pat Kamenicky
    • 10/7/11

    The Miracle Worker starring Anne Bancroft, did not get the accolades it truly deserved. It did win an oscar for ms. Bancroft ( one she greatly deserved ), but putting her in the movie the "graduate" was beneath her level in my estimation. She was one of the most gifted and talented actress ever to grace hollwood. The " graduate " received the recognition that should have gone to the " Miracle Worker ". No other actress could ever hope to measure up to ms. Bancroft's expertise. We should remember her for outstanding movies like " the Miracle Worker " instead of lesser movies such as the ' Graduate ". I believe that Ms. Bancroft would have been pleased if this had been the case.

  • Unbelievably Believable

    • Condie
    • 8/26/11

    Based on the acting alone of the two main characters, this ranks as one of my favorite movies. Anne Bancroft and Patty Duke were unbelievably believable in their respective roles. They were literally exhausted, not acting, following their fight scenes - and so was I. I am moved to tears each time Patty Duke, as Helen Keller, comes to the realization that all things have a name. Brilliant performance!

  • The Miracle Worker

    • Shelli A. Halper
    • 7/24/11

    no one should go without seeing this movie.Everything about this movie is glorious.The acting is brilliant and the story line will touch your heart no matter how many times you see it.A one of a kind gem.

  • The Miracle Worker (1962)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/30/09

    What a remarkable film. The performances are well deserved of their Oscars. Anne Bancroft and Patty Duke are absolutely amazing. Touching, moving, unforgettable. The direction is awesome, the writing sublime, a true classic that will always be a great film. Definitely a must see film.

  • A dream come true

    • lisa alves
    • 12/12/08

    I first saw this movie, this past summer.i insently fell in love with it.anne bancroft is amazing.patty duke is phenominal and adorable.the whole story is great.i write this review because i have just made the cast of THE MIRACLE WORK at my school as helen keller.i am sooo thrilled to be playing this real character.this story has touched my heart so deeply

  • GREAT STORY TELLING AND ACTING

    • Robin G
    • 3/19/08

    I always watch this film when it comes on TCM. I am choosing this film for our grandparent's group for Women's History Month.The film speaks volumes on how parents react to having a child with a disability and how their choices were just to place them in an asylum.We have hundreds of choices now, but parents are sometimes in denial and fearful of the support and resources available due to the stigma associated with disabilities.As we are told in schools today, Special Education is a Service, not a Place.

  • A Great Movie.

    • Smith
    • 5/25/07

    It wonderful. Iv'e watched this about three times and loved it. If you haven't seen it yet, you need to.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.