skip navigation
Paths of Glory

Paths of Glory(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Paths of Glory A military lawyer comes to... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not Kubrick's best film

    • Bill Harrison
    • 9/16/14

    Ostensibly an anti-war film, this early effort from Kubrick gains more traction as an anti-French vehicle. Kirk Douglas turns in an excellent performance as the beleaguered Colonel Dax, while George Macready and Adolphe Menjou are solid in less attractive roles. The real surprise in this movie is Ralph Meeker as Corporal Paris. I had previously only seen Meeker as Mike Hammer in Kiss Me Deadly and in a relatively small role in The Dirty Dozen. But Meeker gives possibly his best performance in this film.

  • Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel

    • Minky
    • 7/11/14

    Kirk Douglas is a far, far left in thought. His films, Spartacus, Seven Days In May and of course Paths Of Glory. causes me to avoid watching anything to do with him. This film will keep your interest but it's the motivation behind this film that keeps me from liking it. The line "Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel" sums up the political message of this film.

  • Tough, powerful, all hands on deck!

    • Graham Thomas
    • 7/4/14

    Brilliant in every way. One of the best films you'll ever see.

  • Must See Film

    • filmfan
    • 5/18/14

    Best. War. Movie. Ever. The girl singing at the end married the director (Kubrick).

  • Powerful and timeless!

    • Dan Grissom
    • 8/31/13

    I just caught the ending of this movie again yesterday...I'd seen a couple of times before...and I watched the reaction of someone who had never seen it before. I had forgotten just how powerful of an impact this great film has on a first viewing. The person watching it with me was in shock at the images and story. This film is a five star film if there ever was one. It still packs a wallop today and that's after everyone probably saw 'Saving Private Ryan' which is very similar to me in its message. The question is 'what is the message?' Some say 'anti-war movie', some say that's not the message. I think we can all agree whatever the message this is a great movie and is timeless. It requires at least one viewing from any student of the cinema.

  • Paths of Glory

    • John
    • 8/4/13

    Overall-4 1/2 out of 5Lead performers-4/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-5/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of genre- 4 1/2 out of 5

  • great film paths of Glory

    • art kissel
    • 7/27/13

    Well done movie about the hypocrisy of leaders. They execute three soldiers for cowardice, but insist they die like brave men.

  • Brutal!

    • RedRain
    • 7/27/13

    I have only been able to sit through this film once. I have tried many times since but the film is much too graphic and realistic for me. That being said, it is NOT a "war film" in the usual since of that genre. It is perhaps the greatest anti-war film ever made and the author of the book upon which the film is based considered it his "sacred obligation" to show the horrors of war. Kubrick fulfilled that obligation and in spades! Kirk Douglas, as the jaded Colonel Dax who must lead his men on a suicide mission, is terrific in this film and I believe it is one of his very, very best performances.

  • One of the best Anti War Movies ever

    • Movie Guy
    • 7/22/13

    The First World War was one of incredible carnage and waste of human life. Men were killed by the millions based on orders from disconnected politicos and Sr. officers who were convinced that 19th century tactics would still work with 20th century weapons. This film exhibits the futility and waste of this war probably as well as or better than "All Quiet on the Western Front". The characeters played by Kirk Dougleas, Adolph Menjou aand George McCready were fascinating to watch and captured the attitude and spirit of the time. No punches are pulled and fine performances were also given by Ralph Meeker and Ben Fried. Nobody can watch this and not understand the hopelessness of being a soldier in the French army during this time. Riveting stuff!

  • SECOND ONLY TO PATHS OF GLORY

    • ROGER DOTY
    • 3/21/13

    TO THE ENDS OF THE EARTH FROM 1948 STARRING DICK POWELL IS IN MY OPINIONTHE NEXT BEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME. BUT BE WARNED,SHOULD YOU TAKE A BATHROOMBREAK DURING THIS MOVIE, YOU WILL BE TOTALLY LOST. DO NOT MISS ONE MINUTEOF THIS MOVIE !!

  • Excellent, excellent film

    • ggtx785
    • 2/18/13

    Another excellent Kirk Douglas performance, arguably among his finest. I think Douglas is best at playing these nuanced underdogs and reluctant heroes/anti-heroes. In response to a previous reviewer, as a veteran myself, it's important to depict wars for what they are--complex, brutal, inspiring, unglamorous--and what they mean to different peoples, places, and times, whether we agree with these perspectives or not. This is an important film precisely because it tells a compelling story about the immorality and ambiguity that is often present in the conflict between the value of the mission vs. its men. By the time Susanne Christian leads the men in the pub while she's singing her song, you'll be in tears, because you do realize that a dear price has been paid for the opportunity to live just one more day (to sing that song).

  • Paths of Glory

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/22/12

    It's a shame that this powerful anti-war film didn't win any major awards. Based on actual events, the film tells the story of three men who are to be shot by a firing squad for cowardice, ironic since in a way they become the bravest men on screen. Douglas gives an Oscar-worthy performance, excellent work from Menjou & Macready as two ruthless general's & Meeker as one of the doomed men. Director & screenwriter Kubrick captures the horrors of WWI with it's tracking shots through the trenches & well-written story. A moving, melancholic film. I give it a 5/5.

  • Stark and brutal

    • Steve
    • 9/21/12

    This movies is very stark...vivid...punctual. Terse and brisk. I think it's a must see for both war movie fans and movie fans alike. However...I do not get the anti-war comments. These people are talking about WWI and II, and our civil war...and ALL war? This complete anti-war sentiment is insane. As...where would we be without a our American Civil War? The bloodshed was immense...the pain unendurable. But it HAD to be done. For whatever motivation...it ended slavery and kept a great nation united. WWII? You know it was horrendous and bloody. But we (USA) had to do it. We not only kept so many Peoples and nations free...but kept our own nation free to pursue it's own course. And you have the NERVE to denigrate it? To discount it? To say it's was unnecessary? So you live in a fantasy world...the rest of this Earth does not. I, for one, will defend myself, my family and my way of life by whatever means necessary. You can be cowardly enslaved cattle if you so choose...it does make you a better person...sorry. It does not.

  • A POWERFUL ANTI-WAR FILM!

    • Andy Alburger
    • 1/8/12

    Paths of Glory truly is one of the greatest anti-war movies ever made. I was enthralled with the brilliant story, carried out by a great script. I was engaged with Kirk Douglas' excellent performance. And ultimately, I was strongly captivated by Stanley Kubrick's incredible directing. Shooting a war film is extremely hard, but with the amazing sets and terrific shots, cinematography and performances from the cast, Kubrick made it look so real and easy to make. With great movement and excellent setups, Kubrick shot this powerful anti-war film to the best of his ability, while getting a superb performance from the leader Kirk Douglas. Where the film has cons, a realistic performance or a great camera moment will save it. Not to mention the brilliant script, which is true to its unbelievably touching and sad story, and daring indeed. The films sound-effects, chizzled cinematography and lighting, and realistic performances make you believe you're watching a real World War 1 documentary. All in all, Paths of Glory is another one of Kubrick's many masterpieces (other include the underrated The Killing, The Shining , Dr.Strangelove and 2001: A Space Odyssey) and the film is perhaps the greatest anti-war movies ever made!

  • Depicts the Insanity Of War...(1958)

    • nshepard
    • 9/21/11

    For anyone who thinks WAR is glorious needs this primer also (Full Metal Jacket) as a ground and grim reminder of the insane thinking associated with it. Kirk Douglas is brilliant as of the voice of reason, the lawyer who represents the 3 soldiers falsely accused of abadonment. Kubrick is at the top of his game with his directorial style. Humphrey Cobb's novel comes alive in this stark realization, of war, there are no winners...just survivors...5 stars out of 5 ,could be the greatest film of all time. Subject matter is a downer, only if the reader doesn't learn the ultimate lesson...

  • THIS IS NOT THE GREATEST ANTI WAR MOVIE

    • ROGER DOTY 9/20/2011
    • 9/20/11

    NOT THE GREATEST ANTI WAR MOVIE----BECAUSE IT IS THEGREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME !!!!!!

  • Maybe too realistic...

    • Dan Grissom
    • 12/13/10

    Every time I try to tell someone about this great film they just stare at me and say 'I never saw that one but it sounds pretty good'; pretty good is a massive understatement! This film is so riveting it's hard to describe the way Kubrick draws you into the story. The enemy is never shown, which I think is a master stroke of genius because beginning with the First World War that was often the case in war. The damaging of the souls of the men who fought in the war is portrayed with eerie realism; sometimes those that survive the horrors of war are worse off than those who are killed. A must-see film and maybe the best anti-war film ever made...five stars!

  • Anti-War Masterpiece

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 12/11/08

    The only "glory" in this movies is enjoyed by the Generals. The foot soldiers are treated (literaly) like cannon fodder. This is one of Director Kubrick's triumverate of great films ("Dr. Strangelove" and "Lolita" being the other two). The rest of his work (though all valiant attempts) do not compare to these three. Paths of Glory has to rank as one of the greatest ant-war films of all time; possibly films of all time. As an aside: Wayne Morris as a cowardly, drunken officer gives a standout performance in a minor role. This is a true masterpiece.

  • Question

    • Pete Shearer
    • 5/27/08

    An excellent movie. Very deep. I had heard stories from an Uncle who served in France during that war. Acting was very good. Menjou, Macready and Douglas were all super. However, at the very end, Susanne Christian stole the show when she sang " Soldier Boy ". The German language was never better spoken, or sung, that it was then. I would like to have a recording of her singing that , if such is available. If anyone knows of such, please let me know. It really brings a tear to the eye.Regards,Pete Shearertwoannabel@aol.com

  • Fantastic

    • Josh Oakley
    • 5/24/08

    I am young and have much to see as far as "great films". This is a great way for me to start my journey as it is brilliant. This is my first Kubrick film, but it won't be my last. The direction is incredible; the shots are tense and angry. Douglas is my new favorite actor as he shines in this film. The writing and acting are magnificent, and it is truely a classic.

  • Excellent-Powerful Film

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/28/08

    To me this THE best anti-war film ever. It is even better than "All Quiet On The Western Front". It doesn't hold back in it's depiction of the horrors of warfare and the dehumanizing effect on the soldiers who are fighting it. It also shows the futility and insanity of ordering men into a impossible situation that can only result in death, and also shows the Generals who receive all of the glory while the soldiers are the ones whose only reward is injury and death. Although "Paths Of Glory" is set during WWI, it is just as relevant today.

  • A Great Film

    • jerry
    • 1/6/08

    Actually it is probably one of the best ANTI-war films ever made!

  • One of the top 100 best

    • Zach
    • 3/6/06

    One of the best war movies I have ever seen.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.