skip navigation
Little Big Man

Little Big Man(1970)

  • Thursday, March 12 @ 05:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Little Big Man An American pioneer raised by... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Little Big Man: Top Ten

    • Gordon
    • 2/5/14

    Little Big Man ranks as one of the best movies ever made. I studied this novel in English Lit. class and remain fascinated with this brilliant work of collaborative genius. Calder Willingham, a Georgian, did excellent work adapting Thomas Berger's hilarious book into a screenplay which renders every emotion of humanity in profound, vivid color and builds a pantheon of rich characters too numerous to imagine or remember on a single watching of this great film. (Consider the "Poor pawnee" whom Jack Crabbe kills to earn his Indian name. Only briefly on screen, but forever in memory.)So many great lines:"God bless George Washington!" Jack Crabbe"Your travail is over, enfolded now as you are, in arms of Christian love. Purity is it's own reward." Ms. Pendrake"There is no moral order in the universe, my boy. Those stars twinkle in a void, my boy.... All in vain, all in vain!" Mr. MeriweatherDeception was his life's blood, even though it caused him to get whittled down a bit" Jack Crabbe"I'll never forget the day I set eyes on General George Armstrong Custer" Jack Crabbe"My good woman you have nothing to fear from Indians, I give you my personal guarantee." Gen Custer"It is a good day to die" Old Lodgeskins"Life contains a particle of risk. I'm not licked, I'm tarred and feathered, thats all." Mr. Meriweather"Go snake eyes!" Caroline"That's shootin" Wild Bill HickockJack travels through several stages of life experience, always falling farther from moral purity while gaining in wisdom: Religion period, shopkeeper, gunfighter, hermit, muleskinner. Almost everything said by whites to him are lies, promises unkept, frontier fables and dreams of American expansion. Only the Sioux have noble qualities. Little Big Man is very much a movie of its time--the counterculture era of "new Hollywood"--but prescient in its predictions of political mendacity and mistrust of authority, which have been fulfilled in the forty years since its creation.

  • Great acting all around

    • Rich
    • 2/5/14

    Richard mulligan has my vote for one of the greatest supporting role acting jobs ever. Little Big Man may be Hoffman's star vehicle, but as good as he is, Mulligan steals the film. His portrayal as Custer is absolutely over the top, but nonetheless, riveting and mesmerizing. Add to this the also memorable turn by Martin Balsam as a swindling snake oil salesman. It is interesting how both of these actors in a sprawling western epic were born and raised in the Bronx, NY!

  • Love This Movie

    • E. Smith
    • 4/13/13

    This make my second time watching this movie, The first time was awesome so I had to catch it again today though it was about half way through when I notice it was on. Love that voice that is narrated into this movie. There's nothing quite like a good Western Movie and this is one that always get a thumbs up here.

  • Little Big Man

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/13/13

    This was my first time watching this movie. At first I had trouble with Hoffman among the Native Americans. It just seemed silly. But, once the story went to the saloon with Wild Bill, then I finally got it. It was funny. And I really enjoyed General Custer. I had no idea he was Dr. Henry Weston later in life.

  • Little Big Man

    • Dashiell B.
    • 3/17/13

    The funniest and most original made Western film yet. A white man raised by a Cheyenne tribe meets famous "heroes" and learns of the racist views of his natural born race. Hoffman is convincing as the title character, George should have won the Best Supporting Actor Oscar (No offence to Sir John Mills) and there's solid work from Balsam, Dunaway and Mulligan. Director Penn revisions the west by making us sympathize with the plight of the Native Americans, while referencing the Vietnam war that was happening at the time. Hilarious while also socially serious. I give it a 5/5.

  • Little Big Man

    • I_Fortuna
    • 3/17/13

    This film opened the eyes of many regarding Native Americans. I love this film and regardless of how historically accurate, it is still valuable as a mirror. I am not a die hard Hoffman fan but he has done a lot of movies I enjoy and he is really a good actor who puts his mind, body, heart and soul into a performance. For this film, I laughed, I cried, I reflected. I think it is a perfect film.

  • little truth about little big man

    • will
    • 3/4/13

    little big man, was native( cheyenne) he held crazy horse by the arms, while a soldier at fort robinson stabbed him (crazy horse) in the back . wild bill hit the floor dead ! no goodbye conversation. at the( battle) (massacre) of the washita, white prisoners , captives, were murdered by cheyenne warriors. even captain benteen, who hated custer as a person, reluctently acknowledged the mans courage, as a soldier. none of custers officers, benteen ,reno, weir calhoun or anyone else, sitting bull, crazy horse, gall are ever mentioned in this film. this is the most one sided, blatenly whitewashed film ive ever seen. at least,the film, they died with there boots on, though full of historical inacurasies tryed to tell , some truths. like political corruption in washington , brand new winchchester rifles and whiskey sold to them, to get the cheyenne warriors worked up.according to crazy horse,gall and sitting bull, custers men died bravely fighting to the last and - that-jack crabb - is a true historical fact .

  • little big man

    • Brad
    • 6/1/11

    it's as funny as it is good. I feel it was well written and acted. Before, growing up, I didn't see how important editing can be. In a good movie, the right editing makes a difference.

  • Little Big Mand

    • Robert
    • 4/3/10

    Hoffman is just a damn good actor, the whole cast is wonderful in this movie. It's one of my favorites, I could watch it over and over.

  • Revolutionary American Cinema

    • Kevin Brown
    • 3/1/10

    This is a movie I watch a couple of times a year, one of my first DVDs I ever bought. The story, characters, direction & everchanging moods of "Little Big Man" are brilliant. Everyone involved deserves accolades for their contributions, & this movie is a bit of an island of it's own in the history of movie making! As the 60's gave way to the 70's, there had not been many movies that ran such a wide gambit of genres in one package. This is a Western to be sure, one minute you may be laughing out loud & quickly saddened after sharing some moments of harmony & happiness. "Little Big Man", a timeless & unique story that's universally touching--"My heart soars like a hawk!"

  • Awesome!

    • Lisa
    • 5/28/08

    I've never seen this movie before. My best friend recommended I watch, and I'm not disappointed. Granted, it's not over, yet, but it just about is. Love the fact you show movies in widescreen. It allows the director's vision to come through.

  • great storytelling

    • mook
    • 2/15/08

    but as i watched this movie it occured to me-Forest Gump wasn't as an orignal piece of cinema as i previously thought.

  • Sqeezed Screen

    • Cliff Reed
    • 2/15/08

    It Ruins a Movie! Why do you do SUCH STUPID Things!

  • BIG Little Man

    • Lynette
    • 5/3/07

    What a GREAT movie! I was in the 6th grade when I read an old copy of the book - a year later, there was a re-release of the film, and I just about died from laughter (and cried, too). So many fabulous costars - absolutely in the top ten I'd take to a deserted island - a rare gem.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.