skip navigation
Le Mans

Le Mans(1971)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Le Mans During a deadly endurance... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Steve's Car Film

    • Graham Thomas
    • 3/13/14

    No dialog for the first 40 minutes, but compelling slice-of-life verite glimpses of leMans in 1970. Boring to non gear heads, catnip to classic car lovers. You had to read Car and Driver in the 60's. How can it be 45 years later Steve is still the essence of cool? There's just a little bit if Steve in many if us, grey or not. I just want to drive a Beautiful Machine.

  • Great story!

    • RedRain
    • 3/10/14

    I am SO pleased TCM decided to show this film and "Grand Prix" one after the other on the same night! These are two vastly different films about motor car racing and the differences in the films are striking. For the purity of the racing, look no farther than "Le Mans." You can almost smell the fuel and the oil and there is very little dialog. That film is about the racing but it doesn't hurt to have Steve McQueen as the star, particularly when you know he raced everything that had a wheel! "Grand Prix" is more into the background of the sport of motor racing and motor cars themselves, as well as the intertwined love stories of the drivers in the film. While both are good films, it depends on what you like. As I am into the purity of the racing and the cars themselves, I much prefer "Le Mans." If you prefer a love story to go along with your racing, then "Grand Prix" is more for you. Either film is a treat!

  • Superb!

    • RedRain
    • 7/15/13

    The second this film begins, you are enthralled by the sights and sounds of the best racing cars in the world. In fact, there is no dialogue until six minutes into the film itself and very little thereafter! It is the ultimate racing film and carrying the Porsche vs. Ferrari battle is no less than the ultimate movie star/actual racing fiend, Steve McQueen. Unfortunately for this film, the much more successful racing film "Grand Prix" was made five years earlier and, even with McQueen as the star of "Le Mans," it was not a box office success. If you are a racing fan or a motorcar fan, this is the one to see. Unlike "Grand Prix," this film is actually about the race and the competition between the racing car manufacturers, which is more realistic here than any other film has ever shown. A five star must-see!

  • Racing History Appreciation!

    • Doug Champion
    • 5/11/13

    Thank You TCM for showing this Movie! A True History Time Shot of Racing and Appreciate Every Time I watch it!

  • LE MANS (1971)

    • WILLIAM H ROBERTS
    • 2/4/11

    I COULD STOP AFTER SAYING "THIS IS TRULY THE GREATEST RACING FILM OF ALL TIME" BECAUSE WHAT STEVE MCQUEEN, THE CINEMATOGRAPHERS AND THE SCREENWRITERS, THE EDITORS AND PRODUCTION DESIGNERS AND THE DIRECTOR CREATED IS UNMATCHED IN THE WONDERFUL WORLD OF CINEMA! STOP - END OF THIS STORY, UNLESS YOU WANT TO GO FORWARD WITH ALL THE DELICIOUS DETAILS THAT YOU LOVED IN THIS MOVIE. AND A TIP OF THE HAT TO TCM FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO REVISIT THE CLASSICS OVER & OVER.

  • Thanks for showing LeMans

    • Ed
    • 1/9/10

    I am not a car racing fan but I completely loved this film. I loved the way it was shot and it's minimalist approach with dialogue. The car racing spoke for itself.

  • Best Racing Movie Ever Made

    • Jim T
    • 12/18/08

    I remember seeing this in the theatrein'71, and the visual impact of the racing footage was, and is, staggering. Modern audiences might be jaded because oftoday's in-car race cam coverage, but formy money this is still the finest racing movie ever made. The fact that Stevewrecks his car two years in a row anddoesn't win the race impresses me to no end, I mean, when was the last time you saw ANY racing movie where the "hero"comes in second? A brilliant stroke!A tale of loss and redemption at 200 mph.

  • Best Movie I've ever seen.

    • Jim
    • 10/26/08

    This is the best movie I have ever seen. From what I heard, actual Le Mans footage was used in the movie.My brother is a Rally Car Owner / Driver / Instuctor in USA. Through his racing "grapevine" my brother did get to meet the actual driver of the Porsche 911 that McQueen tries to avoid, when the Ferrari # 7 "was burning".I have been on a Pit-Crew in 1980 for the "24 Hours of Daytona / Rolex 24 at Daytona-USA". Just watching the movie today, 10.26.2008, I could "smell" the fuel, the tyres, etc.I loved the film's musicical score by Mssr. Le Grand.Very intense movie. It is a CLASSIC for all-time. Jim

  • must see auto racing movie

    • Bob G Smith
    • 5/4/07

    I have only paid to see a movie in a theater twice in my life the second time was the original Star Wars the first was Le Mans in 1971.If the plot is weak the images are overwhelming. Looking at the movie today is like taking a time travel trip into the golden age of sports car racing.McQueen's making of Le Mans took a tremendiuos personal toll for which every motorsports fan should be greatly indebted to him for.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.