skip navigation
The Green Pastures

The Green Pastures(1936)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Green Pastures God tests the human race in... MORE > $18.95 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Again, please!,

    • Alice
    • 6/9/16

    Would you please, please, show this film again, Soon? Looks great. Wonderful music! Not enough God-honoring films. Please make it soon. Thank you.

  • WE'S ALL RIGHT, LAWD!

    • Jatona Walker
    • 6/6/16

    I was attending Prairie View A & M University when I first heard that expression! My cousin was watching a movie and called me in tosee that particular part. I never knew the name of the film; but, I always remembered that line.Years later, when Iwas watching TCM, they showed a clip and it was that segment. I heard the line and said "That's it".When I found out it was on DD I ordered it immediately.I love everything about the film because it's black history and because of the old negro spirituals pepper throughout the film. I never miss a showing.

  • I love the music

    • Marilyn Steber
    • 1/18/16

    So what if this movie is as "dated" as I am; we were born the same year! The spirituals sung in the introduction are priceless. Some of them, we sang in choirs in Alabama when I was a teenager. "There's No Hiding Place" is an example of a jewel that isn't heard much these days, but I glory in the opportunity to hear it in The Green Pastures Whenever TCM plays the movie.

  • riveting movie of the 30s

    • anna
    • 8/12/15

    My first time to watch this movie, Green Pastures. I was riveted with its charming spirit. Done with Stephen Foster style language the plot-line was whimsically interesting. Sheer creativity tweaked the imagination to new considerations of Biblical accounts, accompanied with excellent A cappella choir singing segues of story line. I thoroughly enjoyed watching this timeless theme and the uncomplicated manner in which the movie was produced. I might add, Green Pastures was released just three years before my birth. If not mistaken, the actor playing Da Lawd also played Uncle Remus in Song of the South. Green Pastures -- A wonderful movie to watch with the children.

  • GREEN PASTURES

    • Bev
    • 8/11/15

    I first had the honor of watching Green Pastures with my grandmother 1 early morning we laugh so hard and I never saw again until recently Thank You Turner Classic Movies for giving me back the memory of watching this movie with my grandmother again.

  • The Power of Simplicity and Beauty

    • Elaine
    • 12/26/11

    This movie comforted and absolutly warmed my heart on Christmas morning. I wanted so much for my entire family to see it. It was aired to early for me to call and tell everyone about it. PLEASE show it again and let it be available for purchase. PLEASE!The choirs and songs were beautiful! A true demonstration of spiritual gifts in voice that are unique only to African Americans. I thought the actors were incredible! They portrayed their roles with honesty and talent. There was NOTHING about this movie that was degrading or racist to African Americans or the whites that produced it. A wonderfully told story of the ages prortrayed in childlike simplicity which was beautiful and entertaining. The African Americans jestures and speaking are mearly a reflection of times gone by - only memories now, but ones that are precious and comforting to me. I WOULD LOVE TO OWN THIS MOVIE TO SHARE WITH MY FAMILY - PLEASE RELEASE IT TO PURCHASE

  • The Green Pastures How I love that movie

    • Sharon Williams
    • 12/25/11

    I watch Green Pastures on Christmas Morning. I loved that movie so very much. Tried to record it, but my record button didn't work. I want to see it again soon, like now!

  • I Loved This Movie

    • Chelle Cook
    • 12/25/11

    I love to watch old movies which feature BLack actors and actresses.I had never seen this movie before this morning Christmas Morning when it came on.I came to this site too see if this movie was avaqilable for purchase---but it is not.It is so good to see these movies from back in the day-----and I watch them all when I can.I have PRIDE for these the first Black Actors of America !!

  • The Green Pastures

    • Rali
    • 1/24/11

    Me and my better half hadn't seen this movie since we were kids back in the 60's...Imagine our surprise!! We LOVED it! I remember my mother talking about it back then, and she loved it too! Now I want to see it again and will get the DVD...I thought it was very apropro for TCM to air it on MLK day, since he was a preacher too. Some people need to stop badmouthing this movie, and appreciate it for the underlying content instead..This is how movies were made during that time, so get over it...There weren't many opportunites for black actors back then - In fact, I'd like for TCM to air even MORE AA movies that were made back in the 30's and 40's like they used to...I love watching them...

  • Superb

    • Jerry
    • 1/21/11

    I throughly loved this movie. I will be adding this to my collection.I just loved this movie. I read someones review and he felt disrespected. He needs to get past it. This is how it was and it reflects the deep south back then. The story was excellent and how it worked around a Sunday school teacher and the children he was teaching. The casting was perfect and Rex did a fine job as Da Lawd as well as the other roles he played in this film.

  • the greeen pasture

    • JOHN REID
    • 1/17/11

    i found this film very disrespectful,and irresponsible to be aired on Martin Luther King's birthday.I felt it disrespected God,black people everywhere,the bible and the church.I cant believe people are actually saying this is great black perspective from that era,yea the black perspective told by a prejudice white society.What if Paul Robeson had directed this film.This film would not have had the same perspective.

  • It's very fine acting

    • Wanda Lowery
    • 11/28/10

    I have this movie. And it's very good. I watch it over and over. I love the recreation of the bible in the eyes of afro-american people in the 1930's.It is racial for it's time. But most people know that is how black people were portrayed back then. I still love this movie, and I will continue to watch it. Thank you.

  • THE GREEN PASTURES (1936)

    • Jay
    • 6/17/09

    Terrific all black fantasy film. Eddie Anderson, Rex Ingram and the rest of the cast are terrific. Unique and a very intriguing piece of history. Always interesting.

  • Green Pastures? - A Question of Perspective

    • Langston Trigg
    • 5/6/09

    As a middle classed college educated African-American in America in 2009, I am astonished at the success and popularity of "green Pastures". Even though I was born in 1947, I only recently saw this movie for the first time because my parents would not allow us to watch its television airing.The proliferation of racist stereotypes and demeaning, ignorant behavior is appalling and has unfortunately become part of the basis for the historical negative and inaccurate perceptions of African-American culture and people. It is even more surprising that a renowned white production crew (including Jack Warner, Hal Wallis, William Keighly, Marc Connelly, Sheridan Gibney, etc) could produce this embarrassing propaganda.Even still, I commend TCM for making it accessible for viewing. I only hope people will view it within its historical and cultural context, understanding its damage and disregard of a culture seemingly outside of the production crew's knowledge and familiarity.

  • A fine show!

    • MikenGina
    • 1/16/07

    We wish this one would come around more often than it does! It was great!

  • A Great Movie

    • LadyK
    • 1/15/07

    This movie was very entertaining...it was great to see what they were thinking back then. The acting is good.

  • A Great Intro to the Bible

    • Vicki
    • 1/15/07

    What a great way to briefly introduce the stories in the Bible to the young with special guidance of course. I couldn't leave the room for fear of missing something. Most entertaining, I never realized how many black actors there were in the thirties.

  • Wonderful

    • Linda
    • 1/15/07

    I just turned the tv on and this movie was on. What a great movie. I wish there were more like it. Thank you for airing it.

  • A Great movie with a message

    • Shannon
    • 1/15/07

    I just saw this movie for the first time and I must say it is a great film with a message. Made in a differant setting which would have been quite risky in its day. It has taken the story of the bible and told it in a way that all would be taken in by even the simplest man and woman. A great movie with a message!!

  • awesome

    • debora gray
    • 9/26/06

    i have taken many film courses at our local communtiy college and i truly wish this could have been added to our view list.the next voice you hear cabin in the sky and green pastures will be added to our bible class library.how can we find copies in the form of dvd or video

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.