skip navigation
The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly(1967)

Contribute

FOR The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (1967) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Good, the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Spanish version

    • Steve
    • 1/5/14

    Well looks like two versions of this feature: US modified and Foreign . I always knew it was filmed in Spain but the one TCM is showing must be the latter. Tuco washing his feet in the desert and very evident English dubbed in audio. Think I may stick with my DVD copy from now on.

  • Running time

    • Steve
    • 1/5/14

    Always loved this classic. I bought the DVD 10 years ago and has run time of 2 hrs 41 mins or 161 mins as mentioned on TCM. What is the correct release date of this feature? 1968 is in memory but Bell Canada TV says 1966? I checked the DVD jacket on the rear and it says 1966. TCM says 1967. Anyway, where did this scene of Tuco with a chicken in a cave come from where is talking about the $4,000 dollars? Never did see that on my DVD version that I watched several times since 2004. Director's cut on TCM possibly why? But TCM version and my DVD both have 161 min runtimes.

  • The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-5/5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-5/5Director-5/5Score-5/5Titles-5/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-5/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • A Great Western

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/15/13

    This is a really good western, albeit a bit long. But, what's even better about it is the musical score. I recognized the music as being "western" even before I saw the movie. Another thing about the music that's great is after listening to it for three hours I now have a new personal theme song stuck in my head. So long Torgo, until we meet again.

  • The Good, the Bad & the Ugly

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/10/12

    The greatest film from Leone's "Dollar's" trilogy. Eastwood, Van Cleef & Wallach are each splendid in their respected roles based on the title's order. Powerful suspense is created by Leone's direction & Morricone's most iconic score. One of the best "Spaghetti Westerns" ever made. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • One of the best westerns ever made

    • Mike
    • 11/10/12

    This is one of the best westerns ever made. The musical score is the best ever written for a western, and certainly the most memorable. It will grab you and have your adrenalin pumping from the first note. I love listening to it. The script is full of twists and surprises. First one character then another has the top hand, and it keeps changing. The relationships between the characters really drives the film. Leone absolutely excels at character development. That is perhaps his greatest success in this movie. He draws you in, and you find yourself forgetting about conventional morality because you can't help but cheer Eastwood (and sometimes Wallach) on in the movie. Van Cleef absolutely reeks of evil in perhaps one of his best performances on screen. But ultimately Eli Wallach steals the picture as the ugly Tuco. You can actually read his thoughts and emotions as they work through his face. He is perfectly cast in his role as a rat. Leone is also a master of cinematography. Filming Eli Wallach through the noose as he stands in the cemetery is pure genius. The duel between the antagonists is one of the greatest on film, excelled only perhaps by the duel in another Leone film, For A Few Dollars More. The film has a gritty, realistic feel. I must also mention that the battleground scenes are heavily influenced by Kurosawa. The only drawback is the length of the film, and that can be blamed on the overly soapy condemnation of war scenes during the battle for the bridge. In perhaps the only bad performance in the film Aldo Giuffre plays a drunken Union Captain sick of the useless slaughter in war. His scenes are overly melodramatic and drawn out, which completely destroys the pace of the movie. It's a good point to pretend it's intermission and go grab a snack. A little bit of editing there and this film would be perfect.

  • The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

    • ray kelly
    • 2/11/12

    One of the greatest westerns ever made, even though Clint gets top billing, Eli Wallach steals the show.

  • What edition was this DVD?

    • PM
    • 5/31/10

    This is the best version of this movie I've seen. Great sound quality and editing choices.The movie: Patient story telling at its best.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.