skip navigation
The Big Sky

The Big Sky(1952)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Big Sky - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Restore THE BIG SKY

    • John Fedinatz
    • 11/3/13

    THE BIG SKY cannnot really be faulted except for some minor issues such as Kirk Douglas and Dewey Martin being well groomed throught their metamorphosis into Mountain Men, and Kirk Douglas affected "fir" instead of "for". Otherwise, both are well cast along with the rest of the actors. I remember Pauline Kael criticizing the film for being poky. For me, since I first saw it as a teenager to the present, it has retained an exhilharating sense of adventure. The characacters are so well individualized are so strongly melded that my attention does not have to be piqued by a lot of physical action. I just relish the by-play throughout: UNCLE ZEB "Now get the sand outta your craw and tell me your doin' here." BOONE: "We got in a fight with a fella. He said you was nothin' but a drunk".UNCLE ZEB: "Ain't much to fight about. I would like to know his name."The sense of space and wilderness captured in the "black & white" photography leaves me with my tongue hanging out. Even the studios exteriors, usually a distraction, are just right here.Having a copy on DVD from France that includes restored footage, not of the best quality, I yearn for a full restoration with a pristine look. That's probably asking too much.

  • Amazing Movie

    • Melisa
    • 7/13/13

    We watch this movie about once every week to two weeks. This is one of those classics that never gets old. I love listening to the music in this show. I wish I could find the soundtrack. I can't wait until TCM plays the movie again in August. The original recording we had was accidently deleted. The recording we currently watch is missing the first 15 minutes. It would be wonderful if this became available on DVD.

  • Great Entertaining Western

    • Richard A. Radford
    • 5/6/13

    This has always been one of my favorites. It has great actors, a great script, and great scenery. I once had the colorized version in VHS (lost in fire) and have not been able to find since. To me it's a movie I can sit back and relax. Even though I may have seen it almost a dozen time, I find myself wanting to watch it over and over. Not many movies these days can you say that.

  • The Big Sky

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 3/20/13

    Wonderful Western adventure film. Great performances by Kirk Douglas, Arthur Hunnicutt, and the actor who plays Poor Devil. I believe he was in The Searchers, playing Old Mose. Elizabeth Threatt is one of the most beautiful actresses I have ever seen. I have a colorized, poor quality version on VHS. PLEASE release a remastered, original black and white version this to DVD very soon.

  • The Big Sky

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/14/13

    An overlooked, very enjoyable film from Hawks' library. Douglas & Martin are fur trappers who join a cast of wacky characters to trade up the river, the cast including Hunnicutt in an Oscar-nominated performance as Martin's uncle. Based on an excellent novel by A.B. Guthrie, Jr., the story is doesn't tap into the full possibilities of the novel as much as it creates a good collection of characters. At times the picture quality gets grainy, but that's a little complaint against a film well worth seeing. I give it a 4/5.

  • the big sky

    • william
    • 2/8/13

    love this film. great cast kirt douglas took me some getting used too in this part, after reading the book umpteen times arthur hunnicut great character actor in his element . spectacular scenery. only one complaint. a biggy. does anyone have a decent copy of this film? every time i see it about halfway through the film seems to take on a whole different look and sound and not for the better.it throws me right off.as if the whole crew quite. cameras film sound all different maybe a new version aye hint! hint!

  • The Big Sky one of the best westerns ever made

    • AndrĂ© Poirier
    • 11/11/12

    One of the best westerns ever and a masterpiece of story telling. Free from studio constraints and conventions, Howard Hawks with The Big Sky joins the company of John Ford and Jean Renoir, a very select group of real film artists.

  • This is one great movie

    • John Celba
    • 10/31/12

    One of if not the best early mountain man movies i have ever seen. I would tell anyone into mountain movies that they have to see this one.

  • the big sky

    • John Celba
    • 9/28/12

    I've been rendezvousing since 1974 and been looking for good movies about the mountain man even longer. This is one of the best. Maybe its not the most factual one but it gets it's point across and has some doing it to.

  • A wonderful trip

    • jetgraphics
    • 4/7/12

    It's a wonderful trip into the imagination of what could have been. Sure, it is spiced up drama, but it's an enthralling expedition, none the less. Makes one wish to visit the Blackfeet and set a spell.To me, the most important aspect is the exploration of a different culture, a different way of looking at the world, not only of the "English", the "French", but of the Blackfeet. And thankfully, the movie doesn't overlay 20th century anachronisms and viewpoints too much.

  • Why not color

    • Mike Gross
    • 2/10/12

    A very good adventure movie. However, I remember seeing this movie in 1952 at the Ogden Theatre at 63rd and Ashland in Chicago, IL and it was in technicolor. What happened to the color?

  • The Big Sky

    • Kathy Blackwell
    • 10/25/11

    This was a great movie. This movie needs to be remastered on a DVD.

  • the Perfect Western

    • paul
    • 9/20/11

    This is the greatest Western on film. So many films have borrowed from this, including Michael Mann's "Last of the Mohicans". Great cinematography, performances, pacing and direction. The treatment of the Indians is accurate and not stereotyped. Just brilliant historical fiction on film!!

  • Enjoyed this one for years.

    • Dennis Boring
    • 9/7/11

    I recorded this on tape back when it was on TNT and was a colorized version but it had commercials. The quality is not great but it should be in color with the background. I have since recorded it on TCM but still enjoy the color one. I also would like to have it on DVD, in color.

  • the big sky

    • james r schleede
    • 8/21/11

    howard hawks makes a person feel like he/she is living in this time period . a great feature to this triffic movie is the employment of Arthur Hunnicutt's voice filling in the gaps in the story line.

  • The Big Sky - a truly great movie

    • Paul Kinnane
    • 7/28/11

    Have loved this one for years. Probably where I first became aware of Arthur Honeycutt, one of the great character actors. I too have longed for a DVD copy and I finally found one commercially produced out of the UK. Although it is a PAL format, my player is not limited and now I can enjoy this movie. Why TCM only shows this once in a blue moon is beyond me...

  • Bitter in Beaumont

    • Jack Pieper
    • 5/17/11

    You might know it, one of my fav all time movies " The Big Sky " is no longer availablethru T.C.M. or at one of our local video stores. And my copy on VHS is worn out. If youlike " Mountain Men " you'll love Big Sky. My only complaint, it deserved to be in color.

  • Good

    • Will Alley
    • 4/4/11

    one of the best movies KD made!!!!

  • The Big Sky

    • David W
    • 4/3/11

    What a great action movie. Kirk Douglass and Arthur Hunnicutt give great performances. The adventure to some degree is like a Lewis and Clark expedition. Cannot find it on DVD and would be good to see TCM show it.

  • THE BIG SKY

    • John Celba
    • 2/15/11

    It is a crime thats this wonderful and enertaining movie is not on both DVD and Blu-Ray. This by far is one of the best if not the best movie on the Moutain Man Era. What is wrong with the movie industry anyway.

  • an Unsung Hawks' Gem

    • Robert Caprio
    • 1/25/11

    Some of the worst movies ever made somehow make it to DVD. But not THE BIG SKY. Lovers of this film agree that finding a "decent" print to work from is the problem, or the more mysterious Who Has the Rights? Frankly, having patiently waited for years, PLEASE, JUST PUT IT ON DVD (with a nice cover).This is a great film by Howard Hawks which I rate over (don't get mad) RED RIVER. Beautifully photographed, wonderfully etched characters, and the writing (with Arthur Honeycutt's down home philosophy) is sublime.There are many classic film lovers out there chomping at the bit to place this film in their personal libraries.Keep voting, folks!

  • The Big Sky (1952)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 11/8/10

    Wonderful movie about the beginnings of Western exploration. Great performances, especially by Arthur Hunnicutt and Kirk Douglas. Elizabeth Threatt as Teal Eye is one of the most beautiful women ever.

  • The Big Sky

    • Jan
    • 11/1/10

    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen. I have looked and looked for it on DVD, with no luck. Why is that? I'm going to search TMC, maybe they will be showing it sometime. No one makes movies like this anymore. Our children are missing out on a great thing. Wake up movie makers!! You know you could help make this world a little better, by making us another good one like "THE BIG SKY". Tom Seleck (sp?) would be great for the lead role! Now, put that in your pipe and smoke it....

  • The Big Sky

    • vstaab
    • 8/7/10

    The Big Sky is a movie, I would like to see more often. It is a movie I seen as a child and it is one I have a tough time seeing when it is on TCM. This movie is an all time favorite of mine and one that is tough to get to see. I would also like to see it on DVD becasue it seems as if I miss this movie when it is on TCM.

  • Best trapper movie ever made

    • John Celba
    • 7/26/10

    When i frist saw The Big Sky i was so impressed that i looked every where for the dvd. I would look for it to be on tv and tell all my friends when it was on. I do historical reanactments so i know a good movie on the subject when i see it. To anyone who loves this kind of movie make sure you make a point of watching THE BIG SKY......

  • The Big Sky

    • Zeke Luna
    • 7/10/10

    I look forward to two movies--Shane and The Big Sky--both give me a lump in my throat. Great movies.

  • Great Movie

    • Neil
    • 8/28/09

    This is the best western/adventer movie I've ever seen.I think that everyone should see this movie so that we all can be told the true story of this great nations begining years.I wish it would come out on DVD so everone could enjoy it,besides my VHS copy is wearing out from continued use!

  • Great Adventure Movie

    • John D Jones
    • 5/19/09

    I have watched this movie more times than I can remember but still LOVE it.I once saw it in a colored version , seen it only once in color . Is it available or do you know?? Its the best western adventure movie I think of all time .

  • Outstanding Movie

    • Roland
    • 3/21/09

    This movie should be on DVD, it not only is a great movie, but tells a story dealing with your early migration West.

  • great movie should be on dvd

    • john brown
    • 11/20/08

    i really enjoy tcm and the great movies yoy show. i think the big sky is one of kirk douglas best movies. i would buy this movie as soon as it comes out on dvd. tcm could show this movie once a month thanks

  • I love this film.

    • jwynn
    • 10/23/08

    I really would love to see this movie again. Absolutely loved it when I first watched it over twenty years ago. I felt like I was on the adventure with the cast. Please show this film soon.

  • The Big Sky

    • Ken Oliver
    • 7/2/08

    Should this movie become availaable on DVD, I would purchase it immediately formy home collection. I have been searching for it for years. Whenever I see it shown, I always make time to watch it.

  • we need more movies like this!

    • Jan
    • 2/18/08

    where have all the real men gone! director's and actor's. I would love to own this movie.

  • They don't make them like this anymore!

    • Larry Osher
    • 1/24/08

    A great adventure, and a movie that I can truly watch over and over. Howard Hawks' movie hits on all cylinders - from screenplay to casting/acting to visual concepts to music. It's just great. It's Hawks' attention to the "little details" that give the viewer a seat on that boat back in frontier times. I grew up watching this is black and white, but the colorized version is also great. I understand that the sound on the original prints has deteriorated - it's a crime if it's not transfered to digital soon.

  • A WESTERN FAN IN THE MAKING

    • CANDACE
    • 6/2/07

    Im not a fan of western movies but I loved this one. I saw this movie last year and it was my first western that Ive ever wached. Even though its a true western I liked it because it had comedy, drama, and a little romance. I only know of four westerns that I really liked, but as time goes on I find myself being more drawn to them. This is a great movie and it would be wonderful to see it on DVD.

  • The Vision of A Visionary Time

    • Chuck
    • 5/31/07

    One of the most basic but outstanding movies that depict the life and times of the early trapper era. As 'Jermiah Johnson' and the 'Mountian Men' depict the life and times of the Mountian Men, 'The Big Sky' shows without elaborate voyages from truth the life and times of the Misouri River fur traders and all that they had to endure and go through. I have for years seached for this movie to add to my collection. When will it be release on DVD. SOON PLEASE.

  • When will this film be available on DVD?

    • Gene
    • 3/5/07

    This is one of my favorie films of all time. Arthur Hunnicutt is my favorite character actor of the period. When I watch this film I almost feel like I'm making my way up the Missouri on a keelboat with the crew. I also love the soundtrack to this film. I wish this film would finally be released on DVD. What's the holdup?

  • A MAJOR HOWARD HAWKS FILM

    • OLIVIER EYQUEM
    • 2/28/07

    BIG SKY IS HOWARD HAWKS' MOST LYRICAL FILM (IN FACT IT'S ONE OF THE VERY FEW HAWKS FILMS THAT DESERVE THE ADJECTIVE). A TRUE MASTERPIECE, THIS SPLENDID WESTERN WAS HEAVILY CUT (FROM 140 MN TO 120), AND THE LONGER VERSION IS UNFORTUNATELY ONLY AVAILABLE ON A MEDIOCRE FRENCH DVD EDITION MADE FROM FROM A 16 MM PRINT. SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE !!

  • I LOVED THIS MOVIE

    • DOROTHY
    • 1/12/07

    I'VE WATCHED THIS MOVIE AND WOULD LOVE TO WATCH IT AT LEAST 30 MORE TIMES

  • the big sky.

    • Gilbert Grayson
    • 9/28/06

    I have a tape copy of the movie and would like to get a dvd of the movie. It probably one of the best westerns made. the story line is great and the actors make the movie very believable.

  • Outstanding Movie

    • Kenneth Waring
    • 9/5/06

    I've watched this movie a number of times and never get tired of seeing it again and again. I would love to be able to purchase a release in DVD.

  • The Big Sky

    • bruce brown
    • 7/16/06

    want to see this movie again when is it going to be back on and when can we get a copy of the movie to buy?????

  • The Big Sky...Great

    • Lee
    • 4/15/06

    Great real movie...like the nice jabs at each of the actors....they talk normal not rehearsed...get this movie and I'll buy one....thanks for showing it

  • get movie

    • John
    • 3/15/06

    I love this move it's a classics

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.