skip navigation
Ocean's Eleven

Ocean's Eleven(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Ocean's Eleven A group of friends plot to rob... MORE > $12.98 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ahead of its Time

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/4/13

    I really enjoy seeing this film as a point in time in history. The 60's style and colors instantly rid you of your depression. Then you get to watch the Rat Pack, while maybe not the best of their films, it still rates as a showcase of how to be cool in the sixties. And, how much Vegas has changed over the last 53 years. Of course, I wasn't born yet in the 60's and I've never been to Vegas, so I am making assumptions. But, from what I've seen Vegas back then seemed to have more class, a kind of quiet coolness, instead of what I see of Vegas now on TV. So, I prefer to see and know Vegas from this film's point of view in its historical context. Also, I think this movie was ahead of its time without meaning to be. A criticism of this film is the guys really don't do anything, but we sit and watch them anyway waiting for something to happen. That seems to be the phenomena of today. We watch people who do nothing, so they become popular by doing nothing, until they reach celebrity status and then they're everywhere doing nothing. The storyline of this film leads us in that direction, but Seinfeld takes the "nothing" ball and runs with it to perfection for a comedic touchdown. So, here I sit watching a part of history, watching actors I admire for their talents, real talents that add to our own lives decades later, inspiring us and our own dreams for the future. No matter how this film turned out, the stars transcend it because they have true talent that stands the test of time.

  • Entertaining!

    • Alice
    • 5/4/13

    I enjoy this film each time I see it. That is one definition of a classic. The story is good and keeps my interest; let alone the actors themselves. I can't think of a better group to match any better for this crime/comedy. Thank you, TCM for continuing to show this great film.

  • Thin ties and thin plot

    • Jeff Boston
    • 1/9/13

    In the first hour, Dickinson says to Sinatra "we had a floating crap game." This is a floating crap flick. Tamiroff says halfway through: "I gotta listen to all this? They're rotting my brain!" Big winners playing big losers here, and Norman Fell has almost as much charisma as The Chairman of The Board!? The scene with Romero and Lawford deservedly cutting each other down is the best scene (Martin the best throughout), but the casino boardroom's green walls and the bearded TV reporter are the most memorable bits of this overlong showcase of Vegas and its real life stars. 1960's "Ocean's Eleven" - ain't that a kick in the head.

  • A lot of style, not much substance

    • Oliver Cutshaw
    • 1/9/13

    This is one of those rare cases where the remake is the better film. The original has some Frank Sinatra style swing-a-ding charm but only in hits and misses. Oh, it is fun to see a "supposed" glimpse at the "cool" Rat Pack crew. But for me the only real fun of this film are the scenes of old Vegas and Dean Martin singing "Ain't that a kick in the Head". Dean and Richard Conte rather steal what show there is. Funny and clever but for all these swingers they did whip up much of a cocktail.

  • Ocean's 11

    • Dashiell B.
    • 1/4/13

    A flashy comedy caper. The Rat Pack make up a group of thieves who plot to steal a lot of money from five casino's on New Years Eve. The members don't do anything in terms of noteworthy acting & it's too slow in the beginning. Entertaining caper film nonetheless, remade in 2000. I give it a 3/5.

  • STINKS

    • Jack The Hat
    • 10/8/11

    One word--no make that two words, "IT STINKS"!!!

  • too cool

    • Adam
    • 8/18/11

    The Rat Pack defined cool. This film shows them at their peek.

  • Exciting.

    • Chris
    • 5/17/11

    All those wonderful and sexy men in one movie.

  • SAMMY DAVIS JR. IS THE BEST PART OF THIS MOVIE

    • william gauslow
    • 5/16/11

    Not much else. I wish it were better.

  • Ocean's Eleven

    • Bill
    • 5/16/11

    Was a classic film the day it was completed. The talent in this film isstaggering. The personalities blend perfectly and do not try to top the other. True professionals. Has never got enough air time. Thankfully, we have TCM!

  • Koo Koo Rat Pack Caper

    • Bruce Reber
    • 5/3/10

    "Ocean's Eleven" (1960) has to be the coolest of the Rat Pack films. Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin and company decide to use their wartime training as Airborne commandos to knock over five Vegas casinos on New Years Eve. Martin gets a chance to sing, but why couldn't they have let Sinatra do a number or two? I've heard that the Rat Pack made "Ocean's Eleven" between their performances at the Sands Hotel and Casino. They nearly get away with all that stolen moolah, until the end at the funeral service for their fallen partner Tony Bergdorf when they find out that he's being cremated (and the money along with him)! I think the last time TCM aired "Ocean's Eleven" was in May of 2008 during their SOTM tribute to Sinatra, also commemorating the 10th anniversary of his death. Come on TCM, let's see it aired more often. Koo Koo - the Rat Pack lives forever!

  • ocean's eleven

    • john
    • 3/4/10

    i've seen this movie when i was 7 years old. as i grew older this movie R-E-A-L-L-Y made a generation happy. when i saw this movie again, the rat pack was way ahead of their time. george clooney's was good, but the 1960 version was so much better.quite simply there were no security in the casinos. the ending of the movie was done perfectly, when one of their has a heart attack on the strip and dies. when they find out the deceasced is being cremated, they look at each other in disbelief.

  • Ocean's Eleven

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 5/21/08

    This movie is everything that you expect a Rat Pack movie to be, cool and hip in a 1960 kind of way. It's imperfect and probably isn't on any best film lists. But it is entertaining and has some good performances from Peter Lawford, Dean Martin, and Angie Dickerson. Sammy Davis Jr. really stands out. In fact almost everyone gets a chance to shine one way or another in this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.