skip navigation
A Stolen Life

A Stolen Life(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Stolen Life A twin takes her deceased... MORE > $18.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Excellent

    • Roseanna
    • 5/1/13

    This is a must see if you are a Bette Davis fan. This was the first time I had seen this movie and plan to buy it for my collection. Keep up the great work TCM

  • MESMERIZING

    • ROB
    • 3/29/13

    We got to together to have a party watching this movie. We all enjoyed it and have been talking about it since we watched it on Thursday. Bette Davis is fantastic as always and the story line kept us in suspense. An absolute great movie. Nothing now-a-days can even compare to the story plots or the actors in the movies of past. Thanks TCM.

  • Great cinematography; strange film

    • Sara
    • 3/29/13

    #1: What was the purpose of the tortured artist? His role was very contrived and just pointless. #2: When Pat drowned, why didn't the other one just say hey, Pat drowned; so sorry Glenn Ford, lets pick up where we left off; instead of the whole pretending to be the dead sister thing? The premise of this movie was as thin as a spider web, but the cinematography and set design kept me interested.

  • Great Movie

    • Judy
    • 3/29/13

    This was one of Bette's Best!!!! Loved the story.

  • I'd like to ask a question!

    • Julianne Elandt
    • 3/28/13

    Fairly good movie, I have seen Bette Davis in better. Glenn Ford OK, but he isn't my idea of a good leading man. The question I have is, While I was watching this movie "A Stolen Life" I realized the music score from this movie was also used in the movie "Summer Place" 1960. Am I right or not?

  • Twins

    • I_Fortuna
    • 3/28/13

    Some may say this is farfetched but aren't most Hollywood concoctions? I love this film and Bette Davis is wonderful as usual. There are some good tricks of cinematography when Bette is in scenes with her "twin". I think this is one of her best films and the story hooked me. Fantasy or not, I recommend this film especially for Bette Davis fans.

  • Two Bettes In One

    • Eliza
    • 11/15/12

    Bette the good twin wins out,thank goodness.Good movie,disliked Dane Clark's character,but I guess that's the idea.

  • Excellent film!

    • RedRain
    • 11/14/12

    I love this film. It has a great story and exceptional actors. There isn't much more you can ask from a film. Dane Clark is wonderful as the Svengali to the sister experiencing unrequited love. If it isn't for him, she doesn't buck up the courage to pose as her much more extroverted sister. The cinematography here is wonder-filled, particularly when the twin sisters played by Bette Davis are on the screen together. Terrific when you consider this film is 66 years old! I didn't like this role for Glenn Ford, however, as he plays such a weak man. He leaves the lighthouse he loves to take a job to make more money to support the sister who is used to money and wants it. Unlike some posters, I don't feel Katie is wrong for going back to him when he discovers the truth. Love is a strange thing and it can make people do even stranger things.

  • Why Should He Be Blameless?

    • Mary McDermott
    • 8/11/12

    The film is a tour de force for Bette Davis playing dual roles, and the story held my interest, but I found the ending lame. Bill asks Kate if they can just pretend all the bad things never happened and start fresh, but the bad things happened because he dumped her for her manipulative sister in the first place! He never even apologizes, yet Kate takes him back gladly.

  • Angst

    • Kali
    • 4/21/11

    I would desire Kate that dives and challenges Neptune from the capsized incident. The angst at destiny that throws away an all approving marital union, that was so simply designed at her defeat which had reduced her to a fool from the courtship she so believed to be felicity. It is humiliating! And a disgrace chasing all over again!

  • Destiny's Chosen

    • Kali
    • 4/21/11

    A Stolen Life (1946) started with a resemblance at Virginia Woolf's "To The Lighthouse", projecting from the relationship of Kate and Bill to the marriage of Mr and Mrs Ramsey. Kate is the overbearing role that dominates the story that evolves the discussions of rivlary and alienation inside the relationship between man and woman, and the question of memory at time pass, and on art that imitates life at the artist's creation. Patricia seemingly is Dorian Gray on canvas that Karnock found out at Kate's anxiety pretension, Patricia was the damsel bride that Kate dread would forsake destiny's clever and ventures into the Mody Dick wrestle at the reborn of Kate and death of her sister for the nuptial bliss of destiny's chosen groom Bill Emerson. The wedding ring is symbolic inside the film because it is the keepsake Dorian Gray that never withers and promise fidelity. The theme of Kate as Lily the artist in "To The Lighthouse" is carjoled with the question of memory and the vision of love and devotion for Bill, Karnock is Kate's reminder that her frailty is her own deception pretending to be Patricia inside the marriage of Bill. It is a mirror that Kate resounded earlier that however draws the mimic at Patricia's adulterous affair. The moral behind the movie is about art that imitates life, that is the spontaneous devotion and gracious ingenuity of the universal truth, where there is existence one would strive for devotion, where there is life one would aspire for intricacies of savior faire. Kate found none only falling into deeper deception and Bill does not answer at the decease of Patricia at nuptial union. Not a brillant movie by Curtis Bernhardt that tries to tease the audience with art that is opened for interpretation at the end. A film that rushed off from one scene to another connecting all the themes ambitious.

  • Angst

    • Kali
    • 4/20/11

    I would desire Kate that dives and challenges Neptune from the capsized incident. The angst at destiny that throws away an all approving marital union, that was so simply designed at her defeat which had reduced her to a fool from the courtship she so believed to be felicity. It is humiliating! And a disgrace chasing all over again!

  • Destiny's Chosen

    • Kali
    • 4/20/11

    A Stolen Life (1946) started with a resemblance at Virginia Woolf's "To The Lighthouse", projecting from the relationship of Kate and Bill to the marriage of Mr and Mrs Ramsey. Kate is the overbearing role that dominates the story that evolves the discussions of rivlary and alienation inside the relationship between man and woman, and the question of memory at time pass, and on art that imitates life at the artist's creation. Patricia seemingly is Dorian Gray on canvas that Karnock found out at Kate's anxiety pretension, Patricia was the damsel bride that Kate dread would forsake destiny's clever and ventures into the Mody Dick wrestle at the reborn of Kate and death of her sister for the nuptial bliss of destiny's chosen groom Bill Emerson. The wedding ring is symbolic inside the film because it is the keepsake Dorian Gray that never withers and promise fidelity. The theme of Kate as Lily the artist in "To The Lighthouse" is carjoled with the question of memory and the vision of love and devotion for Bill, Karnock is Kate's reminder that her frailty is her own deception pretending to be Patricia inside the marriage of Bill. It is a mirror that Kate resounded earlier that however draws the mimic at Patricia's adulterous affair.The moral behind the movie is about art that imitates life, that is the spontaneous devotion and gracious gentility of the universal truth, where there is existence one would strive for devotion, where there is life one would aspire for intricacies of savior faire. Kate found none only falling into deeper deception and Bill does not answer at the decease of Patricia at nuptial union. Not a brillant movie by Curtis Bernhardt that tries to tease the audience with art that is opened for interpretation at the end. A film that rushed off from one scene to another connecting all the themes ambitious.

  • A Stolen Life (1946)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 5/10/10

    Lovely, wistful movie of thwarted love. Great performance as always by Bette Davis.

  • A Stolen Life

    • Monica
    • 4/10/10

    One of my favorite Bette Davis films. It truly shows Miss Davis' diversitiy. She can be ANYONE. The editing of this film is fantastic! You truly believe as you're watching it that there are identical twins conversing with eachother, etc. I especially love it when Kate lights Pat's cigarette! I recommend this film to all Bette Davis fans! (P.S. you can't order from NetFlix! so watch for it when it comes around again on TCM.)

  • One of Bette Davis' best

    • lynnej
    • 4/5/10

    It shows the range of Ms. Davis and the allure of Mr. Ford. Mostly when I see Mr. Ford act, I think of him as a cowboy. This is one of his finest works besides Gilda and The Big Heat. A very intense and hearty movie.

  • great story

    • Sue
    • 3/8/10

    I love this movie not just because Bette Davis is such a great actress and I'll watch anything she has done, but because the story is such a great one.

  • Good story for today

    • cynthia
    • 11/29/09

    This movie is one of my favorites, because I too am shy like bette davis in this movie and i wish I could have been like (Pat her twin)then, I would like Glenn Ford said "You are like frosting on a cake." I love this movie PLEASE release it..

  • Great Movie

    • alice
    • 10/7/09

    This is a very good movie, I have been looking for a copy of it since I first found it on late night TCM. Irecommended it to my grandaughter who is an old movie buff and we could not find it anywhere. I do hope they produce it on DVD soon.

  • Bette Davis is Identical Twins

    • BeauB
    • 7/25/09

    This is the first of 2 films in which Bette Davis plays both roles of identitical twins (as far as I know there are only 2 such films). As an identitical twin myself, I'm fascinated by Davis' performance of both roles. She starts out as Kate Bosworth, an artist who paints. It's unclear if her twin, Pat, does anything worthwhile, living off of a small family fortune on the coast of Massachusetts, ordering servantsaround. Kate's the one who falls in love with a lighthouse keeper, Bill Emerson (Glenn Ford). But, Pat steals him away from Kate and marries him. The synopisis reveals the spoiler of what happens so I won't. Walter Brennen's also a key figurein this film. Davis delivers a remarkableperformance as both amiable Kate & narcissistic Pat. Ford also comes throughwith a great performance as he interesacts with both Kate & Pat. As usual, Brennen is a lovable quirky character. This is a romance with a bit of suspsense.

  • Davis Plays Twins: Ford Falls for Both

    • DavidNeumeyer
    • 6/22/09

    Bette Davis reveals how talented an actor she is when playing the twins that Glenn Ford falls for, inadvertently. Set in New England on the coast by the sea, the ocean and a lighthouse are key parts of the setting. The twin that's first smitten with Ford plays a trick on her sister and boyfriend using their identical looks to pretend to be the kinder one. She steals him away from her sister. Later the backstabbing sister dies during an accident sea. Still in love with Ford, the living sister is mistaken for the dead sister, while still out of it from the accident. Instead of correctly everyone's presumption, she assumes her dead sister's identity to get her true love back. Great story, even better performances.

  • Glenn Ford and the Bette Davis Twins

    • Officer1802
    • 6/13/09

    This is my favorite pre-mid-life Bette Davis film co-starring Glenn Ford. I think it's the first time Miss Davis plays twin sisters. I bet that's why this film was nominated for an Oscar for Best Special Effects. 1946 was kind of early for having two different Bette Davises in the same frame. So Davis gives a doubly great performance by playing very different sisters in the same film. Ford also gives a great performance as the man who's desired by both sisters, but for different reasons. Since they are identical twins, he's fooled by them several times throughout the film. Only one of the sisters is truly in love with him. The plot gets better than that once an accident at sea occurs and one of the twins drowns.

  • Davis, Davis, Ford & the Sea

    • NJMB
    • 5/16/09

    I believe this was the 1st time that Bette Davis played twins. Both are well off by inheritance. The goodly one works as a writer; the devilish one's spoiled rotten. Ford's working at a lighthouse fairly close to the shore where the twins live. Before he finds out they're twins, he has an encounter with the goodly one & plans to date her. But the troublemaking twin shows up for their date, instead. She seduces Ford & steals him from her own sister. But, there a whole lot more to this story. Even the sea plays a major role in this drama tailor made for Davis & Ford. Superb acting makes the film great.

  • A Stolen Life

    • christina
    • 8/17/08

    I have thought about this movie for years, I love the scene when she walks back into the house and assumes her sisters role with Glen Ford and then realizes how bad their marriage really is. Why hasn't TCM shown this one-it is really one of Bette's best.

  • Bette Davis

    • Joyce
    • 9/11/06

    I love Bette Davis more than any other actor or actress. She stands way above the crowd. I know that she produced this picture and that it was her only production. Bette Davis is an iconthat should be shown on TCM daily. I never get tired of her memorable roles. She is so different from the rest and so original. Ever since Cottonin the Cabin and especially Of Human Bondage she has never been overshadowdowed or touched by any other actor. Please show Bette Davis for her everlasting ardent fans.

  • Glenn Ford and Bette Davis both Shine !

    • Marion Walker
    • 9/10/06

    I love this movie. Bette Davis and Glenn Ford are wonderful together. Bette plays identical twin sisters who come from two very different stand points in the way they live their lives. The sweet dear sister falls for Glenn Ford's character, a kind handsome man, who works in a lighthouse. Trouble starts when he meets the evil twin sister who is determined to have him for herself and sailing is rough up until the very end. This is an emotional film that I'm sure most viewers will identify with and fall in love with as I did. Get out the popcorn and prepare for a sail that you'll not forget ! Walter Brennan plays the lighthouse keeper. A great cast!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.