skip navigation
Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel(1932)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Grand Hotel Guests at a posh Berlin hotel struggle through scandal and... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Grand Hotel is on par with the best.

    • Kate
    • 4/17/14

    When I watch Grand Hotel, perfect casting comes to mind. Every role is perfectly cast and the script is great too. There is a tremendous 30's feel and a Deco atmosphere to this movie. Joan Crawford is so stunningly beautiful and natural in front of the camera that it makes me wonder what happened to her in later years. Her acting became too dramatic and tense. But in this early effort, she shines! The rest of the cast is wonderful and even Garbo's over-the top character makes sense. She's a butterfly, she's an artiste, she's a bit of a flake...but she's a wonderful flake. Her chemistry with John Barrymore is epic! But I really think Crawford steals the picture. The hotel is gorgeous and swanky and is the perfect set for the story.It's actually another character in the movie. And it's a wonderful character. The staff of the hotel provides interest and depth and insures that we see this hotel as a place where real people work, live and die. And love.Watch Grand Hotel. Then go rent Dinner At Eight. Although Dinner At Eight isn't as dramatic or deep as Grand Hotel, it still features an all star dynamite cast and reveals the creative revolution happening in Hollywood during the 30's.Both pictures are packed with movie stars of high wattage. And for those of us that love the 30's fashions, it's a real treat. Plus it's worth it just to watch Crawford. I became a huge fan of hers after watching this movie...

  • One of my favourites

    • kat
    • 4/17/14

    This movie is one of my favourite movies.When I first saw this movie I really liked it and thought it was interesting and exciting.I do recommend watching this good classic movie.

  • Not worth the time

    • Jack
    • 3/1/14

    It's not worth the time except to see how bad of a movie it is.

  • Four Stars???

    • Melanie
    • 1/10/14

    I waited all day to see this movie and was very excited because of the actors and actresses who were appearing in it. I should have watched something else because in my opinion, the whole thing sucked. It was boring, disjointed, and made no sense at all. Joan Crawford was the good thing about this movie. She was truly beautiful in her younger days. And much more beautiful than Garbo.

  • Not So Grand Hotel

    • will
    • 1/9/14

    MGM overrated, overlong boring attempt to stuff a whole slue of great stars (some) into a disjointed story, maybe its me, but there were times I had to ask myself what the ''''' was that scene all about, huh? And Garbo Garbo Garbo the most boring actress in the history of films. they constantly had to bring in Really Talented actors in order to get you to watch this dull one dimentional hack. Ill take Warner Bros. Wonderbar any time over this snore, tight story, excellent cast, Music Mystery romance and pushed the limit on the film code.

  • Grand Hotel

    • John
    • 8/18/13

    Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-4 1/2 out of 5Score-4/5Titles-3/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of genre-4/5

  • TANKS

    • zara
    • 8/17/13

    We had waited a long time to see this movie due to all the accolades it has received????WHAT A MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT!Yes I question previous viewers reviews as this movie 'TANKED BIG TIME'--POLITELY speaking. What a waste of time, could not wait until it was over,in fact we kept looking at the clock (duration of said movie) WONDERING, HEY is this going to pick up?The acting (if you call it that seemed to be straight out of a Soap Opera)lack of character development,'choppy' scenes and dialogue. 'ACTORS' were over dramatic and lacked depth.Difficult to follow as camera is going everywhere . Is there a 'PLOT OR THEME?"The 'STORY LINE' is questionable as IS THERE ONE?MUCH HYPE about NOTHING-

  • Plays up class differences

    • Jeff Boston
    • 3/9/13

    One of the first of thousands of films that dehumanizes an accomplished individual (Beery, of course playing a corporate-type in the private sector) to the point where he is the personification of evil, while humanizing those with serious character defects [sly thief John B and prostitute (essentially) Crawford], to the point they are seen as heroic. Garbo is (typically) annoying, and Lionel B is (typically) good, and is at the forefront during several clear messages for the deprived audience to eat up at the height of the Great Depression.

  • Terrific film!

    • RedRain
    • 12/10/12

    Although the actors in this film are among the very best, the real star is the "Grand Hotel" itself. It gives up the stories of its temporary residents in a way that has you hooked from the start. To have both Barrymore brothers in the same film is a real treat and, as I am particularly fond of John Barrymore, I believe he could not have been cast better than he was here. Greta Garbo is at her most beautiful, playing a prima donna ballerina diva in the last days of a career that have her literally despairing of her life. Joan Crawford was only 27 when she made this film and she is almost too good as the easy secretary who will do just about anything for money. She gives a breezy, devil-may-care performance which sparkles with tenderness when it's needed. The only character that I would like to have seen fleshed out is the doctor played by the great Lewis Stone. He narrates the story and is seen all too briefly. This is without a doubt one of my top ten essential films everyone should see!

  • Crawford shines in this one

    • TK
    • 8/10/12

    The only other hotel movie I'd seen was the 1967 adaptation of Arthur Hailey's novel. Then when I saw the cast for Grand Hotel, I had to watch it. Both John and Lionel Barrymore in the same movie along with Greta Garbo - it's hard not to watch. However, the real surprises for me came from others in the cast. About my only real exposure to Wallace Beery was his lovable Long John Silver, but boy does he do a great job playing a nasty stinker of a character in this movie. And then there's Joan Crawford. Even among such great fellow actors, she shines like a star. She's beautiful, sexy, worldly, lovable, compassionate, and vulnerable all at the same time. She stole the show in my opinion and certainly stole my heart. I came away with a whole new appreciation for her talent.

  • Grand Hotel

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/10/12

    This MGM, all-star drama is a truimph. Garbo overacts, Crawford & Beery are great, but it's the Barrymore brother's who shine in their respective parts. Cedric Gibbons art-deco hotel plus the cinematography & gowns by Adrian bring Vicki Baum's story to life. So far, this is the only film to win a Best Picture Academy Award without nominations in the other categories. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • IMAGINE

    • Mark Williams
    • 12/22/11

    Greta Garbo is such an alluring beauty and mysterious personality that she could carry any film. Her sexual appeal is off the charts. Never have seen a woman become a symbol of sex without even trying. She was so far ahead of her time it is astounding. Great acting by the entire cast,but Garbo WOW!

  • Masterpiece

    • chris
    • 7/6/11

    timeless classic and so well acted the whole cast was superb.

  • Grand Hotel - Grand Picture

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/21/11

    "Grand Hotel" (1932) is the first MGM film to feature not one, not two, but FIVE of the studio's top contract stars: Greta Garbo, speaking her famous line "I want to be alone!", Wallace Beery, one year after his great performance in "The Champ", Joan Crawford, in her early days when she was really beautiful and playing good roles in good films, and the Barrymore brothers Lionel and John. It's set in Berlin's Grand Hotel in the decadence of early 30's Germany, just before the advent of Adolf Hitler and Nazism. The interraction of the various characters is marvelous to watch. Maybe the best of all the "hotel" films. Four stars!

  • Grand Hotel

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/9/11

    *****

  • Lindoni,The Baron And A Quick Flip

    • Lindoni
    • 11/16/09

    1932's Grand Hotel has been my favorite movie for many years now. It has an atmosphere that sparkles with a certain magic and irony. There is no plot in the traditional sense,but rather an odd mixture of various characters all checking into the posh German hotel for different reasons. Many of them end up interacting with each other;some only see each other in passing. The ironic twist is in the character of the resident doctor,who declares that nothing ever happens at the hotel,when by the end of the film,we realize that events occur on a rather "grand" scale after all. It is a rare masterpiece.

  • Loniel Barrymore steals the film!

    • Polly
    • 10/9/09

    Sure there is John Barrymore, Joan Carwford, Wallace Beery and even Greta Garbo but Loniel Barrymore shows off his stuff in this amazing classic. I love Loniel Barrymore and have never been disapointed in anything I have seen him in and being in the movie with all these famous actors he had alot cut out for him. But he mangaged fine and I believe had the best performance out of all of them!

  • Grand Hotel (1932)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/3/09

    A dazzling classic, a best picture winner with a once in a lifetime cast. John Barrymore, Greta Garbo, Joan Crawford, Wallace Beery, Lionel Barrymore, Lewis Stone, Jean Hersholt...amazing! The story is fascinating and sumptuously produced, the art direction is outstanding. Great and fascinating plot, which has since been imitated many times over.

  • Too Much Hype, Too Little of Garbo

    • JClements
    • 5/15/09

    For all of the hype about "Grand Hotel" being the classic of all time, I was not quite impressed. The Barrymore's are fabulous, as usual. But there's too little of Greta Garbo and too much of Joan Crawford. What were they thinking? I can see now why this film has not reached the expectations of the hype and why.

  • Garbo and the Barrymore Men

    • Marjorie.Campbell
    • 5/15/09

    "Grand Hotel" would have been a swell film with Greta Garbo and John and Lionel Barrymore. There was a major mistake made in the casting of Joan Crawford, a personality, with such great actors. Garbo's and the Barrymores' performances are professionally well done in contrast to Crawford's. There was enough box office draw without her. Why the studio padded the cast with fluff remains a mystery. It is a mistake that becomes more obvious as years go by.

  • ECLECTIC CAST OF CHARACTERS

    • Jordan
    • 3/28/09

    Enjoyed the performances of Lionel Barrymore, Joan Crawford and John Barrymore. Was disappointed at the lack of "grandest" in the Grand Hotel architecture and furnishings. Divas are hard to tolerate for lengthy periods, especially "woe is me" ones. Greta Garbo is more pleasant in Two Faced Woman.

  • First Rate Film

    • Lola
    • 3/27/08

    Great Performances all around with a compelling story...one of Garbo's best. Garbo is luminous as the ballerina and Barrymore poignant and romantic as the broke man who loves her. These 2 greats shine, easily one of the best movies of the 1930s. Joan Crawford is lovely as the secretary. Wallace Beery gives a powerful performance. People don't remember what a beauty Crawford was in her early days. Other first rate cast members too...must see!

  • Best Picture of 1932

    • Dave
    • 1/16/07

    It's great watching Garbo and Barrymore, 2 great silent stars, and Crawford and Beery, two stars of the talkies. A great transtion film between eras. A great film, no, but so much fun to watch.

  • Grand Spectacle

    • Joyce
    • 9/25/06

    I watch it every showing. Who doesn't? This is why it stands the test of time. I wish that you would show more of these old familiar movies and stars. I don't understand the changes such as independent filmakers, foreign films, this crazy gendra that is going on. Even your next guest has picked the old classics, like Dinner at 8 and Now Voyager and he is young. This is what makes TCM what it has beenand a success. I hope you get backi to the grand hotels and the grand old hollywood.

  • Grand Hotel

    • Mike
    • 8/6/06

    Grand Hotel is one of my favorite pictures, mostly due to it's impressive cast. Garbo, Crawford, Berry, and the Barrymores are excellent in this picture. A must-see for classic movie fans

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.