skip navigation
World Without End

World Without End(1956)

  • Saturday, May 31 @ 04:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

World Without End Astronauts returning from a... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Influences on Future SF

    • Taylor Christophe
    • 10/3/13

    Early on it becomes obvious that this film influenced the ideas of future screen writers. The journey from the downed space craft (though a short one) and the subsequent discussion the astronauts have about their families being long dead points to Planet of the Apes (1968). An argument can be made that Gene Roddenberry borrowed several scenes for use in "The Menagerie" (from the initial sliding doors in the cave, the attitudes of the undergound dwellers to the battle with Naga, leader of the "Mutates"). The final battle with the Mutates is eerily similar to "Galileo 7" episode of Star Trek (right down to the rocky set, spearing throwing and "spear to the back")Beneath the Planet of the Apes borrows several set ideas, costumes and attitudes of the underground dwellers. The laughable giant spider in the cave concept found its way in later years to Gilligan's Island.

  • TRULY A 57 YEAR OLD PREDICTION

    • Bill Ellis
    • 9/28/13

    57 years ago! This movie predicts what we are today. There would be no mathematicians, no scientists, etc. The people became followers, not innovators, weaklings, afraid of resistance, had no weapons. It was low quality but said so much about what we are becoming.

  • "World Without End", A score to settle

    • Mike H
    • 7/7/12

    I think this movie has many weaknesses:* The lack of any explanation for the space-time warp.* The climatic change as theydescend the mountain from snow and ice to greenerie and flowing water. Seems a bit sudden.* Special effects: Weak, at best. Rocket effects as good as 1930s Flash Gordon; maybe.* Acting: Not horrible, nothing special.* Story: A family resemblence to many post-atomic SF films of the 1950s.On the bright side, much of the acting at least reaches the level of the material provided. Rod taylor chews up the scenery admirably. The script, while not oscar level, is entertaining enough to hold one's attention. The musical underscore ... That, I must admit I have a sneaking affection for.The film could not have had a big musical budget, but what it has, it uses with skill and creativity. Where the effects are poor and the story weak, the music does it's job by carrying things forward in the way that feels better than the movie actually looks or sounds.Nothing more can be asked of musical accompaniment in a film.IMHO.

  • A PRESCIENT FORERUNNER

    • MrGForce
    • 6/18/12

    Building upon the futuristic H.G. Wells classic, "The Time Machine," we are introduced to a postapocalpytic world divided between populations of horrid, savage mutated people -- "mutates" -- and a world of civilized, tech-adept survivors whose apparently testosterone-deficient males leave the leggy, mini-clad women anxious to meet our quartet of manly explorers from 1957 Earth. This is produced four years before the same scenario was explored in the 1960 MGM / George Pal film of the same name. In "World Without End," Wells' fiction is augmented by some of the latest Einstiniean concepts of time and relativity that science fiction audiences were just being exposed to; we'd be seeing them again a decade later in such as Star Trek's "Tomorrow is Yesterday." Speaking of "The Time Machine," Rod Taylor! The "Time Machine" star is staking out his time-traveler credentials right here! He's the handsome, posing-topless example of men as they ought to be. We also get plenty of 50s-era cheesecake -- though with less gusto than in "Queeen of Outer Space," which I think was about the DISCOVERY of statuesque, actress/model beautiful women on Venus. We get really tacky giant spiders, and not leastly full Cinemascope color! This looks great as an HD remaster. And in the end, [SPOILER ALERT] the conflict climaxes in what I gleefully enjoyed as an amazing foreshadowing of what to expect from future science fiction. Have the captain square off ala James T. Kirk with the leader of the Morlocks -- I mean "mutate" savages -- some man-to-man combat to set straight a civilization and win the close, hot embrace of the lovely native girl.Demerit this movie if you must for, again, the appalling spider monsters, or the fact that it was produced, according to IMDB, as a B-movie. Even with it's reliance on a cheesy monster and cheesecakey leg models, and sets that don't seem to try very hard, this is a movie, with a comparative minimum of silliness, predicts the future of the genre.

  • Futuristic 'Pathfinders'

    • Royce B.
    • 6/7/12

    The plot always struck me as having been influenced by Cooper's Leatherstocking Tales as well as H.G. Wells.

  • One of my favorites growing up

    • D. Lagarde
    • 1/20/11

    ...loved this movie as a kid and especially Deena. This is also one of the first (if not the first) to bring up time travel, light speed, and the far future (or maybe it was Time Machine, but still...) Unlike Time Machine, a more likely scenario in a case of nuclear war--that the mutants love on top not underground as with Time Machine--would be the World Without End scenario, with a happy ending of educating above ground normals along with the few below ground kids. Damned good cinematography and script as well. This is probably the first in a long line of "far future Earth mutants vs. normals armeggedon type movies" that came later, such as Planet of the Apes, and, IMHO, just as good if not better.

  • "B"MOVIE , WITH "A" QUALITY

    • MARK
    • 10/25/07

    ONE OF THE FIRST SCI-FI"S IN COLOR WITH A GOOD CAST WORKING A GOOD SCRIPT. ALLIED ARTIST SPENT THIER BUDGET ON THIS ONE. LOOK FOR A PRE-TIME MACHINE ROD TAYLOR IN THIS GEM

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.