skip navigation
Witness to Murder

Witness to Murder(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Witness to... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Trusting a Nazi with Anger Issues

    • pete
    • 7/17/14

    I enjoyed this movie on many levels, particularly the acting, cinematography and directing. The story was suspenseful, but there are some problems. Spoilers (maybe). I couldn't understand how the police could believe a Nazi (supposedly former) with severe megalomania issues, which he proudly publishes in a book over a well-adjusted and respected career woman. He even praises the virtues of violence as a means to humankind's evolution. She points this out, but the police waive her off with pseudo psychology about it all being a bad dream. Then again, this was the 50's and maybe they did value even this guy's warped mind over a career woman's (or any woman's) opinions. So much, in fact, they readily classify her as the crazy one. Maybe that was the subversive theme here, although, sadly, I think it was just a reflection of the times.

  • response to giorgio

    • peter
    • 7/16/14

    Giorgio, you would do well to watch Rear Window again.

  • WITNESS TO MURDER

    • DAVE
    • 12/20/12

    JUST WATCHED THIS FLICK, THOUGHT IT WAS PRETTY GOOD. I WAS TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT KIND OF CAR SHE WAS DRIVING IN THIS MOVIE.

  • Better Than Rear Window

    • Giorgio
    • 10/29/12

    Great film,loved Barbara and George combo.

  • Sleuthing

    • David Herdendorf
    • 6/7/11

    I have watched a lot of old black and white crime movies. When Watching them, I like to see who is in the movies that I have seen before. I wish they could bring back some of these old movies as a regular series. The movies deserve a lot more viewing than they get. Please keep showing more of these movies.

  • film noir gem

    • John
    • 6/6/11

    Great cinamatography by John Alton. George Sanders and Barbara Stanwick are perfect. Very suspenseful.

  • Type-casting

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 5/3/10

    Great use of Los Angeles exteriors, especially the apartment buildings and high rise development. Also, the interactions between Stanwyck and her costars are excellent. The roles are pretty much would you would expect for these actors: Stanwyck is tough; Sanders is cagey; and Merrill is dependable and likable. It's particularly fun to see Sanders and Stanwyck go toe to toe. There's one major plot hole: Sanders' character keeps the first letter he claims that she has sent him and turns it into the police along with the second letter he has composed on her typewriter. The second letter would definitely incriminate her, but the police would know that the first letter was typed on a different machine, unless Sanders re-typed it on Stanwyck's typewriter. We don't see that on-screen and so we are to assume that it's still the original letter he typed on his own typewriter at home.

  • Witness To Murder (1954)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/21/10

    Fast paced little murder thriller enhanced very much by Barbara Stanwyck's presence and a solid supporting cast. Fast pacing helps, the score is a little much at times. Good photography and screenplay.

  • Right up there with Rear Window.

    • Sandi
    • 1/10/07

    This movie is about Barbra Stanwyck witnessing a murder from her apartment, no one will believe her. Barbra is great as usual and George Sanders plays a creep.I would like this movie to be better known and maybe(please oh please)a DVD release.It's on TCM on January 12 check it out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.