skip navigation
The Vikings

The Vikings(1958)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Vikings - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Odin how could you

    • ojc
    • 10/24/14

    Bizarre film. Big name cast, and great cinematography. But the movie is almost dreadful. Kirk Douglas is very hammy and Tony Curtis is out of his depth. He is sort of playing a brooding Oliver Reed type character, but looks like he wants his hair stylist to rush in and make sure he is looking dapper. When he is throw in the tidal pool the movie becomes almost laughable. Janet Leigh is beautiful as always. Odd movie in that it they spent lots of money but the plot is pedestrian. Worth watching once for the scenery.

  • In my Top Ten list

    • Marilyn Heffentrager
    • 10/17/14

    I love this movie. I would have been 11 years old when I first saw it and was completely enthralled with the story and the actors. I remember crying at the end when they held the funeral. I've looked for it to be shown on TCM for quite some time and will definitely tune in for this. I hope to see it shown more often as it really is an "essential" to me.

  • The Drive-In Movies

    • Garnetta Darton
    • 1/11/13

    Hello and Happy New Year!,I remember watching this movie at the drive-in theater with my family in 1958 It was just so much fun and a real wonder. I`ll never forget I was 11 years old. I graduaded from the 6th grade in 1959. God bless the movie industry.Garnetta Darton

  • The Vikings

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/24/12

    This epic, shot on location in Norway, is decent entertainment. Curtis & Douglas, Viking brothers unknown to each other, fight each other for the love of captured damsel Leigh. Only Cardiff's cinematography can make the empty Viking fights tolerable to sit through. Not much in story, but high on action & scope. I give it a 2.5/5.

  • The Vikings

    • Rocky
    • 12/6/10

    This is a classic as i remember when i was growing up watching and as a kid wanted 2 b a Viking would always play like we were Vikings and always wnted 2 die like a Viking and live like a Viking and yes tys stuck in my head and yet still 2 this day goes on. Has been years and years senice i have seen it 2 long 2 remember hope tmc will play it coming months ty rocky in Detroit

  • The Vikings

    • David Norburg
    • 10/20/10

    This movie, while not on the scale of a David Lean epic, is rich in detail and story. As a Norse descendant, I also respect the art direction and historical costuming invested into this movie. No silly horned helmets or frothing berserkers in this picture. But like most fans of this movie, it's one you can enjoy again from time to time. Also, I recently made my kids watch the last closing scene so they can get my desired funeral arrangements correct.

  • A Spectacular, Brawling Epic.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 10/1/10

    Kirk Douglas, Tony Curtis, Ernest Borgnine and Janet Leigh go on location in Norway, Munich, Germany and Brittany, France to star in director, Richard Fleischer's violently action-packed adventure narrated by Orson Welles, and based on the novel by Edison Marshall. Douglas and Curtis are the two sons of a savage Viking King (Borgnine), who are unaware of each other's true identities, and find themselves in a bloody conflict for the love of a beautiful kidnapped English princess (Leigh), a duel that will decide their fate and the future of the English throne. Big-name cast and on-location photography provided by Jack Cardiff are only standouts in routine Viking adventure. With James Donald, Alexander Knox, Frank Thring, Maxine Audley, Eileen Way, Edric Connor, Dandy Nichols & Per Buckhoj.

  • Rights Holders

    • Rex Lee
    • 5/26/09

    Dear Sir could you please inform us as to who holds the clip and stills licencing for the Vikings 1958 as we would like to do business with them.Yours sincerlyCEO Rex LeeKells Media Productions

  • Movie: The Vikings

    • Margaret
    • 8/27/08

    I just have always loved this movie since I was young. I always try to watch whenever it comes on air. It was and remains my all time very favorite Tony Curtis movie. ALL of the acting was excellent and it just appeals to me on so many levels. I would highly recommend this movie to all who respect and care about any of the actors in this movie. It is far better than one expects upon first viewing..and the battle at the end between Kirk Douglas and Tony Curtis was just spectacular..I think it exceeds in every way the duel between Basil Rathbone and Errol Flynn in Robin Hood; which so many people tout as being the best fight scene in any of the older movies. I say..watch it and you will become hooked on it..just as I have.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.