skip navigation
Green Mansions

Green Mansions(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Green Mansions A young adventurer falls in... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ethereally beautiful!

    • Jill
    • 10/14/17

    The reviewer, Grace before me said it all so eloquently. Anyone other than Audrey Hepburn as Rima would just never do and together with Anthony Perkins who finds and falls for this strange beautiful creature is absolutely perfect casting. Two people who have so much in common. The scene when he strums his guitar & sings "Green Mansions" is so stunningly beautiful. Such talent these actors had! Love this movie - a great way to look at life!

  • I loved it.

    • Grace Billings Bress
    • 6/12/17

    I found this movie almost unbearably poignant, and Audrey Hepburn beautifully cast as Rima. Also, Anthony Perkins fine and believable, as was Lee J. Cobb and the Indian characters. Hepburn's gentleness and sensitivity were perfect for the part. Her love for and connection to her mother came across so movingly. The ending was ambiguous--whether a life together in the forest for the two in love or a glimpsed afterlife: I choose both, a happy ending and a joyous eternity together. Why not hope for the best of everything? I loved this film.

  • green mansions

    • kevin sellers
    • 6/6/17

    The visual/dramatic equivilant of a colorful toxic waste dump.

  • Abel and Rima In Love!

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 4/4/16

    "Green Mansions" is a dazzling adaptation of one of literature's grandest love stories.

  • Green Mansions

    • Isabelle Anne Abraham
    • 7/21/14

    Set in the emerald lushness of a South American forest, and infused with silences as poignant as the most profound dialogue, this film is a visual masterpiece. Abel, a young man with a traumatic past, flees from rebels and enters the Venezuelan jungle. He's searching for legendary gold that can help him avenge his murdered father. Abel comes to stay with a forbidding native tribe; the sole English speaker there is Kua-Ko. While exploring, Abel soon encounters Rima, a fairy-like creature with her own incredulous history and secret desires. She resides with her 'grandfather', who's burdened by deceit and misdeeds that have affected the girl's life. Conflict arises because the tribe fears and hates Rima, "Daughter of Didi", whom they believe to be a bird spirit. Hepburn is lovely as usual; however, she adopts the same ingnue character as in Roman Holiday and Breakfast at Tiffany's. She is not the untamed and unspoilt beauty that defines Rima. In fact, she looks and acts as polished as a young woman who's shopping in Central London. Perkins, as Abel, is flawless; his fluctuating emotions deeply and equally impact the audience. The faraway look blends well with his sincerity and hint of roguishness. I was [pleasantly] startled when Perkins, in a marvellously smooth voice, sings one of the sweetest songs I've ever heard. The character of Kua-Ko's is chillingly unparalleled. I believe that his sinister demeanour was reflected in Perkins's Bates (Psycho), which would be released the following year. It is the same unnerving eyes and maniacal laugh, maliciously directed at its victim. The feature's most enthralling aspect is that it was partly filmed in the real Venezuelan wilderness; an insipidly-painted backdrop could not convey such splendour. There is a magnificent scene where Perkins stands still in the heart of the forest, listening to a bird call. And we're right there next to him, marvelling at the enigmatic green mansions.

  • Meh...

    • RedRain
    • 4/4/13

    You have to suspend belief completely to really get into this film. A very young man sees his father killed and rebels take over his city so he runs into the jungle, even though he knows zero about living in a jungle? Anthony Perkins is very good in this film and has the look of a wanderer. I didn't care for Hepburn here, as she is so much better in her other films without the over-acting present in this film. This film lacks something and a better director is part of what was needed to make this film better.

  • Avatar for the 1950s

    • AJ
    • 4/4/11

    Green Mansions was way ahead of its time. With themes that would be familiar to anyone who loves Avatar: protecting nature, the destruction of the environment, native tribes, a heroine in tune with nature, a warrior hero (well, as warrior as Tony Perkins can be). spectacular sets and vistas (without CGI - built on MGM soundstages), I found Green Mansions to be visually stunning but a bit fey. Liked it, though.

  • one of best, and over looked nature films

    • jesse
    • 4/4/11

    based on a novel by William Henry Hudson, a writer, naturalist, bird expert, born, and raised in South America, this fine film shows the evil we humans bring upon nature, that in our greed, lust we always destroy what is innocent. A interesting part of the film is when Perkings is captured by the indians, Hudson based this on a real person who kept head hunters from killing him, by singing to them.This is a film all should see, to respect nature, is over looked today as it was when it was made, it and other nature films like The Roots Of Heaven, were insluted by critics as being childess.

  • Vale a pena

    • Sonia
    • 11/1/10

    Este filme pouco conhecido do pblico, porm vale 10 estrelas porque o filme fantastico e a Audrey est tima.

  • Green Mansions

    • Suzy
    • 5/2/10

    Oh, folks, this is a rearely seen movie and well worth seeing. It stars Anthony Perkins early in his career and with Audrey Hepburn. It is a love story but with much mystery and adventure. You don't know what is going to happen around each bend of the movie. Audrey plays "Rima"a sensitive, beautiful, exotic woodland woman who can balance on a limb and hide in trees. She misses nothing. I have never seen another movie like this, it is totally unique. It will linger in your mind as a beautiful experience like the lasting memory of an exotic, yet delicate perfume, and you will forget that you are in your house, and feel you are in the forest and that you are standing next to the nearest tree.The total message of the movie is that hope floats. This movie is pure magic.

  • Great Movie

    • Yunque
    • 12/2/07

    This movie is Great I have been looking for it for sometime now and hope that it is released on DVD so I can buy it.Three Great actors,Audrey Hepburn,Anthony Perkins,Henry Silva I really enjoyed this movie I had seen it when it first came out back in 1959 and I liked it back then.It's a really great story line the setting is outstanding, Oh yeah Jacquline you must not be a movie fan of this type of movie too Bad and it's not a waste of time they just don't make movies of this kind anymore with such Great Movie Legends as Audrey Hepburn,Anthony Perkins(Pyscho) and Henry Silva it's a love storyset in a lush setting (Amazon Jungle) what more could you ask for. I cna't wait for it to come out.

  • WONDERFUL MOVIE !!!

    • Mona
    • 10/31/07

    Hello there,I guess you just don't have any taste.Green Mansions is a wonderful and passionate movie with the greatest actor ever.ANTHONY PERKINS is perfection !!!He was unique as Audrey was.Best wishes,Mona

  • Did not like this at all.

    • Jacquline
    • 10/23/07

    Biggest waste of my time, I regret that I will never have that time replaced that which I wasted watching this movie. Perkins? Ha! GAG!

  • Green Mansions

    • Angie
    • 6/20/07

    Can you tell me why Green Mansions was not released on Home Video? Will TCM show it, if so when? Thank you, I am a huge fan of Audrey Hepburn.

  • How are these movies making it in the top 10?

    • Ron
    • 6/15/07

    There are only 3 movies in the top 10 that have a right being there. African Queen, Northwest Passage and MORTAL STROM.

  • fine mystical movie AND VERY HOT actors!

    • James Dubro
    • 5/4/07

    I met anthony Perkins in 1961 (after Psycho) for a radio program and he wasn't as hot as he appears in this movie. The color though is spectactularly lush..and thecimenatograaphy quite wonderful..and the story has about every Christain and greek myth in it one can think of...Quite an excerllent production! And Audrey is lovely and wonderful as the eternal goddess figure..and the men --Perkins and the native son--are very handsome and perfectly scultped even by 21st century standard!Overall well worth watching and being put on DVD!!james dubro, Toronto

  • Mr. PSYCHO is sooooooooo HOT !

    • Bree
    • 2/14/07

    Hello everybody!I totally agree with you,Mona.Tony was so hot I just cannot describe it:)))I can't wait to see Green Mansions on DVD.This is a must see.RELEASE THIS !!!

  • ANTHONY PERKINS WAS SOOOOOOOO HOT !!!

    • Mona Fuchs
    • 2/8/07

    This movie needs a release!!!Green Mansions is the only movie with Audrey Hepburn that is not out on DVD yet.Please release this title...ANTHONY PERKINS IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO FREAKING SEXY !!!Let's hope.Mona

  • Great!!

    • JC
    • 7/18/06

    I thought it was wonderfully magical!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.