skip navigation
The Great Caruso

The Great Caruso(1951)

  • Friday, January 30 @ 10:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Great Caruso The legendary opera singer... MORE > $13.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Magnifico!

    • RedRain
    • 9/19/13

    This isn't the only film wherein the great Mario Lanza sings so exquisitely but this is by far the best of all of them. I grew up on Lanza's music and I will forever be indebted to my family for ensuring I was exposed to opera. I would listen to Lanza's records (78 rpm!) while I was doing my homework and then change to listening to Elvis Presley when I was with my friends! This is what the world of music does for anyone willing to embrace all art forms! The difference in Lanza and Caruso is the fact that Lanza had much more expression in his performances, particularly those in opera houses, not in film. Lanza;s voice could crescendo so beautifully whereas Caruso was, IMO, much too forced. Much credit in this particular film should go to the beautiful Ann Blyth for her role as Lanza's American connection and eventually his wife. Being married to a great artist must be extraordinarily difficult and Blyth pulled it all off with graciousness. The highlight of this film, and for my money the best of his career, is Lanza's singing Gounod's "Ave Maria" in the cathedral along with a small choirboy It always brings me to tears in its beauty. Thank heaven for TCM that they bring us this gorgeous voice.

  • the great caruso

    • colabama
    • 8/16/13

    ineffable,exquisite and unforgettable.his voice is unique,along with the passion he exhibits when he sings.truly a treat to watch and hear his performance today.thank you tcm!

  • Candy for the ears

    • Teri
    • 7/30/13

    Maybe the storyline is a bit forced at times, but The Great Caruso remains the best listening experience of any movie--from "A Vucchella" (look up the lyrics and you will see why the father is so angry) to another of Mario's signature "Ave Maria" renditions.

  • The Great Caruso

    • Louisa Immel
    • 2/22/11

    When I was a child, people would tell me that opera was horrible and it was a waste of time to listen to it. I had to stay home from school for a few day because of an illness so I happened to turn on the television and I heard the most beautiful voice. It was so beautiful I stood there in awe with tears streaming down my face. I saw my first Mario Lanza movie, and the first time I heard opera, I have been a fan ever since. I would really love to have all of his movies on DVD.

  • Mario Lanza movies

    • CMB
    • 9/20/10

    I agree with Mr Nemeth I'd like to have all Mario Lanza's movies on DVD. I've always been a fan of him since I was a teenager when I first heard him sihg.

  • Mario Lanza movies

    • Barnabas Nemeth
    • 9/20/10

    It's a shame that all the mario Lanza movies are unavailbale on DVD.

  • The Great Caruso (1951) on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 7/14/10

    I would enjoy this on DVD too. I like Ann Blyth in this one.

  • Love Lanza!!!!

    • Judy
    • 8/19/09

    I fell in love with Mario Lanza when I was a very young girl. His voice would make the hair stand up on the back of my neck. Since that time long ago, I watch any movie that is on TV just to hear him sing again. Please, someone try to get a DVD of "The Great Caruso" so I can bring back the memories of this great tenor who was taken from us much too soon.

  • Another Great Performance!

    • Alethea Thomas
    • 7/21/08

    It's sad to omit such a classic from DVD.Lanza and Blyth were just outstanding!

  • America's Caruso

    • Jeff Smolen
    • 8/18/07

    It is truly a shame that this production is not available on DVD. Unfortunatley, all of the editing and reproduction of audio do not do justice tothe Maestro Enrico Caruso. We in this contry had an American Caruso, Mario Lanza. This is from a documentary i dimly remember seeing some eyars ago. I thank goodness I have the VHS of this movie. A DVD with the audio technology of the 21st century that would be bliss.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.