skip navigation
Thunder Road

Thunder Road(1958)

  • Saturday, January 10 @ 02:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Thunder Road - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Emotional Impact of WW II

    • Tal
    • 6/8/14

    Watching this movie again after 40 years, I was struck how much Luke Doolan (Mitchum's character) had been changed by WW II into a person who no longer felt he fit, either in the holler or elsewhere. Coming back home to do what he had been doing and trying to fit into his family was what he tried to do, but -- tellingly -- was not what he wanted for his kid brother.When I first watched it, the engine sounds, the chases, and Mitchum's coolness (including the cigarette) were all I could notice. All of that is entertaining still, as sort of GHG porn. But the undertones are what give the film staying power.A great film!

  • Thunder Road

    • Goetan
    • 6/7/13

    A cult classic that's one of the best bootlegging films ever made. Mitchum is a former soldier-turned-bootlegger who fights the law and a local gang, Mitchum's eldest son was cast as his kid brother. The story is far-fetched at times, but has rich characters and exciting action. Mitchum co-wrote the title song and Bruce Springsteen wrote a hit song after only seeing the poster. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • "The Ballad of Thunder Road"

    • Ketz87
    • 11/25/12

    To set the record straight, the Randy Sparks rendition of the title song was the one used in the opening credits of the film. While Robert Mitchum did co-write the song and recorded it, he didn't release his version until later, when it appeared as a bonus track on a reissue of his calypso (yes, CALYPSO) album called "Calypso - Is Like So". The Mitchum version earned Billboard Hot 100 status twice, in 1958 and 1962. Due to its ongoing popularity, many people assume that the Mitchum version was used in the original soundtrack; unfortunately, this was not the case, since it is much superior to the Sparks version...Later, "The Ballad of Thunder Road" would be covered by such artists as Jim & Jesse, Flatt & Scruggs, and The Charlie Daniels Band. The impressively multi-talented Robert Mitchum usually sang his own parts in musical films, and would later record several country songs, some of which earned Top 10 rankings on the Billboard country charts...

  • Robert Mitchums sunglasses

    • LEISA
    • 6/18/12

    while filming Thunder Road in Asheville North Carolina, Robert actually stopped at my grandfathers old country store that sold gasoline, groceries and cigarettes. Robert bought a pack of cigarettes and left his 50's silver metal sun glasses at the store. I was given them by my dad yesterday! I am so excited to have such a piece of hollywood history. I actually wear them!

  • thunder road

    • james call
    • 5/18/12

    I seen this movie when i was about 12 years old. But comeing from the foothills of north carloina Ithis was the greatets move i had ever seen. WISH IT WAS IN COLOR .

  • thunder road comments

    • m luther
    • 11/27/11

    the 1958 robert mitchum movie thunder road is a movie i always try to watch when it returns to cable. i was a young boy in asheville, north carolina when the movie was filmed. it caused quite a large amount of local interest at the time. whenever i returm to asheville, i can drive by a number of city buildings and landmarks that were featured in the movie. even after all the special effects of today's movies and even after seeing the chase in bullitt filmed ten years after thunder road, the car chase scenes in thunder road are still great to watch. yes, it's a cult flick, still watched and enjoyed by many gearheads!

  • Two or more endings?

    • Joseph F. Richmond
    • 11/3/11

    Were alternate endings to Thunder Road produced? I distinctly remember seeing Thunder Road end when Lucas drives hard into a curve where one of Carl Kogan's men had discharged dozens of calthrops (4-pointed antipersonal "tacks" which always land with one point sticking straight up) on the road. This instantly gave Lucas 4 flat tires; in attempting to regain control of his car, Lucas drove into the electrical substation and was electrocuted. This all occurred while Troy Barrett and his partner were racing to warn Lucas that Kogan was going to get Lucas killed that night, without fail. A corrupt, local sheriff may have been the one spreading the calthrops, on Logan's order.

  • Thunder Road

    • Hank Holden
    • 9/7/10

    I first saw Thunder Road when I was a teenager growing up in Memphis, Tennessee. Robert Mitchum's portrayal of a tough "rum runner" who bucked the "system" impressed me very much. I often imagined myself in that role whenever I got behind the wheel of an old Packard that my father owned. Luckily, I never got caught for speeding or reckless driving during one of these wild romps through the delta of west Tennessee. However, I still think back to those wild rides whenever I have an opportunity to watch the movie once again. A great movie to watch for entertainment, but not one to try to live in reality.

  • Thunder Road (1958)

    • James Higgins
    • 6/4/10

    Exciting thriller, with a solid and mesmerizing performance by Robert Mitchum. The script is taut, the pace is excellent and the black and white cinematography is very effective. Good atmosphere, great screenplay.

  • LOCAL COLOR OF THUNDER ROAD

    • GEORGE ROYSTER
    • 11/18/09

    i LIVE AND GREW UP IN OAK RIDGE,TENNESSEE NEAR WHERE A MOON RUNNER WAS KILLED IN BEARDEN NEAR KNOXVILLE THUNDER ROAD WAS LOOSELY BASED ON THIS MOONRUNNER WHO WAS FROM ROCKHOLDS,KENTUCKY AND WAS NICKNAMED TWEET O LOW TWILL MITCHUM BROUGHT THE MOB INTO THE PLOT AS THEY WERE KNOWN TO TRY AND INFILTRATE THE MOONSHINE BUSINESS WHICH THEY DID IN COCKE COUNTY,TENNESSEE WHERE NEWPORT WAS ONCE CALLED LITTLE CHICAGO

  • Thunder road movie

    • Roy
    • 9/25/09

    This is one of Robert Mitchums greatest movie.His family should be very proud of him.His son done a very good job also.Robert is so proud of him.

  • Tough Mitchum Action Film

    • Bruce Reber
    • 7/22/09

    "Thunder Road" is one of Robert Mitchum's best films, and he's at his toughest playing a Tennessee moonshiner fighting against both the "revenooers" and a gangster trying to take over his operation. They must have spent a lot of money on cars, since most of the cars that get smashed up are new (for 1957), especially the '57 Ford Lucas Doolin (Mitchum) uses to run his moonshine. Mitchum's real life son James plays his brother whom he is trying to keep from becoming a moonshiner himself. I liked the rear bumper gimmick at the beginning (Lucas has his bumper rigged to come off, and the T-man (Gene Barry) ends up with an extra bumper on his car). I also like the theme song, which Mitchum wrote and also had a hit with in 1958 singing it.

  • How dare you?

    • larry
    • 8/6/07

    This is the "one" film I've seen more than fifteen times. TCM should respect and honor the "fact" that Robert Mitchum did the singing of the theme song "Thunder Road". It wasn't sung on tonight's veiwing and I, for one, am so very disappointed. I thought "you" were a "classic" producer and re-producer of original material. Shame on you. Damn you! Larry: at larrynears@everestkc.net.ps How can I submit a rating when you didn't give the real representation?

  • great movie

    • Marvin Gardens
    • 4/24/07

    Mitchum's best performance. Pre Bond car chases.

  • Robert Mitchum's performance

    • John
    • 12/24/06

    In my opinion this was Robert Mitchum's most memorable performance

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.