skip navigation
Taras Bulba

Taras Bulba(1962)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Taras Bulba - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • TARAS BULBA

    • william roberts
    • 5/14/14

    THIS IS AN ADVENTURE MOVIE. THIS IS ONE OF THE GREATEST ADVENTURE MOVIES EVER !! THE SCENERY, THE COSSACKS, THE ACTION, THE MUSIC. THEY ALL COMBINE TO GIVE ME AND MANY, MANY OTHERS THE BIGGEST MOVIE EXPERIENCE OF OUR LIVES. ESPECIALLY, THE MUSIC. THERE ARE ONLY A HANDFUL OF MOVIES WHOSE MUSIC COMES CLOSE. THERE OUGHT TO BE A HALL OF FAME FOR MOVIE MUSIC MAKERS WITH FRANZ WAXMAN'S NAME ON IT (and Jerry Goldsmith and John Williams included as enshrinees).

  • Great Film!

    • Martha De Leon
    • 11/20/12

    The views, the acting, the writing were all superb! I enjoyed watching this rare film. To watch Tony Curtis and Yul Brynner was truly a treat.The only difficult watch was the treatment of the horses. I know treatment of animals has greatly improved through the years but this film seemed particularly harsh in the treatment of the horses.

  • Underrated Adventure Drama Taras Bulba

    • Nestor Komar
    • 9/1/12

    I was 8 years old when I first saw this movie on TV and that memory has stayed with me throughout my life. A rousing musical score (watch the Ride to Dubno sequence) which has been played by every major symphony orchestra in the world and was recently re-recorded in its entirety; vast scenery that will make your jaw drop as you see thousands of horsemen thundering across the steppes of Ukraine (no CGI here) and Yul Brynner, who personally lived the role as the Cossack chief. This was his role of a lifetime and he chews up every scene he is in. Beautiful cinematography and crack direction from J. Lee Thompson (Guns of Navarone) round out the pluses of watching this.It was marred by mediocre reviews in 1962 (being overshadowed by Lawrence of Arabia) and was cut from its original roadshow format of close to 3 hrs to the current 122 minutes. As a result, it does have some continuity issues. One can only imagine what the original concept would have been. Yul Brynner was visibly upset that some of the most dramatic scenes between him and Tony Curtis were left on the cutting room floor during the premier (see his biography written by his son rock Brynner)A larger than life adventure story that you will thoroughly enjoy watching!

  • One of the best movies ever made...

    • Robert Corbell
    • 4/16/10

    My friend Randy told me about this movie about two years ago and was glad to see it on your channel via satellite. I like the part where he says, "Put faith in your sword and it in a Pole." Well, does my current affair with the foreign exchange student count? Lol.

  • power,honer,passion !

    • steve savage
    • 8/27/09

    i saw this movie 25 years ago on regular tv ( butchered and cut ) and still knew it was great . you never get to see it and i was soooo happy to see that TCM was showing it ! only problem is i missed the first half , so did not watch the end but EAGERLY waiting for the next presentation ....... i don't know how i missed it , so i will be watching !

  • 1st movie i remember seeing

    • Jo
    • 1/10/09

    this is the first mofvie I can remember seeing,and it remains one of my favorites and forever made me a fan of Yul Brenner and Tony Curtis. The scenery was gorgeous and the scene where Tarus killed his son has become a private saying between me and my brother. Unfortunately it is very seldom shown ,but I keep looking for it.

  • Great movie!

    • Armando Sediles
    • 2/18/08

    I viewed this movie at a theather in 1966. And always wanted to see it again, until this morning, when TCM showed it. I would like to recommend this sensational movie to all of those who appreciate good actors. Yul, and Tony are excellent in this fantastic movie. Thanks TCM for showing this kind of movies for us who appreciate good art.

  • Dynamic historic epic

    • Mike
    • 1/13/07

    The movie tells the story of the clashes of the different slavic groups that still exist today. The treatment of the different characters is extremely realistic and makes you feel their pain and joys.

  • please show again

    • mike
    • 4/15/06

    please let me know if you will show this movie again.Thanks

  • Taras Bulba

    • Jerry Ratliffe
    • 3/24/06

    I watch TCM more than any telecast besides ESPN. I would be tickled to death if you could televise this motion picture that has seemed to be lost in the archives of forgotten movies. I have always thought that this was an excellent movie whose actors did an extraordinary job in playing their roles. Could you please let me know if you can show this movie on your wonderful network, I would appreciate it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.