skip navigation
Shake Hands with the Devil

Shake Hands with the Devil(1959)

Contribute

FOR Shake Hands with the Devil (1959) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Shake Hands with... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Shake Hands with the Devil

    • Steven John Bosch
    • 4/21/13

    This is more a request for anyone who knows more about Irish history and the war for independence to correct my ignorance.The little I know prompts me to say this is one of the best roles Jimmy Cagney got in his later years. I remember after seeing "Michael Collins" that many in the movement refused to support the treaty as it gave the Irish a parliament but retained control over its economic development. In short, you now have the authority to carry out our orders yourselves. Lenahan's rebels do miss Col. Smithson, who gave the impression to me of Frankenstein's creature. The actor successfully gives the impression of a man who considers himself unappreciated, doing an important job under intolerable conditions. He is also the mirror image of Lenahan as he has forsaken mercy, meaning civilization, the idea being that we can be civilized right after we kill everyone of our enemies, and our enemies are all of them. If they're not carrying weapons now they will later if you allow them to live.I also thought it was one of Dana Wynter's best roles. Don Murray is believable as the veteran of war who simply wants to get back to civilian life who gets radicalized by Smithson. One of the unforseen consequences of torture, you turn out more radicals than you bring in.

  • Yakity-Yack

    • Godzilla97
    • 3/17/13

    After spending 2 precious hours watching this movie, I am puzzled why the Irish bother to shoot the English when they obviously could have talked them to death. It almost worked with me.

  • Query...

    • Nat M. Lucas
    • 3/17/13

    Did they manage to kill Col. Smithson?????

  • Well Done

    • Dennis Harris
    • 9/11/11

    Excellent depiction of a difficult to understand period in Irish history. Shows us both the resolve to shed English shackles and the basis for the "Irish Civil War" following the peace treaty. Well Done!

  • Shake Hands With the Devil

    • Kathy
    • 9/7/11

    This is a marvelous film. Still can't believe it hasn't been released on DVD! James Cagney is so believable as the bad guy and good guy all rolled into one. The cast is great a lot of young guys who later became big like Richard Harris. Michael Redgrave is marvelous as always. I highly recommend this film it holds your interest from beginning to end. It is done with detail to history and is believable as well as entertaining.

  • Shake Hands With The Devil

    • John Ryan
    • 6/1/10

    This is a Great Film! Why it hasnt recieved the recognition it deserves puzzles me to this day. Tight story,wonderfully shot in/on Irish locations and with Cagney in a great role with no sign of any deteriorating skills (1959) and with Michael Redgrave,Cyril Cusack,Richard Harris,Glynis Johns and Sybil Thorndike giving solid performances among others, this continues to be (unfortunately) a hidden gem of a film! John Ryan

  • One to view

    • Adrian
    • 3/9/09

    A truly fantastic film with a brilliant cast. I was fortunate to receive the DVD from Ireland but I could never fathom out why it was never shown on TV. Could it be that it was politically unacceptable to the establishment.

  • An overlooked classic

    • Alex Bird
    • 7/28/08

    Sawe this in the the Odeon Cinema in Bath in 1959. Really enjoyed it ~ the sense of drama is beautifully developed as they try to outwit the Black and Tans. When I visited the Mansion House in Dublin in 1997 and saw the hiding place of Michael Collins, I was reminded of the film, and have been looking for a copy ever since.This is one of James Cagney's greatest roles, and as it's never shown in the cinema or on TV, I can't help wondering if that is because its message is politically unacceptable.

  • CAGNEY'S BEST LATE CAREER PERFORMANCE?

    • martyr
    • 7/10/08

    This is a gem. Perhaps Cagney's last truly great performance. He seems energized by the subject matter (the Irish revolution) and is electrifying every moment he is on screen. The film itself is captivating. Directed earnestly and with '50s panache, it communicates effectively this explosive moment in history. All this and Richard Harris in a supporting role! How can anyone pass this up? Do yourself a favor and grab any opportunity to view this underappreciated classic.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.